Emperor The Eruption Lyrics

Prometheus: The Discipline of Fire & Demise Track Listing
CD 1
  • 1 The Eruption
  • 2 Depraved
  • 3 Empty
  • 4 The Prophet
  • 5 The Tongue of Fire
  • 6 In the Wordless Chamber
  • 7 Grey
  • 8 He Who Sought the Fire
  • 9 Thorns on My Grave
  • he came to silence

    there was nothing...

    he realised that the cheering cries of worship
    were but echoes of his harsh outspoken word
    reflecting back at him from cold and naked walls
    in hollow circles fled illusions of wisdom he had heard

    "From nothing came all I ever knew"

    and he beheld the ruins
    of an empire torn apart
    yet, no grief nor rage did bind him
    just silent and bewildered
    by the emptiness
    he stumbled off his throne

    suddenly, the walls around him cracked wide open
    and an endless void appeared in flickering, grey light
    "What force, but silence, has deprived me of my coil?

    No trail to guide me. No point of reference in sight."

    "By nothing, resurrection will be pure."

    and he beheld the ruins
    of an empire torn apart
    wiping dust off his shoulders
    just silent now
    in this emptiness
    leaving all behind

    step by step
    past all past
    slowly he approached the surface
    nothing left
    to sacrifice
    the mirrors mocked him on the way

    Lyrics © OBO APRA/AMCOS

    Artists A to Z: