Carpenters It Came Upon a Midnight Clear Lyrics

An Old-Fashioned Christmas Track Listing
Vinyl 1
  • 1 It Came Upon a Midnight Clear
  • 2 Overture: Happy Holiday / The First Noel / March of the Toys / Little Jesus / I Saw Mommy Kissing Santa Claus / O Little Town of Bethlehem / In Dulce Jubilo / Gesu Bambino (The Infant Jesus) / Angels We Have Heard on High
  • 3 An Old-Fashioned Christmas
  • 4 O Holy Night
  • 5 (There's No Place Like) Home for the Holidays
  • 6 Medley: Here Comes Santa Claus / Frosty the Snowman / Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer / Good King Wenceslas
  • 7 Little Altar Boy
  • 8 Do You Hear What I Hear?
  • 9 My Favorite Things
  • 10 He Came Here for Me
  • 11 Santa Claus Is Comin' to Town
  • 12 What Are You Doing New Years' Eve?
  • 13 Selections from 'The Nutcracker': Overture Miniature / Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy / Trepak / Valse Des Fleurs
  • 14 I Heard the Bells on Christmas Day
  • It came upon the midnight clear, that glorious song of old

    From angels bending near the earth to touch their harps of gold

    Peace on the earth, goodwill to men, from heaven's all gracious king

    The world in solemn stillness lay to hear the angels sing

    Still through the cloven skies they come with peaceful wings unfurl

    And still their heavenly music floats, O'er all the weary world.

    Above its sad and lowly plains they bend on hovering wing

    And ever o'er its Babel sounds the blessed angels sing

    O ye, beneath life's crushing load, whose forms are bending low

    Who toil along the climbing way with painful steps and slow

    Look now for glad and golden hours come swiftly on the wing

    O rest beside the weary road and hear the angels sing

    For lo the days are hastening on, by prophets seen of old

    When with the ever circling years shall come the time foretold

    When the new heaven and earth shall own the prince of peace their King

    And the whole world send back the song which now the angels sing

    Written by: Ginny Owens, Edmund Hamilton Sears, Richard S. Willis
    Lyrics © Universal Music Publishing Group

    Artists A to Z: