site logo

Vanilla Ninja Biography

Last updated: 01/13/2007

Vanilla Ninja are a three-piece Estonian girl band which has enjoyed chart success in a number of countries across Europe, especially in Germany and Austria.

The group was formed in 2002 and released their self-titled debut album Vanilla Ninja, containing songs in both English and Estonian, the following year. They have entered national selections for the Eurovision Song Contest twice, failing the first time but proving successful in Switzerland with the song "Cool Vibes". The group then finished 8th in the Eurovision Song Contest 2005 final, despite topping the leader board at the half-way stage. Vanilla Ninja are very popular in their native Estonia and have had a brand of both ice cream and kohuke named after them, marketed exclusively in their homeland due to their celebrity status in Estonia.

The group have so far released five albums in various countries across Europe; Vanilla Ninja was released in 2003, Traces of Sadness in 2004, Blue Tattoo and Best Of in 2005, and Love is War in 2006.

The band were originally a four-piece group consisting of Maarja Kivi, Lenna Kuurmaa, Katrin Siska and Piret Järvis. Maarja Kivi left the group in 2004 and was replaced by Triinu Kivilaan. In December 2005 Triinu Kivilaan also left the group, and the band have decided to continue as a three-piece act.