site logo

Self Biography

Last updated: 05/05/2004 04:16:34 AM

Self is an American alternative pop/rock band from Murfreesboro, Tennessee and largely the brainchild of writer, singer, producer, and multi-instrumentalist Matt Mahaffey.

The band currently consists of Chris James (keyboards, piano, samplers, guitar, backing vocals), Mac Burrus (bass guitar, keyboards, horns, backing vocals), and Jason Rawlings (Drums). Past members include Matt's brother, Mike Mahaffey (lead guitar, keyboards, vocals) and Timm Nobles (bass guitar).

Matt Mahaffey is proficient in almost all of the instruments that Self uses and plays most of the instruments on the albums; the other members contribute occasional parts on albums and participate in live performances.

Due to the difficulty getting music released and disinterest from labels and the public, the future of Self is uncertain. Lead guitarist Mike died in May 2005, and his role in the band has yet to be filled, though the remaining members played a show in his honor on October 09, 2005. They have performed since as a full band and Matt has appeared in solo performances.

Members of the band have been working on other projects. Jason has been drumming for the band Suburban tragedy, and Matt has formed a new band, Wired All Wrong, with God Lives Underwater member Jeff Turzo. Wired All Wrong released their first album, Break Out The Battle Tapes on September 12, 2006.

On January 13, 2007 Matt announced on his MySpace blog that a new Self album was in the works. In late 2008, several new tracks appeared on Matt's MySpace.