site logo

Morning Parade Biography

Last updated: 03/21/2014 07:11:37 PM

Morning Parade are a five piece alternative rock band originating from Harlow, Essex that formed in 2007. The band comprises Steve Sparrow (lead vocals, guitar, piano), Andrew Hayes (Drums) Phil Titus (Bass, backing vocals), Ben Giddings (Piano, synths backing vocals) and Chad Thomas (Lead guitar). Steven Sparrow and Phil Titus met at school forming a friendship at the age of 11. Whilst at Harlow College in 2003 they met lead guitarist Chad Thomas via a mutual fascination with Danish band Mew and Scottish trio Biffy Clyro. Sparrow toured the local music scene as a singer songwriter for a while and began working with musicians playing on the local circuit, Andrew Hayes and Ben Giddings. Morning Parade was formed in 2007 when long time collaborator Chad Thomas returned to the fold.

In 2010 Morning Parade signed to Astralwerks (US) and EMI's Parlophone (UK), a major British label famous for its British musical history with acts such as The Beatles, Pink Floyd, Radiohead, and Coldplay, with whom they released their self titled debut album. The debut album's major success came from the US release of 'Headlights' which spent 37 weeks in the US Alternative Charts top 40 peaking at no.16 giving the band their US television network debut performing on The Tonight Show with Jay Leno in Los Angeles.

The debut album saw Morning Parade tour the US and Europe extensively, as well as making a number of festival appearances including Rock AM Ring & Rock IM Park, V Festival, SXSW, Latitude, Rockness, Culture Collide, Kendal Calling, Ibiza Rocks. As well as a headlining a number of shows the band has toured as support to a number of artists including The Smashing Pumpkins, The Wombats, 30 seconds to mars, The Kooks, Biffy Clyro, Foster the people, Miles Kane, Friendly Fires, Silversun Pickups, Walk The Moon. Morning Parade were also selected as an ambassador artist for the 2012 London Olympic games performing at a number of torch relay events as well as an opening ceremony in London's Hyde Park.

Morning Parade spent the early part of 2013 writing material for their 2nd album. The tracks were recorded in July and August at Maze Studios in Atlanta, Georgia with producer Ben Allen ( Animal Collective, Cee Lo Green). The album is scheduled for release in early 2014. In October 2013 Morning Parade signed to UK Independent label SO Recordings and are set to release 'Alienation' EP on December 10th.