site logo

Kings Of Leon Biography

Last updated: 06/23/2012 12:00:00 PM

Kings of Leon have become a household name with the release of their latest album, Only by the Night. This album is headlined with two of the biggest tracks of 2008; 'Sex on Fire' and 'Use Somebody'.

Kings of Leon were officially formed in 2000 and released their first album, The Holy Roller Novocaine EP, in 2003. This American rock band consist of Anthony Caleb Followill (lead singer/guitar), Michael Jared Followill (bass), Ivan Nathan Followil (drums) and Cameron Matthew Followill (lead guitar). Although they are more formally known by their middles names; Caleb, Jared, Nathan and Matthew. The band were named after their grandfather 'Leon'.

Although most are only familiar with their most recent work, songs off their previous album were featured on movies Disturbia and Cloverfield.

Kings of Leon also performed at Sound Relief - a benefit concert for the devastation of the Victorian Bushfires. They performed with some huge Australian names such as Hunters & Collectors, Wolfmother, Split Enz and Midnight Oil.

Currently Kings of Leon are working on their fifth album which is expected to be released in 2010. You can clearly hear the progression of their music, and undoubtedly their next album will move in a different direction yet again. With their youth, exposure, distinct sound and amazing live shows, Kings of Leon are sure to be around for some time yet.

Thanks to Kings of Leon Fansite for submitting the biography.