site logo

Katzenjammer Biography

Last updated: 05/06/2012

Katzenjammer is a Norwegian band from Oslo which was formed in 2005.

The band members are Anne Marit Bergheim, Marianne Sveen, Solveig Heilo and Turid Jørgensen. Their music mixes genres such as folk music, pop, rock, country and Balkan music. The four members switch instruments often and have a stated goal of playing instruments they have not played before. They play more than 25 different instruments including the accordion, contrabass balalaika, zither, ukulele and melodica. The band collaborates with Mats Rybø, a fifth "phantom member", who has written the bulk of the band's songs.

The band cites many influences including Goran Bregović, Danny Elfman, Django Reinhardt and Knutsen & Ludvigsen. Also, the band states that they are not only inspired by folk but cartoons as well.

In 2008 the band was chosen as one of the finalists in NRK's yearly Urørt competition for unsigned artists, and got a third place for their song A Bar in Amsterdam. The music video of the song was made by YouTube celebrity Lasse Gjertsen.

Their debut album Le Pop was released in September 2008 to favourable reviews. The album was recorded at Propeller Recordings, and the band received a nomination in the newcomer of the year category in the Norwegian Grammy equivalent, Spellemannprisen the same year. They also got nominated for Spellemannprisen for "best debut album of the year" in 2008.

On August 4, 2008, they released their single "Play my darling, play". On March 2, 2010. They released their second single for their song "Tea With Cinnamon". Their other singles are "A bar in Amsterdam", "Demon Kitty Rag" and "Hey ho on the Devil's back".

The band entered the studio on September 18, 2010 to record their follow-up to Le Pop. This came as a surprise announcement after their August and September shows were cancelled due to illness. The second Katzenjammer album, A Kiss Before You Go, was released in September 2011. It was preceded by the single "I Will Dance (When I Walk Away)".