Deerhoof Biography

Review The Artist (1)

Deerhoof is from San Francisco. They are art punks who mix noise and melody. The group began with Rob Fisk (guitar) and Greg Saunier (drums) in 1994. Satomi Matsuzaki (bass) joined the group in 1996. Fisk left the band after the release of Holdy Paws (1999). There were a few member changes in the early years. Their third album, Halfbird (2001), was released, and John Dieterich was recruited as Deerhoof's new guitarist.

In 2002, the group released the critically acclaimed Reveille (2002). International fame soon followed. Fans included The Yeah Yeah Yeahs and Sonic Youth. Apple O' (2003) came out a year ago, and this recording featured new guitarist Chris Cohen. This album was recorded in one afternoon with engineer, Jay Pelucci. Deerhoof just returned from some successful shows in Japan in the summer of 2003. They released Milk Man earlier this year. This is their best album yet. We had a little chat with member Greg Saunier.

Please click here to submit the latest Deerhoof biography

Runners Four | Reviewer: Evan Smith | 5/31/2007

Reveille, good as hell.
The Runners Four, mind fuck.

haven't heard the new one yet.
this band is for anyone who can handle countless brain orgasms. and if you can't, you are missing OUT

Is this review helpful to you?     Yes      No

The following area is only for review,
Your Name:
(Notes: Your name will be published if you input it)

Review about Deerhoof

Please enter a title for your review:

-------- 07/22/2014
Type your review in the space below: