site logo

Crush 40 Biography

Last updated: 07/06/2012 12:00:00 PM

Jun Senoue (the band's guitarist) was first hired by SEGA to write two songs for Sonic the Hedgehog 3. After this, he recorded more songs for other SEGA games, including songs for Sonic 3D Blast. He eventually contacted singer from hardline, Johnny Gioeli, and recorded the song Open Your Heart, which would later be featured in Sonic Adventure. They soon released their first album, titled Crush 40.

Later in their career they hired Katsuji and Takeshi Taneda on drums and bass, respectively, and recorded Live and Learn for Sonic Adventure 2. Sonic Heroes featured two new songs by the group, the theme song, "Sonic Heroes" (a "bright, melodic song"), and "What I'm Made of..." (a "distinctly dark, hard rock song with metal sensibilities"). When Shadow the Hedgehog was released, they recorded "I Am... All of Me" and "Never Turn Back". For both these songs, Katsuji was replaced with Toru Kawamura.

They also contributed to Sonic the Hedgehog in 2006, recording a cover of "All Hail Shadow", previously performed by Magna-Fi, and recorded a version of "His World", the latter only presented on the soundtrack. They covered "Seven Rings in Hand". They recorded several songs for Sonic and the Black Knight, including its main theme, "Knight of the Wind", the ending theme, "Live Life," "Through the Fire" (Played when Sonic battles a Knight of the Round Table), and "Fight the Knight", which plays the two times Sonic must fight the Black Knight in the game, as well as did their own version of the Boss Battle theme, "With Me."

Recently, some of their material have been released onto iTunes, including "The Best of Crush 40: Super Sonic Songs" and "Song of Hope", their new charity single which is dedicated to the victims of the 2011 Japanese Earthquake and Tsunami. The iTunes edition of "The Best of Crush 40: Super Sonic Songs" contains three bonus tracks, "Free", "With Me -Massive Power Mix-", and "Seven Rings in Hand".

In June 2012, three songs which were intending to be released on an EP scheduled for July 4 were leaked onto iTunes. The songs were "Sonic Youth", "One Of Those Days", and "Rise Again".