site logo

Cold Chisel The Last Wave Of Summer Album

Last updated: 05/19/2012 12:00:00 PM

Release Date: 10/01/1998
Tracks in The Last Wave Of Summer: Mr Crown Prosecutor, The Things I Love In You, Baby's On Fire, Way Down, Bal - A - Versailles, Yakuza Girls, He Can't Believe It's Over With You, Angel In My Room, Never Stop Loving You, Red Sand, Pretty Little Thing, So Hard, Water Into Wine, The Last Wave Of Summer

The Last Wave Of Summer Album Tracklist

The Last Wave of Summer is the 1998 reunion album for Australian pub rock band Cold Chisel. It reached number-one in Australia for one week in October 1998.

The album covers topics ranging from the serious, including the Australian Aboriginal stolen generation in the Ian Moss penned Red Sand and judicial inequity in Don Walker's Mr. Crown Prosecutor, to the flippant, such as the pub adventure Yakuza Girls.

Over a hundred songs were considered for the album over a 3 month rehearsal period. When Don Walker was asked how the band decided which songs to work on next, he replied, "Psychological manipulation, sullen looks, petulance, tantrums, insane rages both faked and real, sexual coquettishness and pathological violence. Sometimes the last two together."

The cover photo, by Adrienne Overall, of the band seated at a service station in Wyong, New South Wales, references Edward Hopper's Nighthawks.

A rockabilly version of "Yakuza Girls" appreared on Don Walker's 2006 solo album Cutting Back.

The album was nominated for "best rock album" in the 1999 Aria Awards.