Brilliant song | Reviewer: Anonymous | 8/11/13

Love, love, love U2, and the way they paint a picture with their words and music. Their songs allow the listener to interpret the lyrics to fit whatever is happening in that individual's life, and the meaning can change as your life changes. That's why they're still going strong more than 30 years after they began, and why their music will continue to touch the souls of people for many years to come. The songs are timeless and relevant and make you think in a way that few other bands can do.

Especially love the line "a place that has to be believed to be seen" - a twist on the typical saying "you have to see it to believe it." So simple, yet so profound, whether you think of it as Heaven or just a place in your imagination. Beautiful.

Such a great song! | Reviewer: U2Gal | 7/26/13

This song touches me in a way that I feel only when listening to U2, reading the bible, going to church and things like that. This song reminds me of some of the bad things that happened in my life, but then it seems like they are replaced with happiness and strength. I feel like God specifically lead me to U2 for things like this, strength, hope, trust, and such. I just really love the feeling I get when I listen to songs like this!

multiple meanings maybe? | Reviewer: mac | 12/16/12

I only recognized a person entering into Heaven in this song until I read the many different, interesting comments.

I love the way he adds the, "Hallelujah" chant at the end of the song when performing it live. Very, very poignant.

This band has an uncanny way of comforting the soul. ( "Stay safe tonight." )

Inner Strengh | Reviewer: Sheila | 11/17/12

This song is about walking away when you know you are finally able to stand on your own. In your life you were somehow like the caged bird who was free to fly but maybe in the past, afraid to break from that cage. It's about freedom and standing up for what you believe and leaving a dependant, toxic relationship behind. Knowing that you are beyond what you once believed was your only life path or choice. This song speaks to me, it gives me strength to let go of all that disappointment when the truth comes to be. Peace to our faithful hearts -Thanks U2!!!

It's also about love and the former baggage | Reviewer: Violet | 5/4/12

Aside from God and Ang sun su kyi, this song can be simply about finding a new love and leaving your former baggage behind. Many people carry this baggage into their new relationships/marriages and they get hurt or hurt others when the past overshadows their present. "Leave it behind, you've got to leave it behind" - so simply put, but so hard to do. "Love is not the easy thing" for sure.

explanation | Reviewer: Anonymous | 1/12/12

this song is not about heaven or anything, its about Ang sun su kyi, who has been in house arrest for years in Myanmar for she has stood up against the military rule and demanded democracy.
A singing bird in an open cage - House arrest.
You could have flown away - She was offered to leave the country, she was living in Europe, but came back to fight for democracy in Myanmar.

My favourite song! | Reviewer: Eve | 8/6/11

This is definitly my favourite song of all times,it's everything that a true insperational soul-touching song can be.when i heard it for the first time i was amazed about those clever lyrics and how they truly express the journy to the afterlife.it's simplyTHE GREATEST SONG OF ALL TIMES!

amazing | Reviewer: matthew | 8/4/11

yes this song is one of the greatest. the whole song is about heaven and how "I can't say where it is but I know I'm going home" no one knows where but u have to believe it to see it.walk on is just a way of saying leave it behind because you cant take anything with you.

Hats off to u2 and Aung San Suu Kyi | Reviewer: Sid Sin | 3/29/11

Though the line "the home is where the hurt is" can be applied to personal experiences, I think in the context of the song it highlights the struggle of Burman democratic and peace activist Aung San Suu Kyi who has been under house arrest for the majority of the past 15 years. U2 have always sung in support of her and continue to do so. Hope god helps Myanmar and Aung Suu Kyi.

"Home. . . That's where the HURT is." | Reviewer: FW | 3/21/11

The lyric as printed in the CD booklet is "Home. . . That's where the HURT is."

At first I thought it was a typo, because the traditional time-honored phrase is "Home is where the heart is." But the more I think about it, the more I feel that it's a brilliant twist on that classic phrase. Anybody else feel this way?

Great! | Reviewer: Kino | 9/19/10

This is inspiration. This is Magic....

It's amazing how U2 can speack right to the heart of people! It's just like they know you... It's just like speaking to an old friend...

Thanks guys! This is the best "friendship" I've ever had (and I've a lot of friends)!!!

U2 and me... friends forever!!!

Kino

kings of rock! | Reviewer: Anonymous | 8/17/10

U2 are simply the greatest band to walk the earth. its music and in particular lyrics like these that uplift people's spirits when they are going through tough phases in their lives. its through this sorta music that makes you step back, and really put life into perspecive. thanks U2. and bono, youre a genius bro!

Home....a long journey such as life it self | Reviewer: Allien06 | 4/30/10

"Home... hard to know what it is if you've never had one" This part of the song just hits right in the center of my heart.In 1987 I heard U2 for the very first time and ever since I been a loyal fan. I was 16 yrd old and had to leave my country (El Salvador) due to civil war and also to prevent an unavoidable death the U.S embraced me with it's freedom.Now it's been 23 yrs since I left ..never went back again, I listen to this song and I wonder..where is my home? as U2 says "That's where the heart is!" well thank you Bono for those lyrics , I believe that many people can identify them selves by a lyric in one of your songs.God bless all!


response to for me today | Reviewer: joym | 11/15/08 | Reviewer: Pieter | 1/11/10

My mother died when I was 13, together with my sister at age of 16.
My other sisters don't believe in God anymore.

It's like i'm looking at myself...

This song is a true inspiration to me. Jesus is my strength. I will walk on too.


I'm not alone | Reviewer: Amalie | 8/9/09

I agree whit the ones who loves U2 nd this amazing song.
I listen to this song if I'm sad, and specially if I'm sitting next to the ocean. It makes me wonder about my being and my life. It makes me feel deep and gives me an other chance to breathe, when everything around seems to be uncontroled.