Reviews for Third Eye Lyrics

Performed by Tool

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    Current page No. 8/ 10
Add Your New Review About The Song

the beauty in this | Reviewer: Desert buttons | 8/12/08

i too have used drugs and my third eye is wide open. perhaps not only are we manifestations of different facets of One conciousness but perhaps there is a world that is to big for us to comprehend...... our spirit lives another life as a whole and all we understand are parts of it

you people are drug addict losers | Reviewer: Anonymous | 8/3/08

'his song is a masterpiece. beleive it or not, we are all connected, one race, the human race, evolving at exactly the same time."

hmmm
now see, if i do a bunch of acid that frys my brain to where i am incapable of knowing that those thoughts are completely irrational, then yes, i can understand that.

ive done a few tabs of swiss acid before, and peyote, and shrooms, etc (not dmt though)

and honestly.. all you people thinking that you are acheiving "insight".. the only thing you are receiving is damage to the 52h receptors in your brains.. doing all these drugs that make u "realize" and "understand" the world is bullshit.

i saw a shitload of stuff.. but i knew.. it was fucking.. ACID. the stuff you see while on acid is the illusion you fucking retards

stop frying every weekend and do something useful with your life

were all going to die eventually, but hopefully all of you fuckers die first and leave normal, sane people in peace.


and no not all drugs "fry" your brain.

umm... but acid and dmt and salvia definately do...

and if you believe that go do acid at about 10:00 one night and after you stay up all night hallucinating and then tell me at 12:00 the next day (noon) that you dont think your brain has been fried to some extent.

fucking idiots

We Are One Soul | Reviewer: megavikingman | 7/14/08

The messages of this song are incredibly simple and infinitely complex at the same time. On the simple side of things, there are 2 main messages:

1. Drugs (specifically psychedelics) can be used to achieve a higher level of consciousness.
2. All of existence is actually one consciousness. Life is a window by which that consciousness expresses itself.

If you are unfamiliar with either of these concepts, you can see that they need a lot of explanation to truly understand them. Also, a lot of the lyrics seem to be speaking about other subjects. However, I think its all based on these two concepts, and the corollary that follows:

3. Drugs allow the One Consciousness to view itself, through the Third Eye.

If anyone would like to discuss these lyrics further, I would be interested in an e-mail debate. Feel free to contact me at megavikingman@hotmail.com. I do not answer e-mails very frequently, so do not be offended or surprised if I take some time to respond. However, if you are open minded and interested in these subjects, I would be happy to respond in full.

me | Reviewer: me | 7/4/08

what i think this song is about a man that was high on drugs and beat his babys mom she had enof and left him and took his kid from him it took him many years to find his kid and get the kid back into his life now the kid dont even know him and now the kid scared of him at first then with time starts to understaind what happean to the dad and the kid ends up letin the dad back into the kids life thats just me and what i got from this song that i cant even put into words how good it is and all there music is u hear what u hear but this is what i heard and took from this song

this song is just not all about drugs | Reviewer: truth | 4/16/08

read this again ...
Today a young man on acid realized that all matter is merely energy condensed to a slow vibration. That we are all one consciousness experiencing itself subjectively. There is no such thing as death, life is only a dream, and we are the imagination of ourselves.
these few lines have got the key to a whole new universe that only a few people have witnessed yet ... i my self am working on the same theory...
let me put it this way ... why do you think that the environment around you really exists? ... why do you think that i exist? ... haven’t you every had a dream which seems actually similar to the time when you are awake? ... so shouldn’t we take life as a dream too ...
we think that we are witnessing a moment... but it could be the other way around .. the truth could be totally different ..
for all you know its just you imagining very thing ... every person you see .. every leaf that falls...
close your eyes and think for a moment ...
this all is just a part of what I think …. Well as I said I am working on it so I cant be certain of the exact truth… there are many possibilities...

i dont think the songs only about drugs | Reviewer: Truth | 4/16/08

read this again ...
Today a young man on acid realized that all matter is merely energy condensed to a slow vibration. That we are all one consciousness experiencing itself subjectively. There is no such thing as death, life is only a dream, and we are the imagination of ourselves.
these few lines have got the key to a whole new universe that only a few people have witnessed yet ... i my self am working on the same theory...
let me put it this way ... why do you think that the environment around you really exists? ... why do you think that i exist? ... haven’t you every had a dream which seems actually similar to the time when you are awake? ... so shouldn’t we take life as a dream too ...
we think that we are witnessing a moment... but it could be the other way around .. the truth could be totally different ..
for all you know its just you imagining very thing ... every person you see .. every leaf that falls...
close your eyes and think about it ...


that’s just a part of what i think .. and i know there could be a lot more possibilities ... but as i said i am working on it ... so i cant be certain of what the truth is ....


anonymous | Reviewer: Anonymous | 1/27/08

I had this incredibly intense moment listening to this song today-
I had just left my girlfriend's house driving home and she's leaving tomorrow for college again and i won't see her for a long time so i was really sad. I was listening to it really listening to maynard's voice as he says:

To see just who I might have been.
I do not recognize the vessel,
But the eyes seem so familiar.
Like phosphorescent desert buttons
Singing one familiar song...

And there's that intense moment where he sings so good to see you i've missed you so much and thinking about when i first saw her when she came back and i just closed my eyes and was overcome by this strange emotion and then i just felt tears on my cheek...

The Drugs | Reviewer: Anonymous | 12/29/07

I've talked to many people who have tried acid. Most of them, who are on the artistic side and have that sense of "nothing really matters" say everyone should try acid or shrooms at least once. A few of them though, who are those people who just live their reality and concentrate on the accumulation of money (you can't blame them cus they're living in america), say that you should never try acid.
You live 100 years, and you remain dead for many more years. Thousands, millions, billions, trillions of years of death. They use that arguement as a reason "not" to do drugs. I see it as a reason to try them. It's your decision.

we are one conciousness | Reviewer: Anonymous | 12/8/07

this song is a masterpiece. beleive it or not, we are all connected, one race, the human race, evolving at exactly the same time.

who cares?? | Reviewer: mario luvs yall | 11/28/07

i dunno if this guys are just laughin at the reaction of us to their great music or art (cuz this is art, FOR ME). Im not a musician, but with or without drugs i can feel the music & pay attention to the messages, i've grown with music, cuz since their very first album, M.j.k. or tool itself proved to be a different band, i got hooked on their way of thinkin & music since that, so i belive in them, i don't think they really care about money, expression is the main idea, i wish i could write properly (as they do)all the crap i think about the world & society & the way world is livin' (which sux by the way), but im just a simple human that thinks that they r no ordinary humans,they have something to tell & its yr choice to listen or not. I don't think thyre here just to sell us cds. i think they just live this dream (as bill suggests in the intro) at their max.
and yes, drugs (& i mean all) fry not only yer brains but yr liver, heart, intestins, lungs & the list continues. if u are weak enough to feel te huge need to reach concentration or an altered state of consciousness i think yr lost, i mean im not against drugs or yer way of thinkin i actually used drugs, many kinds for various years, but way back when i was young & stupid (now im only stupid). so discover the power you all have inside to reach this powerful universe secrets that'll set us free...
peace & love 4 all.
marius_argenta@hotmail.com

Great Song | Reviewer: ObservantOne | 11/24/07

Has anyone ever thought that maybe This song, as well as other tool songs, is just the ANTITHESIS of drug-using. It's actually mocking every known scenarios, stories, and behaviors associated with drug use. Remember Tool as a band writes lyrics not just M.J.K. Tool is Tool Four guys creating music for the masses. All we know about them is what they sold us. If I were a part of Tool I'd sell you some bullshit so I can sit back and read all the crazy reactions of my "fans" just so I could have a laugh.

Some misperceptions... | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/5/07

First off, I want to say that I am by no means qualified to tell you what to do. I am merely going to speak from my own experience. Not all drugs "fry" your brain, that is a naive and foolish statement to make. It is possible to use certain drugs to experience other worldly states of mind. I was so foolish to think I had experienced altered states of mind through my own power. Humbled will one be, upon experiencing nn-DMT. Sure, it IS possible to go into a deep trance, and your mind will release the levels of DMT naturally, however, most people will not be able to get to that point. Whatever you think the world is, after experiencing DMT, you realize that whether you were right or wrong you were wrong. You perhaps "Knew" but did not understand. And you still do not. In fact anyone who posts here is not qualified to speak of enlightenment. That includes me. And anyone who passes themselves off as enlightened is lying to you. Even though what they say may be true, do they understand the gravity of their words? Assuming of course that words have any real point beyond this world.

If you truly want to experience "truth", you will have to do like I did, shutup and stop looking. Be quiet and humble. It will find you. I feel already I have spoken too much, and these words feel pointless, as I doubt anyone will glean anything of worth from them, so I am going to shutup myself.

Drugs? | Reviewer: kristophorus | 10/12/07

You don't need drugs to get you into a state of trance, however, some people would prefer the use of them as a tool to get their more quickly. But really, your mind has all the "tools" you need to experience it.

It is stupid to say that drugs are nothing but a tool, a means to an end. Drugs will fry your brain. You don't have to be a doctor to know this. True, some of the most inspired works of art have come about because of these things, but personally I believe it should come naturally, not by external means. (Do you think all the great artisians of the Renaissance were tripping when they created their legacies? And on a seperate note: even without drugs, the self-produced chemicals in your brain can cause damage and mental illness in extreme cases. Just to show how fragile the human mind can be.)

If you want to get high to make good art, music, etc. Go ahead, I have no quarrel with you. That is your choice to make. I just don't think the experience is as enlightening as if it were to come about naturally. As a musician myself, I know the feeling of finding that sudden inspiration for musical or lyrical ideas. It doesn't come as often as I'd like it, but when it does its the most wonderful feeling in the world. I feel if that I were to use drugs to achieve this I'd be cheating myself by 'forcing' the inspiration out of my brain, by overriding the principle of "talent". The brain is a complicated piece of biological mass that even with all the science we have today we still know very little about it. Why complicate matters by introducing foreign substances?

I tell people, music is my drug. I get to that state by listening to music like Tool. My brain processes the sounds and the lyrics and it gets the proper juices flowing for me to feel "high". All without the bit about frying my brain. Sounds like a much better deal to me, no pun intended. =)

This song is great, its meaning is very deep and could also be considered controversial with all of this discussion of drugs. But that's my favorite kind.

Give It Up | Reviewer: shadowprojector | 10/3/07

Ivan Vargas, you are certainly a legitimate source. Of course the members of Tool don't do drugs... Wait except for the DMT which has been described as being the key to Danny Carey's understanding of the hidden aspect behind the unicursal hexagram. Maybe you would understand their lyrics better if you weren't missing a chromosome. You, little buddy, must have been in an "alterate states of mind", as you so eloquently put it, when you wrote this. I'm guessing you are not a drug user so I will have to blame it on years of inbreeding. thanks

No need for drugs! | Reviewer: Lenny | 9/17/07

You do not need drugs to have any of these experiences that are being spoken of.

Becoming one with the world is something that I was only able to do without drugs.

Finding that space inside of myself came from quieting my mind. Realizing that my mind is just bunch of analyzing, and worrying, controlling, self doubt. It so self centered.

When I realize that I am the sum total of all my experiences, and that life deals me the cards and presents me with opportunities, then there is no reason to go to my mind for the answers. My mind just complicates things. It gets in the way of the life flow. I have no choices when I can see the influences of everything. All my decisions are based something that already happened and all of my experiences.

My mind is useless chatter when I connect with life.

I experience all kinds of crazy things when I ignore my mind and experience life free of analyzations and worry.

I am so high on life right now. Better than crack or any mushroom trip.

We are all one. The world is an organism at war with itself. I am the same as everyone. If I walked in their shoes I'd be doing the same things.

I experience visual stimulation when on this spiritual high. I experience everything.

I just have an animal mind, and it alone cannot see the big picture.

Opening the third eye comes from quieting the mind down to a certain scientific level of action.

Drugs is not the answer.


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    Current page No. 8/ 10