Reviews for Third Eye Lyrics

Performed by Tool

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    Current page No. 1/ 10
Add Your New Review About The Song

Pretty obvious | Reviewer: Anonymous | 3/25/14

I completely agree with ben below me. I can't understand why it's so hard for some people though for me it was pretty obvious what the point of the song is. Because you know the title says it all...the fucking title is THIRD EYE. If you know what the third eye is it's pretty simple to understand the point of the song, the details might be harder and that's where the beauty lies.

the shedding of ego | Reviewer: ben | 3/12/14

ok this song is about finding a higher state of consciousness polo is the only person that has reviewed this song correctly it is not about sex another person or love it is about truth and enlightenment or more so a path to follow to gain those thing and the part about using drugs is just explaining a tool to use in order to get past ego and to the primal self so you're not in your own way it's very hard to try to explain these things in just a few short paragraph but i'm right... this song is not open to any kind of interpatation it isn't cryptic it just deals in ideas that are hard for your average joe to understand it toke mean years to fully understand maynards lyrics but parabol lateralus 46and2 and other sngs are all about this same idea

REAbout Third Eye and Bill Hicks | Reviewer: Anonymous | 2/23/14

Yeah, um, this songs is really linked with Rosetta Stoned which is about DMT...If you have to question whether Tool like drugs or not, I don't think you're really much of a fan :p

In.....Out.....In.....Out.....In.....Out | Reviewer: Anonymous | 1/17/14

There is so much about this song that justs forces me to stop what ever it is that im doing at the time and just listen and take in as much as I can because in there is the clues to something that has haunted me since I was a child. Those distant far of memories and feelings of awareness that you just can not explain,and if you try too the only answer is rencarnation, To be born again, To have lived before. To take your first breath, In...Out...In...Out, To Look into your mothers eyes, something familiar, Different vessel.

DRUGS/third eye | Reviewer: Anonymous | 12/25/13

Song's about drugs/the 3rd eye. It enhances a different state of mind. it is said that supposedly makes you a god, smarter, etc. doing some of those practices.
For those god believers isn't it the reason why god threw us out of heaven? For trying to be like him? Are we dancing with the devil doing these things?
Ask yourself.

Christian what the fuck is your problem | Reviewer: Anonymous | 12/4/13

To the jesus lover below.Do you have any idea what a stupid twat you sound like.Yes people take drugs and expand their consciousness and become gods effectually and they became greater than you because the aren't in that instance a slave to an idea,as you have became adopting a religion/faith/brain washing dogma.Do be proud of your slavery.You are a sheep,one of the flock you are nothing special,you everything one should avoid in life.You disrespect your own humanness.Government,money,god are all ideas easily corrupted.

:) | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/11/13

Jesus belief if but one culture's expression of knowing God, and there are many other routes to take to God as well, which are just as valid. Have some respect for other's path of spirituality, what you do will not work for everyone. (To the judgemental Tool below)

About Third Eye and Bill Hicks | Reviewer: Anonymous | 8/29/13

Since there are comments by late stand up comic Bill Hicks who was a long time friend and front man for Tool relating to drugs I am just adding this comment, it's not really a review. To me the "Third Eye" of a person is supposedly opened with drugs, such as peyote, LSD, even pot according to the many people who rely on drugs for inspiration. I, myself having been there and done that have long since moved on to letting my "Third Eye" be opened by the Holy Spirit, God, through Jesus Christ. I have a response to Bill Hicks whose last words related to "TRUTH" (not here, you'll have to look that up on Wikipedia) anyway when he says

"See, I think drugs have done some *good* things for us, I really do. And if you don’t believe drugs have done good things for us, do me a Favor: go home tonight and take all your albums, all your tapes, and all your cd’s and burn em’. 'Cause you know what? The musicians who’ve made all that great music that’s enhanced your lives throughout the years...
Rrrrrrrrrrrrreal ------ high on drugs."

To this I say, yeah I used to be into Zepplin, Stones, Pink Floyd, Jethro Tull and so many other druggies music, but that music did not make any kind of impact on my life. I don't know if TOOL is into drugs, were ever or whatever.

The music that truly did and does and will forever have an impact on my life are by musicians who perhaps may have used drugs in the past (no unlike myself) but who have been reborn into the Holy Spirit and whose music is Christ centered. Yes, Jesus Christ, as in GOD. These bands like Third Day, tobyMac, DC Talk, Flyleaf, Switchfoot, Skillet, Matt Redman and so many others, some who have even won the AMERICAN IDOL title award or came close to winning it like Jordon Sparks, Faith Hill, Carrie Underwood and Mandisa...so so many and none on drugs..not anymore, only high on (ironically) TRUTH.

Look what I found | Reviewer: mrcold | 5/11/13

Currently enjoying my first DMT experience. I was listening to random music, and this song comes on. Everything came together at once.

They came here to watch me play.

Prying open my third eye.

What this song is really about. | Reviewer: Chris | 4/30/13

This song is, simply put, about whatever you think it is about. I grow tired of hearing fans try to decipher and cherry pick the meaning out of every line of every verse. Who cares what the song means to the artist(s) himself? It matters what the song means to you personally. If you just try to delve into the writers state of mind and try to figure out his meaning and what he was thinking during the writing process of the song, then Tool really isn't for you.

I'm not trying to be harsh, here. I'm really not. But trying to pondering what a writers work and saying that you know exactly the writers though process is about is no different that taking your own views on religion and attempting to stuff them down other people's throats and trying to pass it on as an original idea.

... | Reviewer: _copasetic | 4/17/13

I also think this song is about spirituality but a forced spiritual awakening due to drugs rather than a natural one, hence "prying open my third eye" and the Bill Hicks narration at the start.

AMAZING song, and am hoping they play in in concert in two weeks time!

Drugs and bill hicks | Reviewer: Ben | 4/20/13

The song is literally about Bill Hicks and his philosophies regarding psychedelic drug use, which he was a strong proponent of. This isn't about relationships the way other Tool songs like Schism are. This song is literally about taking acid, shrooms, DMT, all of that stuff.

Bro. | Reviewer: Noah | 4/12/13

1. Not in any way connecting to sex.
Or loving of a being.
It's about opening your mind to the possibilities, and reaching out to the divine.
Third eye is the deepest song I've ever herd. This song was influenced by the spirituality of the band. So glad to see you means opening your third eye with substances such as D M T or L S D, and many more hallucinogens.

wtf are you not on? | Reviewer: ThirdEyeWide | 4/2/13

I think this song is about healing, possibly relationships, sort of like the band has said about some of their other music. "So good to see you, I've missed you so much" can be interpreted several ways, such as missing a friend (Bill Hicks), or a loved one you haven't seen in nearly a lifetime. It could also be a person's shadow, or even God:

Shroud-ing all the ground around me
Is this holy crow above me.
Black as holes within a memory
And blue as our new second sun.
I stick my hand into his shadow
To pull the pieces from the sand.
Which I attempt to reassemble
To see just who I might have been.
I do not recognize the vessel,
But the eyes seem so familiar.
Like phosphorescent desert buttons
Singing one familiar song...

All matter is merely energy condensed to a slow vibration. We are all one mind, one consciousness.


In... Out... In... Out... In... Out...

(If you think it's about sex, you're right - but do try to delve a little deeper.)

wtf are you guys on? | Reviewer: jbone | 12/15/12

its about a girl (or your partner). dudnt you listen to aenima. "fek all ye junkeeze and all your shortened memories. also the dude getting operated on in the album art has a crutch! also when manyard "look up what that means as well " -was part of Green jelly he has a song about the cow god. mooo. deep dude and thank you. mine has stopped hiding and i can see life differently through her -my third eye. chur bro.


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    Current page No. 1/ 10