Reviews for Third Eye Lyrics

Performed by Tool

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    Current page No. 1/ 10
Add Your New Review About The Song

infinite exsistence | Reviewer: glen | 10/25/14

there music is extremely expansive my common interest is life after death I have no religion origin so I open to new and different thought. although Ive had a few spiritual experances previous to tool and a couple since listening anything possible

Just obvious things | Reviewer: urbanshaman | 8/21/14

in... out... Breath concentration to clean your mind. Classic way of meditation, nothing more.
This song is about enlightenment, special state when you realize all diffrent operations that happen in your mind right now. And you can control all the stuff as you wish. There is no more thoughts that occur automatically. This is the moment when you realize all your subconsciousness. Moment of maximum possible realization.(Thats why "ive known this all along") All your mind parts become one MIND.
Youre opening your third eye.

The song monologues are between "normal" and "Three-eyed" states of one consciousness.
(Maybe Maynard's one)

Came out to watch you play
Why are you running away? - Is this just some kind of Maynard subjective experience? I have no obvious intepritation.



Twin Flame | Reviewer: Loyana | 7/10/14

To me this song represents the meeting of twin flames. " I opened my eye and we were there". Any one that has met their twin flame can certainly relate.


well, it's something like: you transcend other plan because you are high, nothing more...you just feel you are the best ever, you found something behind your deepest thougths, when everything around is so ugly and depressive (i.e society). Your state of mind turns out to be illusional, beautiful and glorious and your ego stands up for himself somehow.... but when we are speaking about being spiritual and the accessment to this «third eye» experience ...you are having a xamanistic experience and just that...c'mon you'll not find God or you are not even closer to find the TRUTH..no one could...why? no one knows everything, it's impossible.
And believe me, it's not a dogma, it's real! but if you want to be closer to find something or even the TRUTH, first try not to be high, then you can have a «realistic transcendental experience» of the reality and not just your imagination and mooniness...

So you are so high and you skip into another world and suddenly you discover which truth?

Yeah they put in front of you 1k books about the life, nature, the universe, what is the name of that particular constellation, or even «the Truth» about the existence of other beings.....and it continues... No it doesn't,and who ever had taken LSD etc knows it! You'll know to be able to find «the truth» especially with the third eye way of thinking experience...( and remember the third eye concept is from the hinduism which is a religion) and which means basically the access to your subconscious where are your deepest fears and great memories and your imagination and so on... so let's get serious and realistic (and not stupid) because people talk about the concepts without even knowing them (next time I suggest you really study about the concepts you defend, and read it loud for yourself, or even try to think about them, if they really make sense...before you apply them, otherwise you really sound very very stupid. And after,if you still think you're the coolest, whick sounds even more stupid and ridiculous, I'd probably tolerate your stupidity and have some pity cos' you make a fool of yourself). But right now you're probably 20+years old and so your dogmatic ideas about coolness are so charming even for yourself, so don't mind if you're crying for attention you'll get your own someday without being junkie. And if we are talking about ego : «yeah I am so cool and the others doesn't understand me, they're sheeps...they live in dogmas, they accept this sick society....yeahhh I am so cool»....well but thinking this way you're very very dogmatic (just like the others who say they do wars and other things because God told them...well no... but ok there's part of a culture we should tolerate even we don't agree...yeah you know we belong this society and not another one, and so if don't like it do it better, but if you want to change it change it for good, there's the pretty solution and not a dogma.

Well there's time in life dude that you'll find out about the circus dogmas you do have...read again...and again and again..:

"people take drugs and expand their consciousness and become gods effectually and they became greater than you ...'

Did you become greater than the other one because you said people who take drugs become gods?

"because the aren't in that instance a slave to an idea as you have became adopting a religion/faith/brain washing dogma.Do be proud of your slavery.You are a sheep,one of the flock you are nothing special,you everything one should avoid in life.You disrespect your own humanness.Government,money,god are all ideas easily corrupted'.


And aren't you too, a slave, with a dogma, and a religion? Don't you know anyone have ideas, and positions and doesn't make you a slave because of defending them, otherwise everyone is a slave of his own ideas, including you. A slave is someone who barely can't tolerate or accept different perspectives, the ones which differ from his own «the Idea thing» i.e a fanatic ( and you know what? a dogmatic person you said it's the one who claim God, and Jesus, well and your dogma is absolutely against «the Idea» of God and religion. So there's here implicit your dogma or even fanatism.

Look out what I found for you in wikipedia: http:// en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tool_(band)

"Early on, the band fabricated the story that they formed because of the pseudophilosophy "lachrymology".[7] Although "lachrymology" was also cited as an inspiration for the band's name, Keenan later explained their intentions differently: "Tool is exactly what it sounds like: It's a big dick. It's a wrench. ... we are ... your tool; use us as a catalyst in your process of finding out whatever it is you need to find out, or whatever it is you're trying to achieve."[8]"

or even http:// pt.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Lachrymology

"Lachrymology

A religion that supposedly embraces pain, and specifically its release through crying, as a means to move to a higher state of being.

This religion is supposedly practiced by all the members of the heavy metal group Tool, but since it is nearly impossible to find any writings about Lachrymology that aren't related to Tool, it is obvious that Lachrymology was a hoax made up by Tool.

Since several of Tool's songs attack the cult Scientology, it is likely that Lachrymology was made up as a satire of Scientology, especially since Tool has claimed that Scientology has drawn many followers away from Lachrymology.
Anyone who claims to practice Lachrymology is simply a Tool fan that hasn't put two and two together."

You know what too? the idea/ concept of the God/ faith and religion itself´( Christian, Muslim, Judaism, Hindu, Buddhism, etc...) is not even closer related to the churches (catholic, evangelic, orthodox, Protestant...etc...) and if you'll be talking about politics and governments well it's always about the corruption of the institutions/churches/ministries etc and not about the concept/the Idea of God. Ideas stand forever, not institutions. And the idea of God: God is the Greatest and so He's so much bigger than any church. And because He's the Greatest, the Purest, the Wisest, above a human's impossibility /limitness, we humans try to be God? We are not even 1,9999999% closer, cos we know nothing, we're always learning about the things. So when you try to defend the position of being dogmatic and sheep and bla bla bla well if you're tryin' to find something through your trip or someth', or «the truth»or God,were you thinking about having a spiritual thing, trying to reach the same God's pureness? Yeah because aren't we trying to better ourselves for good, and not for bad. Don't we like the beautiful spot and not the ugly one, don't we prefer the eclectic to the vulgar? Don't we respect better those who are clean, or never try the crack hard ones. So give me some purity, some model, Jesus! You know people don't need to pronounce Jesus in each sentence they made, but just believe and care and do real good for others.

And finally do you want an alternative way to access your «third eye»? not really? well there's yoga too, and mediation...

Look: http:// www.huffingtonpost.com/lilly-barels/third-eye-blind-a-guided-_b_4298334.html

"Guess what? You have a third eye.Yep, even if you don't wear a bindi between your eyebrows or believe in the presence of the sixth chakra, you still have one.

I'll prove it to you: Just take out your brain. Slice it in half-lengthwise. Push aside the thalamus and there it is, nestled in behind the third cerebral ventricle and sitting right above the superior colliculus. Your third eye, also known as the pineal gland. It is the only structure of the brain that doesn't exist as a pair....In fact there are studies proving that meditation triggers the pineal gland to produce melatonin, creating the relaxed state of sleep in an awake brain. Blood pressure lowers, the heart rate decreases, breathing slows. In our chaotic and hyperactive world, this seems like a necessary coping mechanism".

Pretty obvious | Reviewer: Anonymous | 3/25/14

I completely agree with ben below me. I can't understand why it's so hard for some people though for me it was pretty obvious what the point of the song is. Because you know the title says it all...the fucking title is THIRD EYE. If you know what the third eye is it's pretty simple to understand the point of the song, the details might be harder and that's where the beauty lies.

the shedding of ego | Reviewer: ben | 3/12/14

ok this song is about finding a higher state of consciousness polo is the only person that has reviewed this song correctly it is not about sex another person or love it is about truth and enlightenment or more so a path to follow to gain those thing and the part about using drugs is just explaining a tool to use in order to get past ego and to the primal self so you're not in your own way it's very hard to try to explain these things in just a few short paragraph but i'm right... this song is not open to any kind of interpatation it isn't cryptic it just deals in ideas that are hard for your average joe to understand it toke mean years to fully understand maynards lyrics but parabol lateralus 46and2 and other sngs are all about this same idea

REAbout Third Eye and Bill Hicks | Reviewer: Anonymous | 2/23/14

Yeah, um, this songs is really linked with Rosetta Stoned which is about DMT...If you have to question whether Tool like drugs or not, I don't think you're really much of a fan :p

In.....Out.....In.....Out.....In.....Out | Reviewer: Anonymous | 1/17/14

There is so much about this song that justs forces me to stop what ever it is that im doing at the time and just listen and take in as much as I can because in there is the clues to something that has haunted me since I was a child. Those distant far of memories and feelings of awareness that you just can not explain,and if you try too the only answer is rencarnation, To be born again, To have lived before. To take your first breath, In...Out...In...Out, To Look into your mothers eyes, something familiar, Different vessel.

DRUGS/third eye | Reviewer: Anonymous | 12/25/13

Song's about drugs/the 3rd eye. It enhances a different state of mind. it is said that supposedly makes you a god, smarter, etc. doing some of those practices.
For those god believers isn't it the reason why god threw us out of heaven? For trying to be like him? Are we dancing with the devil doing these things?
Ask yourself.

Christian what the fuck is your problem | Reviewer: Anonymous | 12/4/13

To the jesus lover below.Do you have any idea what a stupid twat you sound like.Yes people take drugs and expand their consciousness and become gods effectually and they became greater than you because the aren't in that instance a slave to an idea,as you have became adopting a religion/faith/brain washing dogma.Do be proud of your slavery.You are a sheep,one of the flock you are nothing special,you everything one should avoid in life.You disrespect your own humanness.Government,money,god are all ideas easily corrupted.

:) | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/11/13

Jesus belief if but one culture's expression of knowing God, and there are many other routes to take to God as well, which are just as valid. Have some respect for other's path of spirituality, what you do will not work for everyone. (To the judgemental Tool below)

About Third Eye and Bill Hicks | Reviewer: Anonymous | 8/29/13

Since there are comments by late stand up comic Bill Hicks who was a long time friend and front man for Tool relating to drugs I am just adding this comment, it's not really a review. To me the "Third Eye" of a person is supposedly opened with drugs, such as peyote, LSD, even pot according to the many people who rely on drugs for inspiration. I, myself having been there and done that have long since moved on to letting my "Third Eye" be opened by the Holy Spirit, God, through Jesus Christ. I have a response to Bill Hicks whose last words related to "TRUTH" (not here, you'll have to look that up on Wikipedia) anyway when he says

"See, I think drugs have done some *good* things for us, I really do. And if you don’t believe drugs have done good things for us, do me a Favor: go home tonight and take all your albums, all your tapes, and all your cd’s and burn em’. 'Cause you know what? The musicians who’ve made all that great music that’s enhanced your lives throughout the years...
Rrrrrrrrrrrrreal ------ high on drugs."

To this I say, yeah I used to be into Zepplin, Stones, Pink Floyd, Jethro Tull and so many other druggies music, but that music did not make any kind of impact on my life. I don't know if TOOL is into drugs, were ever or whatever.

The music that truly did and does and will forever have an impact on my life are by musicians who perhaps may have used drugs in the past (no unlike myself) but who have been reborn into the Holy Spirit and whose music is Christ centered. Yes, Jesus Christ, as in GOD. These bands like Third Day, tobyMac, DC Talk, Flyleaf, Switchfoot, Skillet, Matt Redman and so many others, some who have even won the AMERICAN IDOL title award or came close to winning it like Jordon Sparks, Faith Hill, Carrie Underwood and Mandisa...so so many and none on drugs..not anymore, only high on (ironically) TRUTH.

Look what I found | Reviewer: mrcold | 5/11/13

Currently enjoying my first DMT experience. I was listening to random music, and this song comes on. Everything came together at once.

They came here to watch me play.

Prying open my third eye.

What this song is really about. | Reviewer: Chris | 4/30/13

This song is, simply put, about whatever you think it is about. I grow tired of hearing fans try to decipher and cherry pick the meaning out of every line of every verse. Who cares what the song means to the artist(s) himself? It matters what the song means to you personally. If you just try to delve into the writers state of mind and try to figure out his meaning and what he was thinking during the writing process of the song, then Tool really isn't for you.

I'm not trying to be harsh, here. I'm really not. But trying to pondering what a writers work and saying that you know exactly the writers though process is about is no different that taking your own views on religion and attempting to stuff them down other people's throats and trying to pass it on as an original idea.

... | Reviewer: _copasetic | 4/17/13

I also think this song is about spirituality but a forced spiritual awakening due to drugs rather than a natural one, hence "prying open my third eye" and the Bill Hicks narration at the start.

AMAZING song, and am hoping they play in in concert in two weeks time!


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10    Current page No. 1/ 10