Drugs and bill hicks | Reviewer: Ben | 4/20/13

The song is literally about Bill Hicks and his philosophies regarding psychedelic drug use, which he was a strong proponent of. This isn't about relationships the way other Tool songs like Schism are. This song is literally about taking acid, shrooms, DMT, all of that stuff.

Bro. | Reviewer: Noah | 4/12/13

1. Not in any way connecting to sex.
Or loving of a being.
It's about opening your mind to the possibilities, and reaching out to the divine.
Third eye is the deepest song I've ever herd. This song was influenced by the spirituality of the band. So glad to see you means opening your third eye with substances such as D M T or L S D, and many more hallucinogens.

wtf are you not on? | Reviewer: ThirdEyeWide | 4/2/13

I think this song is about healing, possibly relationships, sort of like the band has said about some of their other music. "So good to see you, I've missed you so much" can be interpreted several ways, such as missing a friend (Bill Hicks), or a loved one you haven't seen in nearly a lifetime. It could also be a person's shadow, or even God:

Shroud-ing all the ground around me
Is this holy crow above me.
Black as holes within a memory
And blue as our new second sun.
I stick my hand into his shadow
To pull the pieces from the sand.
Which I attempt to reassemble
To see just who I might have been.
I do not recognize the vessel,
But the eyes seem so familiar.
Like phosphorescent desert buttons
Singing one familiar song...

All matter is merely energy condensed to a slow vibration. We are all one mind, one consciousness.


In... Out... In... Out... In... Out...

(If you think it's about sex, you're right - but do try to delve a little deeper.)

wtf are you guys on? | Reviewer: jbone | 12/15/12

its about a girl (or your partner). dudnt you listen to aenima. "fek all ye junkeeze and all your shortened memories. also the dude getting operated on in the album art has a crutch! also when manyard "look up what that means as well " -was part of Green jelly he has a song about the cow god. mooo. deep dude and thank you. mine has stopped hiding and i can see life differently through her -my third eye. chur bro.

The real meaning is metaphysical. | Reviewer: Polo | 10/10/12

This song is about meditation and reaching a level of super consciousness. Hence "prying open my third eye". Mind altering drugs are a common vehicle to reaching such levels, a kind of shortcut. Tool says "prying open my third eye, some have called it chasing the serpant. The kundalini serpant. Its a method of inner healing and the overall goal of meditation. Coincidentally the image of the two snakes coiling around a staff which is the symbol for medicine. Its also the symbol for chasing the serpant, This can also be seen in Tools Parabola video at the end.

tool to higher consciousness | Reviewer: Dylan | 9/2/12

My interpretation of this song is someone who is in touch with their spiritual side but can not grasp true ascendancy. He slips into the higher realms and realizes his lifes potential but he can not hold it in everyday life. When he sleeps (or enters trance, w/e) he sees his higher self or that of a loved one. Basically this song connects dreams to reality.

DMT | Reviewer: Anonymous | 6/19/12

Obviously a tribute to Bill hicks.

But looking deeper. The third eye is a symbolic element part of philosophies and religion. The third eye is meant to represent the observation of another, more spiritual, realm. One certain "drug" comes to mind when discussing the third eye and the spiritual realm: DMT.

DMT is interesting from a scientific standpoint. All forms of life contain DMT. Including humans. Our bodies release tiny amounts of DMT when we dream. Now comes the interesting part. Right before we die, our body releases a large amount of DMT. This may scientifically explain why people have "near death experiences". The body thinks that it is about to die, and releases DMT. Due to the miracles of modern medicine, people have been brought back with these experiences engraved in their memories. We have literally taken people back from the spiritual realm. This song may link the mind state of Maynard caused by the death of Hicks. Constantly trying to find him again by searching for him within that spiritual realm through DMT. Trying to search for him with this third eye.

The final purpose | Reviewer: Acroma | 6/15/12

I've been listening to TOOL for nearly four years now and always tried to figure out what the songs are about by looking at the lyrics. By now I've come to the conclusion that this is the absolut opposite of what you should do. I guess now I understand how to take the songs. Thanks for illuminating me...now even the songs I didn't really like a lot in the past (like Opiate and Eulogy) become precious, genious pieces of art for me and that makes me really happy...

actually.... | Reviewer: michael | 5/14/12

actually only the pop and hip hop artists are really the only ones who have faded because of drugs. genres such as metal and rock are mostly defined by the inspiration of drugs. did you know that jimmy hendricks used to cut his fore head and put large amounts of acid on the cut put his bandanna on and trip before he played every show and when he came down he couldn't play near as well as when he were on drugs.

Third eye int. | Reviewer: John | 2/23/12

Third eye is obviously a song about a trip on whatever drug they may have been on at the time. But deep down this song is mostly a salute to Bill Hicks. I would love to think that during the trip they saw Bill. The lyrics "Shroud-ing all the ground around me
Is this holy crow above me.Black as holes within a memory And blue as our new second sun.I stick my hand into his shadow
To pull the pieces from the sand. Which I attempt to reassemble To see just who I might have been. I do not recognize the vessel,
But the eyes seem so familiar. Like phosphorescent desert buttons." This is all directly quoted from The teachings of Don Juan. A shaman MJK models most of his life around.

Advice | Reviewer: Dalen Carr | 2/20/12

To the anonymous reviewer, who posted his thoughts on 12/8/11,
You seem to be one of the few fans who understand what Tool really is, and who Maynard really is. I agree with much of what you say, but there is a little bit of advice I can give you: do not associate yourself with any of the experiences you have while doing something like LSD. About halfway through the song, Maynard says "I stick my hand into his shadow To pull the pieces from the sand". In psychology the shadow represents everything that you are not. And 'psychology' is an incredibly neutral word, I know. But just realize that you need to separate yourself from whatever archetypes you may encounter so that you can communicate with them and view them objectively. But first you need to establish your 'self'.

hicks | Reviewer: Anonymous | 1/29/12

Obviously beauty (or in this case the interpretation) is in the eye of the beholder. I read the meaning behind this once and I believe it is about a trip MJK had where he met with his friend Bill Hicks again after he died. I like this idea because the band and Hicks were close friends, having toured together. Helps to keep his legend alive.


It's perfectly fine to perceive someone's art however you want. Yet, it's perfectly clear exactly what the essence of lyrics are based upon. He's talking about a spark of an idea that made him wonder and eventually led him to realize that in his dreams (chaos)-- all versions of himself and his infinite other lives that spread apart after his DNA was chosen-- the one most common denominator is his own mother. The first thing all versions of yourself finds that exists in 100% of all cases of pure noise... it is exactly your specific mother's eyes. It is not possible you came from somewhere else and could still be living to remember it. Her hair might look different, hospital may be different, your very own name may even be different. It is chaos, probability, chance, entropy, cancer- not good or bad in and of itself. It isn't meant to be seen but sometimes curiosity takes over and can make your life a little better or break your life. Your mother is not chaos, you don't exist unless she did.

Again, this could just be my interpretation. But any drug can be quite dangerous once it enables you to realize what the essence truly is of what you are looking at, and that there is no point to anything anyone ever does. Turning off filters in your brain that are there for a reason can be fun or allow you to learn but only if you aren't aware how real what you are seeing is, lest you lose all emotion and forget which life you are really living and no longer feel a need to chase things for no reason-dogmas, girls, cheese, money. Don't do, don't "not" do drugs; do only what wouldn't break your own mother's heart or make her worry; it is all that actually matters and exactly what all boys are trying to fight for in pure essence- to make your mother think what she did was good. Nothing in essence is actually good or bad- just do what she says, or what you know she would say if you can't see her for the time being.

wake up | Reviewer: mike | 11/4/11

tool is my favorite band but they're wrong about prying open your third eye. the harder you try to make it happen the longer it takes. when you finally give up the need to become awakened you become awakened.

Agree with roadheh | Reviewer: Manlywho | 10/2/11

Stardaz does make a good point but when you look at Led Zeppelin, Jimmie Hendrix, Nirvana, Tool, and many other influential artists and bands(meaning not bieber and beyonce)they were all on allot of drugs.