Reviews for Stinkfist Lyrics

Performed by Tool

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    Current page No. 1/ 9
Add Your New Review About The Song

You're halfway | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/8/13

This is about his step father. The entire album is about how Maynard was molested as a child by his own stepfather. You're right about claiming it's about sexual desire but it's the strpfather who says this might hurt now but you'll learn to like it

This song is open for interpretation, and that is non-negotiable | Reviewer: Anonymous | 7/9/13

I used to think this song evoked deeper meaning and insight focused primarily an arc or pattern in Maynard's life that was emotionally connective to many and implicates larger patterns societally. I have since come to recognize meanings implicating the following messages: It's an anti-heroin message, this is a very clear interpretation, even going so far as to say it is a message of extending a helping hand to someone falling deep into an addiction (only to be shunned perhaps). It can be seen as an anti-sexist message with themes of submission and manipulation. It's also a song about exploitation of lower class peoples from the upper class and the emotional arc of said process. Etc. The truth is it encompasses all of these things and is more about the abstract connectivity and impact anyway.

Interpretation | Reviewer: JpWill | 7/7/13

Tool is called Tool because you are meant to interpret the songs how ever you see fit, to use them, to aid you like a tool in growth... I see this song working in several contexts. Ex. Over stimulation by society. Marketing constantly bombarding us, extreme porn on line, extreme speed, extreme music, extreme home stereo and 3D flat screens, it goes into every aspect of our lives. In our ever growing society and with mega technological advances on a regular basis making its way to market. It takes more and more to satisfy in every aspect of our lives everyday. from our smart phones to sex...

Addiction | Reviewer: Juras | 6/6/13

It is not about giving up to sex. It is about indifference, internal indifference and numbness. Addiction to sex stuff. Having sex and not making love. The first way is a dead end to your humanity.

BDSM | Reviewer: mskinkykitten | 4/29/13

This song is about the depths of Domination and submission. If you think its about bi-polar or drugs then you are so, so wrong. The song is about the intense sexual desire Dom's have with their submissives.

Constant over stimulation numbs me
but I would not want
you any other way.

Is the sexual desire and need that always surrounds the Dom, He has to feel this, even if he has to over stimulate himself to feel anything. He doesn't want his sub any other way.

Cause,
Not enough.
I need more.
Nothing seems to satisfy.
I said,
I don't want it.
I just need it.
To breathe, to feel, to know I'm alive.

If this part doesn't show you this is about bdsm then you are still completley jaded. Sexual dsire becomes larger the more you experiment. Eventually you become numb to anything "lesser" than what fulfils you. My experiences with rough sex have proved this. Once you have gathered your lust for it... you will need more. It's a drug. When you have this desire and need for sexual behaviour your taste becomes larger and theres nothing stopping you until you have more!! You will feel alive, empowered...

Finger deep within the borderline.

Is the act of fisting, if you havn't gathered this. As a woman who has experienced this in a D/S relationship This explains it all. The border in which your sexual desire is being met, you are on the edge of have an orgasm or going into subspace (the place where submissives crave, the euphoric feeling of pain and pleasure. THIS is a drug like feeling that is incredibly addictive, and highly satisfying)

I can help you change
tired moments into pleasure.
Say the word and we'll be
well upon our way.

This is the Dom telling his slave she can change...She can still change her mind all she has to say is the "Safe-WORD"

Blend and balance
Pain and comfort
Deep within you
Till you will not want me any other way.

This is talking about subspace again, the feeling of pain but also the numbness of pain when you're there. He will do it over and and over again until you crave it so much you won't want him another way (like he feels with her)

Knuckle deep inside the borderline.
This may hurt a little but it's something you'll get used to.
Relax. Slip away.

He's going further, deeper, harder inside her. He's taking her to the place of pain and pleasure, hes telling her (probably in her ear) to slip away, and relax and let the feeling overwhelm her.


Something kinda sad about
the way that things have come to be.
Desensitized to everything.
What became of subtlety?

This is the feeling that the Dom feels when he's away from his submissive. He has desensitized himself to alot of sexual things, and theres nothing that can satisfy him other than the control he has and the mental connection with his sub. This could also be referring to the feeling of the sub also, she will never be satisfied until she has more. It is quite sad, because like i said before, its like a drug. This type of sexual activity is highly addictive, and has side effects, because most of it is more mental than physical. You're going deeper into the minds of each other, the connection is very very intense.

How can this mean anything to me
If I really don't feel a thing at all?
I’ll keep digging ‘till
I feel something.

He's starting to feel a loss of connection with his sub, He's going to keep going, no matter what it takes. He needs to get off.

Elbow deep inside the borderline.
Show me that you love me and that we belong together.
Shoulder deep within the borderline.
Relax. Turn around and take my hand.

This part is a little unrealistic, but the mental aspects of these lines are what makes this song so beautiful. He's "elbow" deep and has found the border he can cross to get off all He wants his sub to love him (probably for the gift he is giving her, the experience) He's digging his way inside her body, He can get off all she has to do is trust him "Take his hand" and they can be free together, they can be "free" inside the Dom/Sub world, All she has to do is say yes.

its about bpd | Reviewer: jimmasterson | 12/23/12

The song is about bpd. codependancy and the cycle and progress of an emotionally abusive relationship. it is about addiction however codependancy is addiction to another person and unhealthy relationship dynamics.subtance abuse is usually present in these relationships but it is a triangulation of the relationship in order to avert attention from problems and issues and numb pain . still the primary addiction lies in the codependant nature of the dyafuctional relationship.

It seems like some of.the verses could be from.either persons perspective
but i suspect its from the fixer/rescuer type non bpd partner.that being said
both partners in this relationship will most likly have some bpd traits. It takes ttwo damaged souls to tango. water seeks it own level and we as humans are subconsciously drawn to people who match our own level of emtional development. in this type of relationship both partners are addicted to the stimulation provided by the dysfuction. overstimulation or walking on eggshells constatly leaves you numb to regular stimulation and thers nowhere left to go but down and so. restarts the cycle

each verse is an exploration of the different bpd symtoms and how they playout codependantly causing dysfuctional relationship that is emotionally abusive, cyclical, and exponentially progressive.

maynard is very knowledgeable about modern psychology however he cleverly
mask it behide various veils of humor wit or metaphor.




Fisting Metaphor | Reviewer: Phantom | 12/9/12

I have a feeling Maynard is using the act of fisting to respresent the way people separate themselves from reality. Like, if I may say so, fisting may hurt at first [I assume] but over time, its the only thing that is satisfying enough. People are the same way with TV and Hollywood and Phones and Computers and material things they don't need to survive that they separate themselves from the real world because the real world ends up not being enough after a while. That's why everyone should listen to "Disposition" ---> "Remind me...Watch the weather change..."

assumptions | Reviewer: Anonymous | 2/23/12

As most fans of Tool, APC and Puscifer know, MJK has a wicked sense of humor. His metaphorical lyrics are often tied to topics he relates to with a razor sharp wit.
I don't think he's specifically comparing the lyrics to anything else. I believe it's just a broad generalisation of how in this modern era we've all "been there and done that" with everything. There's no satisfaction to be found in a world where the outrageous and taboo is an everyday occurance. There's nothing interesting when nothing is off limits. What would once make ladies faint and men apalled is shown to us daily and it's become mundane. The fact that he equates it with fisting is just his devilish humor being perfectly showcased.

All are right | Reviewer: Anonymous | 2/18/12

Why everyone are fighting who is write and who's wrong? Everyone to himself and everyone to his own opinion... Even though to think this song really is about distinguish is kinda stupid. I think this song is about how love have became a common, obvious thing... That everyone have, because no-one should have Borden alone as a burden. And because love and sex is so common and easy to get enjoyment from, just like drugs, people are used it, not because they want anymore, they just need it, like drugs, and people will agree to do very extreme and sometimes even wierd things for it. This is where the fisting metaphor is coming from. And the body parts progressively getting "deeper", more extreme because it's not eough, just to feel it there, they NEED to feel Ot there.

All are right | Reviewer: Anonymous | 2/18/12

Why everyone are fighting who is write and who's wrong? Everyone to himself and everyone to his own opinion... Even though to think this song really is about distinguish is kinda stupid. I think this song is about h

'Love' is the drug | Reviewer: Tablet999 | 2/3/12

It's hard for me to fully explain any of my interpretations of Tool songs, because much of it is felt, not heard. But in this song I find a very profound analysis of the social standard of love and sex. The thing I love about Maynard's lyrics is that they are often interlaced, having two parallel meanings at once. This, supplemented by the brilliant undertones and overtones of the music itself, can bring meaning which is very hard to explain. To put it vaguely, this song makes me realise how love itself has become a hyperreality. (It has replaced itself with itself). People become addicted to affection the same way they would a drug, and this can be seen in every Hollywood love story or high school, college and even adult romance. Sex is not about just sex anymore, its simply about having sex for the sake of it, or loving somebody for the sake of it. And we're left empty, always wanting more. But we've become disconnected. We can't live without it, but we can only live a half-life with it. I believe the pinnacle of the song is where he says: 'Something kinda sad about, the way that things have come to be. Desensitized to everything, what became of subtlety?'

What did become of subtlety?

all are write and none are wrong | Reviewer: leech | 1/15/12

THe song as with most of manards songs, means many differnt things. Its over tones are peaked with sexual intension to make you listen. His lyrics are about himself, his exspireances, and how we all have similar views in a demented sort of way for different reasons. Mental disorders, and being board can lead you to doing things that will eat you away. Heroin which alot of the music is about will starts that way it hollows you. You till you hate it but could not live with out it. THe cycle leaves you wanting more, and nothing else will do. Its like being fisted except when your high. This makes every other issue you have even worse when you wake up, not feeling anything unless its a sever torment, it wont hold your attention. its not enough you need more nothing seems to satisfy. You dont want it, you just need it, to breath to feel, to know your alive.

Maynard is disgusted by fisting | Reviewer: eric | 1/8/12

Maynard is probably disgusted by 'fisting', which most people are when they learn about it, so he made a song about it. Why does every Tool song have to be an abstraction for some crappy relationship or drugs? Art doesn't have to be abstract, it can be surreal. Tool wants you to experience the revulsion they feel towards a taboo sex topic. That's it. I know this because of the constant progression from knuckle to shoulder and the intermittent sounds of sex dialog. Fisting persists throughout the song.

love & drugs | Reviewer: Anonymous | 12/30/11

It's bout 2 people loving eachother while being addicted 2 drugs!!!
this is what i got from the love i felt & the not enough line & the video clip.but this is jus 1 meaning out of a million!

clearly not about fisting | Reviewer: Nikudan | 10/30/11

it's clearly not about fisting. maybe it's about drugs, on about how they leave you empty and how much you need it or maybe it's just about how hard a relationship sometimes could be when there's no real comunication...Or maybe it'a just about how a person could feel powerless in the today world...But it's clearly not about fisting...come on!!! I like to think Tool are a little bit deeper than this. Didn't you see the video? The little man is obviously suffering because he needs something he can't find


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    Current page No. 1/ 9