Awesome | Reviewer: Freezer | 1/27/09

When I listen to this song can get two meanings out of it. The first were the hardships that Tool as a band went through while making the album Lateralus. The album, although amazing, almost created a schism within the band itself. Also this song tells, at least to me, about the world today. There was a time before where everything was so simple, be it your younger years or just years past. Today life is like a living hell. . .but there was a time when the pieces fit. . .and I watched them fall away my friends.

elysium | Reviewer: cut&paste | 1/16/09

im taken to an alternate realm listenin to the rythmic progression of adam jones' riff work, truly amazin, nothin like it, danny cary's drum patterns is complex and hypnotic,it controls the motion of neck and head, justin chancellor's base cresendo is unlike any other,conveyin a sense of unity, mynard's voice, a truly spectacular intrument in its own rite. what a truly amazin band,unlike any other. im blessed to discover them jus a mere 3 years ago. NO other band has made such an impression.
i remember listening to lateralus for the first time, tokin bong, placin myself in that vulnerable pisition of open mindedness. parabol to parabola blew me away, what the fuck! this cant be human! these guys are extraordinary! no band has ever had such an impact on me before. the greatest band on the planet,and u can challenge me on that subjective opinion.
i must see them live ere my time expires...

what its worth | Reviewer: Allen | 12/13/08

The beautiful thing about a lot of tools songs like this is that you can listen to the lyrics and think about them and draw whatever meaning applies to your life, and you can gain insight from them. Who cares what it was meant to say, how to you interpret it?

relationships | Reviewer: diddly | 12/13/08

If you read up on interviews and how the band went through a rough and hard process during lateralus, and got fed up with each other and threatened to break up, I think this song is about precisely that. They say themselves that the conflict between their musical taste makes their music better, a la "But the struggling is worth it, finding beauty in the dissonance". They struggle with each other to compromise and create better music. "Between supposed lovers/brother", as in between the band members. "I know the pieces fir cuz I watched them fall away" - They say their songwriting is a long process of experimenting and throwing ideas away and so on, as in, watching the pieces of the song fall away so that in the end they know that they fit to create this awesome song.

Wikipedia says.... | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/28/08

In an interview with NY Rock, Keenan explained, "Everything we release with Tool is inspired by our music. It doesn't matter if it is a video or if it's lyrics. The lyrics for "Schism" are nothing more than my interpretation of the music."

What the song really means... | Reviewer: Brent | 11/28/08

In an interview with NY Rock, Keenan explained, "Everything we release with Tool is inspired by our music. It doesn't matter if it is a video or if it's lyrics. The lyrics for "Schism" are nothing more than my interpretation of the music."

-Wikipedia


Very Deep Meanings here | Reviewer: Ken Clive | 11/1/08

This song isn't just about a relationship breaking apart. It is about conflict in the world in general, and how our judgements divide society and fabricate differences between us when we are really all one species. It is not pure hatred of the human race at all; rather it is an admonishing, a reminder that individuals cannot exist without society and vice versa.

my opinion | Reviewer: butrint | 9/3/08

its about friends and family that when they grow up they don't talk to each other."I know the pieces fit cause I watched them tumble down" when everyone was young saw their parents and friends on a good relationship and broke down when they grow up

yanno... | Reviewer: Anonymous | 8/22/08

somebody told me a while back that the song was about the separation of church and state. And if you think about it, it makes sense. But then again, the song can mean whatever you want it to, I guess :-)

Title? | Reviewer: Alexis | 8/24/08

maybe, but i think that a 'relationship' can go alot deeper than most people think. people have been driven from sanity, commited suicide, cut off limbs, ect. i would assume ryan to be a guy, which is probobaly why a simple 'relationship' wouldn't mean so much to you. no offense or anything, but its a proven fact. though there are exceptions, schism being one example.

so... | Reviewer: roxy | 8/22/08

somebody told me a while back that the song was about the separation of church and state. And if you think about it, it makes sense. But then again, the song can mean whatever you want it to, I guess :-)

Idiot | Reviewer: Tom | 8/19/08

Directed at Zef...

Just because somebody isn't religious doesn't mean they don't have religious views... That's such a ridiculous assertion to make.

You seem to be claiming that the lyrics are straight forward when obviously they aren't... if they were then an idiot like yourself wouldn't have them completely wrong.

Metaphor for Society | Reviewer: Ryan | 7/28/08

Perhaps he's using the "relationship" as more of a metaphor, for our whole society. Think of it on a higher level. Don't forget that a lot of Tool's stuff is greatly inspired by Alex Grey's art. And his art definitely has a deeper meaning than just two people struggling in a relationship...

bla | Reviewer: Rick | 7/4/08

@ Zef S. Do you actually know the meaning of the word "schism"? Why else would the song be named "Schism" if it is about a thing like relationships gone wrong.
By all means, I think searching for meaning isn't always the best thing to do, sometimes you just got to accept the message read. So thats one argument in favor of me and on in favor for you... but who would be right?

My Opinion | Reviewer: Zef S. | 6/29/08

I think the meaning of this son'g pretty clear and near the surface.

I think it's about a relationship falling apart because of a lack of communication.

"no fault, none to blame it doesn't mean I don't desire to
point the finger, blame the other, watch the temple topple over."

Here he's talking about a sense of resentment that the relationship is failing, which turns into bitterness and self sabotage, as can be seen in the line "finding beauty in the dissonance"

"cold silence has a tendency to atrophy any sense of compassion" - again, pretty straight forward.

haha the meaning's pretty simple folks.

I very much doubt it's a song about religion seing as Maynard is not relgious -.-