Reviews for Schism Lyrics

Performed by Tool

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    Current page No. 7/ 8
Add Your New Review About The Song

what its worth | Reviewer: Allen | 12/13/08

The beautiful thing about a lot of tools songs like this is that you can listen to the lyrics and think about them and draw whatever meaning applies to your life, and you can gain insight from them. Who cares what it was meant to say, how to you interpret it?

relationships | Reviewer: diddly | 12/13/08

If you read up on interviews and how the band went through a rough and hard process during lateralus, and got fed up with each other and threatened to break up, I think this song is about precisely that. They say themselves that the conflict between their musical taste makes their music better, a la "But the struggling is worth it, finding beauty in the dissonance". They struggle with each other to compromise and create better music. "Between supposed lovers/brother", as in between the band members. "I know the pieces fir cuz I watched them fall away" - They say their songwriting is a long process of experimenting and throwing ideas away and so on, as in, watching the pieces of the song fall away so that in the end they know that they fit to create this awesome song.

Wikipedia says.... | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/28/08

In an interview with NY Rock, Keenan explained, "Everything we release with Tool is inspired by our music. It doesn't matter if it is a video or if it's lyrics. The lyrics for "Schism" are nothing more than my interpretation of the music."

What the song really means... | Reviewer: Brent | 11/28/08

In an interview with NY Rock, Keenan explained, "Everything we release with Tool is inspired by our music. It doesn't matter if it is a video or if it's lyrics. The lyrics for "Schism" are nothing more than my interpretation of the music."

-Wikipedia


Very Deep Meanings here | Reviewer: Ken Clive | 11/1/08

This song isn't just about a relationship breaking apart. It is about conflict in the world in general, and how our judgements divide society and fabricate differences between us when we are really all one species. It is not pure hatred of the human race at all; rather it is an admonishing, a reminder that individuals cannot exist without society and vice versa.

my opinion | Reviewer: butrint | 9/3/08

its about friends and family that when they grow up they don't talk to each other."I know the pieces fit cause I watched them tumble down" when everyone was young saw their parents and friends on a good relationship and broke down when they grow up

yanno... | Reviewer: Anonymous | 8/22/08

somebody told me a while back that the song was about the separation of church and state. And if you think about it, it makes sense. But then again, the song can mean whatever you want it to, I guess :-)

Title? | Reviewer: Alexis | 8/24/08

maybe, but i think that a 'relationship' can go alot deeper than most people think. people have been driven from sanity, commited suicide, cut off limbs, ect. i would assume ryan to be a guy, which is probobaly why a simple 'relationship' wouldn't mean so much to you. no offense or anything, but its a proven fact. though there are exceptions, schism being one example.

so... | Reviewer: roxy | 8/22/08

somebody told me a while back that the song was about the separation of church and state. And if you think about it, it makes sense. But then again, the song can mean whatever you want it to, I guess :-)

Idiot | Reviewer: Tom | 8/19/08

Directed at Zef...

Just because somebody isn't religious doesn't mean they don't have religious views... That's such a ridiculous assertion to make.

You seem to be claiming that the lyrics are straight forward when obviously they aren't... if they were then an idiot like yourself wouldn't have them completely wrong.

Metaphor for Society | Reviewer: Ryan | 7/28/08

Perhaps he's using the "relationship" as more of a metaphor, for our whole society. Think of it on a higher level. Don't forget that a lot of Tool's stuff is greatly inspired by Alex Grey's art. And his art definitely has a deeper meaning than just two people struggling in a relationship...

bla | Reviewer: Rick | 7/4/08

@ Zef S. Do you actually know the meaning of the word "schism"? Why else would the song be named "Schism" if it is about a thing like relationships gone wrong.
By all means, I think searching for meaning isn't always the best thing to do, sometimes you just got to accept the message read. So thats one argument in favor of me and on in favor for you... but who would be right?

My Opinion | Reviewer: Zef S. | 6/29/08

I think the meaning of this son'g pretty clear and near the surface.

I think it's about a relationship falling apart because of a lack of communication.

"no fault, none to blame it doesn't mean I don't desire to
point the finger, blame the other, watch the temple topple over."

Here he's talking about a sense of resentment that the relationship is failing, which turns into bitterness and self sabotage, as can be seen in the line "finding beauty in the dissonance"

"cold silence has a tendency to atrophy any sense of compassion" - again, pretty straight forward.

haha the meaning's pretty simple folks.

I very much doubt it's a song about religion seing as Maynard is not relgious -.-

I know the pieces fit | Reviewer: Adam Schneider | 5/23/08

First off to adress the comment below mine. Tool is not pure hate you moron. If anything Tool music especially that on the CD Lateralus is a expression of hope for people. In the song schism he's talking about religion as in dogma not one in particular but as a whole and how the fact that everyones so focused on who they think is right that we distanced ourselves from one another and have broken down communication between one another hence the line

" I know the pieces fit because I watched them tumble down, no fault none to blame but it doesn't mean I don't desire to point the finger and blame the other. to watch the temple topple over to bring these pieces back together and rediscover communication."

You see we are the pieces we are what needs to be brought back together. The Lyrics in this song and many other songs on Lateralus are about that letting go of hate and grudges hence the line in the Grudge where he's screaming let go! or the verses in lateralus where he urges you to spiral out and keep going. what he''s saying simply is never give up your dreams and your abilities are only what you make of it. if you refuse to accept mediocrity then thats what you will be. Ride the spiral to the end it might just go where no ones been spiral out keep going...seriously its right there in black and white for you to read its not vague or mysterious. you just have to peak your head above the bong smoke and listen to them message being said. Once again Tool is not a hateful band they do however express anger. anger and hate are two different elements all together. with anger you are able to express your feelings and concerns, but with hate you've already closed yourself off to the any other possibility. I hope this has been of some enlightenment for you.

Peace

Well.. | Reviewer: Anonymous | 5/20/08

Most of tools songs are pure hatred, like hate you can't really put your finger on. All of their songs have a really deep message that really no one can understand, but that's what makes their music great and mysterious.


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    Current page No. 7/ 8