Reviews for Schism Lyrics

Performed by Tool

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    Current page No. 8/ 9
Add Your New Review About The Song

I know the pieces fit | Reviewer: Adam Schneider | 5/23/08

First off to adress the comment below mine. Tool is not pure hate you moron. If anything Tool music especially that on the CD Lateralus is a expression of hope for people. In the song schism he's talking about religion as in dogma not one in particular but as a whole and how the fact that everyones so focused on who they think is right that we distanced ourselves from one another and have broken down communication between one another hence the line

" I know the pieces fit because I watched them tumble down, no fault none to blame but it doesn't mean I don't desire to point the finger and blame the other. to watch the temple topple over to bring these pieces back together and rediscover communication."

You see we are the pieces we are what needs to be brought back together. The Lyrics in this song and many other songs on Lateralus are about that letting go of hate and grudges hence the line in the Grudge where he's screaming let go! or the verses in lateralus where he urges you to spiral out and keep going. what he''s saying simply is never give up your dreams and your abilities are only what you make of it. if you refuse to accept mediocrity then thats what you will be. Ride the spiral to the end it might just go where no ones been spiral out keep going...seriously its right there in black and white for you to read its not vague or mysterious. you just have to peak your head above the bong smoke and listen to them message being said. Once again Tool is not a hateful band they do however express anger. anger and hate are two different elements all together. with anger you are able to express your feelings and concerns, but with hate you've already closed yourself off to the any other possibility. I hope this has been of some enlightenment for you.

Peace

Well.. | Reviewer: Anonymous | 5/20/08

Most of tools songs are pure hatred, like hate you can't really put your finger on. All of their songs have a really deep message that really no one can understand, but that's what makes their music great and mysterious.

Watch this! | Reviewer: ribex | 4/9/08

Did anyone consider that the lyrics are much deeper than we think? Watch this: I believe that the base for this song was exctracted from the Bible and the story of the Babylon tower? Do you remember? the man kind in that time grew distorted and evil and they wanted to built the Babylon tower so high, that it would be equal to God. Then, God went angry and crashed down the tower ("I know the pieces fit cause I watched them tumble down, no fault, none to blame it doesn't mean I don't desire to point the finger, blame the other, watch the temple topple over". Also, he mixed the language between men (in that time all mankind was speaking the same language) so nobody understood nobody ("disintegrating as it goes testing our communication the light that fueled our fire then has burned a hole between us so we cannot see to reach an end crippling our communication", or
"To bring the pieces back together, rediscover communication"... and so on...

clear influence but broad interpretation | Reviewer: Anonymous | 4/3/08

title is basically how tool writes its songs. maynard's said in interviews that he first finds an emotion that aligns with the melody they create, and he starts by talking about a story or idea or moment in his life, but then starts breaking down the specifics so that people can take the song and relate to the message, instead of treat it like a lesson to be learned or a protest to be heard.

Maynards intention | Reviewer: Lysergia | 3/26/08

Maynard wants everyone to interpret his songs in their own way and apply the meanings personally.
There is a lesson to be learnt in every song.
No one is right or wrong in regards to what his lyrics mean.

What about this | Reviewer: ribe | 3/21/08

Did anyone consider that the lyrics are much deeper than we think? Watch this: I believe that the base for this song was exctracted from the Bible and the story of the Babylon tower? Do you remember? the man kind in that time grew distorted and evil and they wanted to built the Babylon tower so high, that it would be equal to God. Then, God went angry and crashed down the tower ("I know the pieces fit cause I watched them tumble down, no fault, none to blame it doesn't mean I don't desire to point the finger, blame the other, watch the temple topple over". Also, he mixed the language between men (in that time all mankind was speaking the same language) so nobody understood nobody ("disintegrating as it goes testing our communication the light that fueled our fire then has burned a hole between us so we cannot see to reach an end crippling our communication", or
"To bring the pieces back together, rediscover communication"... and so on...

what it means | Reviewer: choosing to be here | 2/5/08

schism means for something to part or divide. the lyrics of the song mean a lot. "There was a time that the pieces fit, but I watched them fall away." it seems the writer is noticing schism taking place. completely brilliant to explain and to understand

Dissonance | Reviewer: Anonymous | 2/6/08

I think what he means by "finding beauty in the dissonance" is to appreciate our differences instead of trying to find complete harmony, because that in reality is unattainable. Instead of trying to change the one we love to fit some imagined perfection we should find beauty in our disparities. So in this interpretation it supports the idea that the song is about a relationship between two lovers.

Mhm | Reviewer: Anonymous | 2/1/08

"Finding beauty in the dissonance."

Obviously, this dissonance he speaks of is the pieces that are not, currently, fitting. So apparently, this simply sentence would contradict the idea that this song deals with some sort of relationship.

Very confusing, and awesome.

its between supposed brothers | Reviewer: eliot | 1/19/08

I know the pieces fit cause I watched them fall away
mildewed and smoldering, fundamental differing,
pure intention juxtaposed will set two lovers souls in motion
disintegrating as it goes testing our communication
the light that fueled our fire then has burned a hole between us so
we cannot see to reach an end crippling our communication.

I know the pieces fit cause I watched them tumble down
no fault, none to blame it doesn't mean I don't desire to
point the finger, blame the other, watch the temple topple over.
To bring the pieces back together, rediscover communication.

The poetry that comes from the squaring off between,
And the circling is worth it.
Finding beauty in the dissonance.

There was a time that the pieces fit, but I watched them fall away.
Mildewed and smoldering, strangled by our coveting
I've done the math enough to know the dangers of a second guessing
Doomed to crumble unless we grow, and strengthen our communication

cold silence has a tendency to atrophy any sense of compassion

between supposed lovers
between supposed brothers

And I know the pieces fit.

I love tool | Reviewer: Jay | 12/30/07

i agree with below but my view is tht its about how maynard has broken a relationship with someone nd unless they learn to communicate the relationship will never be rebuilt

wicked song/wicked band | Reviewer: Joe | 12/24/07

I have to slightly disagree with the person that said this song is about love. But isn't that the awesome thing about Tool? Everyone has their own meaning to the beautifully crafted lyrics.
I personally beleive this song is about the falling apart of love. Which may be what you meant by "love". I don't know.

there's always more to it with TOOL | Reviewer: Oscar | 12/13/07

I love this song. It was the first TOOL song i heard, and when i heard it i just had to know who it was. Now, tool is my undisputed favorite.
What i learned about TOOL is there is always more than one meaning to the lyrics of any song they produce! Its all pure genus.
If your first thought about this song was TOOL seems too hard to do a song about love, you were right. Every word and phrase of every song has a literal context and atleast to metaphoricals.
The point is to provoke free thought! So, keep thinking.

Love | Reviewer: Machii | 12/11/07

This song is clearly about love:
"I know the pieces fit cause I watched them fall away" tells us that the person speaking has seen the relationship with the one he loves crumble and fall to pieces.

"he light that fueled our fire then has burned a hole between us so we cannot see to reach an end crippling our communication." The fire, the lust, the tension, the love, has turned against them, and set them apart, thus crippling their communication, setting them into a dark spiral.

"To bring the pieces back together, rediscover communication."
This one is clear. In order to find back the love, one must communicate with eachother.

"Cold silence has a tendency to atrophy any sense of compassion. "
One must not be silent, for it will ruin your relationship.

Is TOOL preaching?

Wow.. | Reviewer: Chelsea | 6/29/07

This is the first Tool song I heard.. I love it. They have such a unique sound. And their videos are AMAZING!


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    Current page No. 8/ 9