Reviews for Schism Lyrics

Performed by Tool

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    Current page No. 5/ 9
Add Your New Review About The Song

here's a winner | Reviewer: Anonymous | 5/17/10

hahaha! listen to you all bicker! maynard is just fucking genius. his words are so awesome that they are beyond the normal human span of comprehension. like telling 5 stories at once and referring to each of them to support the facts in the song. they are left to interpretation. interpretation spawns violence. maynard wins hahaha

schism | Reviewer: Anonymous | 4/7/10

This song was (on the surface level) about the band coming back together to keep their communication strong, and their art alive. They members of tool had come to disagree with each other very much and they decided it would be a good idea to separate. However before that would have taken place, they came together, and made schism, it tells the tale about how they were able to come back to reasoning and that they knew who they were and that they were able to continue making great works of art and music together. As you can see, the communication was obviously found amongst the members as they are still touring, playing, and recording.

opinion | Reviewer: Anonymous | 3/21/10

to me this song is about how to ompletly different people can come together and despite the difference they no that they will work, and even after arguments they ccan still be just as strong, but its all in vein realising that it cant work as much as they hopped for it to

just my initial interpretation of the lyrics, feel free to correct/comment

Art..... | Reviewer: Anonymous | 2/21/10

art is subjective. You can't translate it anymore than you can translate the Mona Lisa. The artist had his own idea of what it meant, and you have you're own perceptions of what it means. Most artists refuse to define their own art, with good reason....

Philpott | Reviewer: Anonymous | 2/18/10

You are all in the words of aenima dumbfounded dipshits. This song like all the others in this album is writtin so people like you can post wat the lyrics say. You have to read between the lines. The song is about people loosing the connection between where we came from. Think about global warming then read the lyrics is it not obvious he might be talking about a loss in connection of the basic premis of life and earth. The more society develops the more we come up with shit that is destroying the earth.

meaning | Reviewer: Natasha | 1/26/10

Maybe this is just my interpretation, but as far as I can gather, the meaning of this song is as follows:

It is discussing an evident connection between two people, and that connection is being crippled and weakened by a lack of communication.

Their motives in the beginning were not intentionally to hurt each other, but because of a withering tie, that has even still become the result --unless mutual communication is sustained.
"Strangled by our coveting..
I've done the math enough to know the dangers of our second guessing."

Coveting, (in this case i believe) is meant in the sense of feeling "blameworthy" desire for.
They each desire each other yet harbor some blame subconsciously, perhaps because their "fundamental differing".

It "strangled" them and impeded their communication.

Second guessing, I always think is foolish in regards to love...it's all about instinct.

"Cold silence has a tendency to atrophy any sense of compassion,
Between supposed lovers.
And I know the pieces fit."

silence creates a sense of decline from compassion...but there's still something there.


Of course I'm sure it's much deeper, but in short..



SILENCE | Reviewer: Anonymous | 1/22/10

just straight up its about how communication is key in any kind of relationship. if theres a problem between the two, and u dnt talk about it your putting ur relationship in danger and it can weaken ur bond with the person. ("cold silence has a tendency to atrophy any sense of compassion")

Nicole | Reviewer: Anonymous | 1/22/10

He tenido el tiempo de leer varios de los comentarios y lo unico que leo es: "estan equivocados", "no es lo que quiere decir la cancion", "no saben a lo que se refieren", etc. Pero que tal si ES, todo lo que se ha dicho en los comentarios? no se trata de eso?, de tener una mente abierta a las infinitas posibilidades. Es poesia altamente interpretable y todas y cada una de esas opiniones y comentarios ES, eso es lo genial de tool, lo apreciable y lo magnifico.

suffering communication | Reviewer: Anonymous | 12/16/09

alright after reading all of these comments on tool songs and what the lyrics mean is this... even if maynard himself went on this list of comments and wrote what the lyrics were actully about all of you people would still disagree! my point being....just listen to the awesomeness of tool

Schism | Reviewer: John Doe | 12/13/09

I am pretty sure that most of the people that comment about tool songs have no idea what they are talking about. Isnt it plain to see that this song has nothing at all to do with religion?

all a schism is is a split. so to me to be honest when I actually think about this songs lyrics comes from the end of the song.

if you listen to the last two lines its a dead giveaway.

"between supposed lovers" speaks volumes to what the band is trying to say.

Basically the moral of the song is to communicate or else your relationship is doomed.

NB. on tool's webpage they themselves admit that this song and most of their others are open to your own thoughts as to what they mean, as they mean something personal to the band that might be different from your and my idea.

Schism | Reviewer: Anthony | 12/3/09

I believe that the song is about two people reviewing the aftermath of the two committing adultery. A schism is a rupture of time. The "schism" in this situation may be something that both parties want to forget.

to see music in color | Reviewer: matty | 11/12/09

i found it interesting what people got from this song and found it so blank and colorless. mostly i found a true lack of thought. what this song is about is making music collectively with others and coming to common ground without letting ego dstroy it. A very obvious song of tool's. when making music, it is easy to blame someone else for tings not working. also when playing you form building blocks that produce a pyramid in your mind. if one mistake is made the pyramid callapses, thus having you start again and gathering the blocks again.to rediscover communication

josh | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/9/09

its a fact that tool as well as tool affiliates are agnostic existentialists its also a fact that Maynard says you should find the meaning in a song for yourself. What i get out of it is that at one point man knew but as history shows used religion as a tool to gain riches thus the "pieces" fell away meaning the true meaning fell away. Hes also saying there's no one to blame because we are carnal minded.Once again he says you should come up w/ your own interpretation so on that note that's mine I see little fault in my statement if you disagree review your history and ask yourself "did religion do this or did people?"

i'm perhaps tired | Reviewer: willis | 11/9/09

but im reasonably sure that the lyrics to the song are poetic, in meaning that they will have different definitions to different people, because of what it is they care about. i'm sure the writers of the song had their own meaning, it doesn't mean you have to argue about it's meaning, because i can be different from me to you, and neither of us has to be wrong. music is not competition. it's inspiration.

Really, Josh? | Reviewer: Snarf | 11/4/09

Though I have no idea what the true meaning of this song is, I can most assuredly say that Keenan was not discussing how a secular Christianity has destroyed our society. I think he believes that Christianity did that from the start, what with the fact that its very fundamentals breed dichotomy and dissonance.

Look at Judith-APC or The Patient-Lateralus, and you can see how his mother's blind belief in Christianity ruined her life.

Fuck your God! Your Lord! Your Christ!

The very fact that the world is cut and divided by lines of religion and arbitrary values should disgust you, and make you wonder why. But it doesn't, because you are too blinded by your differences to see your similarities. And what you are losing as you secularize yourself more and more.

Balance is what is needed. But the world is shaped by its contrasts.


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    Current page No. 5/ 9