Reviews for Prison Sex Lyrics

Performed by Tool

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    Current page No. 6/ 7
Add Your New Review About The Song

prison sex | Reviewer: Anonymous | 7/4/08

I'm surprised that nobody mentioned Maynard's climax in this song. "I have found some kind of temporary sanity in this shit blood and come on my hands". There is usually a change in time accompanying the climax in a tool song but I think in this case it wasn't really necessary due to the shock value in this lyric. I think in this part specifically I see the need for intimacy becoming so desparate and linked with shame (prison sex) that sanity comes with accepting the filthy truth of our needs. Who knows. Maynard is awesome. I take it at face value. A powerful song no matter what your take on it.

Hello, .... McFly!!! | Reviewer: kendra | 6/30/08

Didi anyone even read up on this song before blurting out nonsense. The song is about Maynard's feelings regarding his experience with sexual abuse as a child. The lyrics are written from the point of view of the abuser. It is a combination of what he imagines the abuser thinks and feels and what he thinks and feels about his own experience. It is really offensive to me when an artist expresses is inner most self, shares his deepest secrets and pours out his soul in a song to his audience, and people just let it fly right over their heads. It especially upsets me when it regards such a serious subject such as child abuse, since, I myself was sexually abused as a child. Pick up a book or magazine and read before going off into imagination land people. This is a serious song about some real serious shit, folks. Open your eyes and ears to the world around you.

The Truth | Reviewer: YourDaddy | 5/26/08

This song is actually about Maynard being sexually abused as a child. I didn't think it was true until he confirmed it in the Revolver Magazine all Tool issue that came out early this month. Pretty lame, but this shit happens more than one might think. Maynard says that it is one of his regrets writing this song and using his anger about the incident in performing it.

Squemish Bathhouse | Reviewer: CALI G | 4/7/08

When i hear the song, it reminds me of roman slave orgies over a thousand years ago. OR, Its about making decisions that end you up in jail as a butt monkey for some lifer, and as you adjust to it, you become the lifer of the vicious cycle. Or, it could be just boy-man-love, like NAMBLA preaches.

Squemish Bathhouse | Reviewer: CALI G | 4/7/08

When i hear the song, it reminds me of roman slave orgys over a thousand years ago. OR, Its about making decisions that end you up in jail as a butt monkey for some lifer, and as you adjust to it, you become the lifer of the vicious cylce. Or, it could be just boy-man-love, like NAMBLA preaches.

lol | Reviewer: abe | 1/15/08

This is what I love about tool, you can say the song means whatever you want it to mean. Tool has 2 meanings in mind when they write a song, the immediate story, and the deep message. The immediate story in this is something is reminded of older days getting abused, or tortured, and It desides that it is going to fight back. The deep meaning that tool wanted to input was the nature and cycles of sexual abuse, and children in specific. The video was the same with a lot of symbolism in it. Oh and "precious": the videos don't always have the EXACT same meaning as the song. Look at vicarious video, the songs about the media and the video looks nothing to do with the media.

How we interpret things, | Reviewer: Lost inside my head | 1/13/08

I believe if a person hears a song and it strikes a nerve deep down inside, I know for me its in a metaphorical sence, "do unto other what has been done to me" If we really want to know what maynard meant by this track "prison sex" the only for sure way to know is to ask him personally. Its all a matter of interpretation, what its means to me, the next listener may have a totally different perspective of what it means to them....

Well, my views on the song.. | Reviewer: Dyke | 12/30/07

I do not think that you, in ANY WAY, can specify what any Tool song is about. Well, ├Žnema, perhaps. But Prison Sex has alot of different meanings in my opinion, but only one for me.

"It took so long to remember just what happened.
I was so young and vestal then,
you know it hurt me,
but I'm breathing so I guess I'm still alive
even if signs seem to tell me otherwise."

A girl(or a boy, mainly because its Maynard singing im saying this) has played around with a person of the opposite (in theory the same) sex, emotionally, got the person to believe that they had something, and when the "honest person" in the relationship was deebly in love with the other, "the betrayer" will leave the other person and cut off contact.

"Won't you come on up closer,
close enough so I can smell you.
I need you to feel this,
I can't stand to burn too long.
Release in sodomy.
Oh, for one sweet moment I am whole".

Hes missing her, and dreams of her smell, and for that one sweet moment he is whole.

The pain is still too strong for him to handle, so he does what was done to him:

"Do unto others, what has been done to me,
Do unto others, what has been done to you?"

and then the lines from the first verses are exchanged from "Me" to "you"...

"you're breathing so I guess you're still alive
even if signs seem to tell me otherwise.
Won't you come on a bit closer,
close enough so I can smell you.
I need you to feel this.
I need this to make me whole.
Release in sodomy.
For I am your witness and
blood and flesh can be trusted.(X2)
And only this one holy medium brings me peace of mind. "

My thoughts about the song, spontaneously really.

PS: Sorry for the spelling, i'm tired ;p


I

Pray with me | Reviewer: Illuminator | 11/8/07

It is generally regarded that the song is about child abuse, specifically of a sexual nature, but the song's theme of the cycle of violence can be applied to almost any type of abuse. The abused grows up to become the abuser. The 'prison' in question is clearly metaphorical, as implied in the video when we see the small mannequin's legs hung on the wall, indicating that he is a child and unable to run away.

Considering the artist's well known disdain for religion, and the references in the song such as "I am your witness," "my lamb and martyr," and "only this one holy medium brings me peace of mind," I began to reconsider the song from a religious perspective. From this viewpoint, the lyric "I'm treading water" can be seen as a resistance to baptism and acceptance of religion in general.

The "sodomy" in question is also a metaphor, the rape is psychological. It refers to how people use their position of authority over young impressionable children to force their religious beliefs on them while they are still too immature to consider all factors and make up their mind for themselves. They, in turn, do the same to their own children - "do unto others, what has been done to me," a reference to Luke 6:31.

The real clincher for me is the verse "I've got my hands bound, my head down, my eyes closed." Try assuming the position; get down on your knees, hold your hands in front of you as if they're bound together, bow your head and close your eyes. Does this seem familiar? The next line, "and my throat wide open" is about the willingness of children to accept as 'gospel' whatever their parents teach them.

You look so precious:
http://www.fumcwaco.org/children/images/CoyPraying9401.jpg

cbbf | Reviewer: Anonymous | 10/31/07

to me he's talking about the prison that is society, how we've been blinded by television and religion etc. the bullshit they feed us is the sodomy. we're breathing, but we're not really living.

great song | Reviewer: earnie | 10/30/07

this song to me represents to me self destruction. how you yourself can hurt you. while your locked away in your mind (prison) you destroy yourself slowly, and finnaly you relese yourself and you find comfort. maybe not but i had this view on it.

what I know | Reviewer: Anna | 10/22/07

This song is actually based off of true happenings. Maynard was sodomized by an uncle of his when he was about 7. I think the song is expressing that in order to justify what happened he wants to "do unto others(his uncle) what has been done to me(maynard)". Through the song maynard introduces himself as precious and a lamb and martyr but at the end his uncle and he switch positions.
"We have become one
I have become my terror
And you my precious lamb and martyr."

I KNOW | Reviewer: Anonymous | 10/18/07

It's just about the violence cicle, how the agressed becomes the agressor, you can see it when the small character in the video paints himself, and when he has a fly in a jar, also, there is a moment when you can asume that the tall black character, once was like the small one

Trapped... | Reviewer: Anonymous | 10/5/07

To me this song represents not a prison in the conventional sense of the word but rather an inner torment.. Sex is the medium the song uses to represent how this person releases himself.. Even if just for a second..
Obviously there are many meanings to this song and many people would take it differently but the way I view it is that everybody can feel trapped within themselves because of things that may happen in their lives and the prison rapist who releases himself by tormenting another is no different to the playground bully who picks on a kid who's different because his dad beats him..
It is a sad song and having the balls to say these things make Tool a top notch band in my opinion..

a world divided... | Reviewer: Anonymous | 10/1/07

As I read all of the postings that preceed mine I think about what the song means to me, but I have so many things that I can relate this song to I dont know where to begin. If the song means something specific to you, fine. If you want to know if it has some real-life basis, ask the writer. I guess thats easier said than done, right?


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    Current page No. 6/ 7