Reviews for Parabola Lyrics

Performed by Tool

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    Current page No. 6/ 7
Add Your New Review About The Song

The song's meaning is your meaning. | Reviewer: Anonymous | 9/9/08

For everyone debating about what the song "means" remember that the lead singer himself, Maynard James Keenan, has said "...we are...your tool; use us as a catalyst in your process of finding out whatever it is you need to find out, or whatever it is you're trying to achieve." There is no meaning except what you want it to mean. Use it to your own benefit, don't use it to argue with others or force your own views. Use Tool's music as a means to help yourself, not hurt others.

Eckhart Tolle | Reviewer: Anonymous | 7/26/08

"It's about stoicism, if you've read The Power Of Now by Eckhart Tolle or Meditations by Marcus Aurelius, you can see the similarities in the lyrics."

This is the truth. It is pretty obvious given the context of Aenima's lyrics and other songs on Lateralus' lyrics. He does mean explicitly that we are eternal all this pain is an illusion. The emotional pain you feel is an illusion.

This Song | Reviewer: FattieR24 | 4/11/08

This song has the remedy to cure a hundred thousand sicknesses. I mean, tool just speaks the truth. It has many viewpoints to most of their songs than the intention of the song itself. anyway that you interpret parabola is the way it was meant to be. This song with parabol is not only one of the most poetic, metaphoric songs out there, but inspirational also. Take the time to interpret it for yourself, and you will see what i mean.

my inspiration | Reviewer: Anonymous | 3/19/08

This song helps me stay off drugs, it reinforces the very reason why i quit, which was a near fatal asthma attack i had while i was infected with pneumonia for the 6th time. i have asthma and i smoked weed and cigarettes. took my dumb ass a near death experience to realize that this body holding me reminds me of my own mortality and to Embrace this moment. Remember; we are eternal,
all this pain is an illusion. again many tool fans will hate this but hey i smoked weed for 8 years ok? ive experienced it and had a good run but i am simply someone who should not smoke it, my body cant handle it. It also seems that everytime i would listen to Tool i would contemplate WHY i would smoke weed, no other artist i listen to made me ask myself why i was doing it, hey we all need something to get over our problems whether it be a goal, a person or a simple song, this song was that thing i needed. clean for 15 days now, and i frequently come back to this song for inspiration to keep going.

For the reviewers | Reviewer: Toolio | 3/4/08

For the people that really enjoy the music of Tool and are fans please stop trying to interpret every little thing he sings about. Music is made to attract more than one feeling and one view. The review should be how YOU feel about it, not what he is trying to say. That is of course if you actually took the time to buy the damn album and actually listened to it before looking at the lyrics. And if somehow through some God given miracle you like the song and it makes you think then hurray, but don't try to label the music as just that one thing.

my ideas on the meaning | Reviewer: Kazook | 1/17/08

My interpretation of the lyrics is the eternal existence of one's soul, that what we call life is merely a temporary illusion (or "holy gift") in the span of the soul's existence. This accounts for the line "this body holding me" where the "me" refers to the soul and the "body" is what the soul inhabits. The line "we are not alone in this body" simply addresses how we are all connected, not that 2 or more souls inhabit one's body, but that our body recognizes this connectivity of all of our souls. Here, "body" may also have the connotation of the world or universe, in that we are not alone in this massive body we call the universe. The overarching message of the song is to live on, experiencing life even if it is an illusion, because it is not only a gift but a test of one's soul. The "pain" MJK refers to is what reinforces this test that life is. (I am not saying that this song supports any specific religion because this could follow any or no theologies).

Why? | Reviewer: Linek | 1/7/08

Why does everything have to be about drugs? honestly there are many artists out there who have never touched drugs before, listen to Anema. This song, and most of tools, just as their album artists artwork, too me seems on a much more spiritual plane just matter on opinion though

lol | Reviewer: Joe | 12/24/07

i'm bored, so i'm listening to Tool and reading the lyrics. And just about every song that i listen to and i read the lyrics of i also read the reviews. and in everyone, someone says "this band has lots of meanings in their songs". which i totally agree with. just kinda cool how everyone says that in almost every review i've read. lol

My insight | Reviewer: lexadarling | 10/31/07

Tool to me, is beautiful, thus the fact that their songs can be contemplated in more than just one way. After a long time of observation and deep thought, I believe, that what this writer is trying to say is..

We don’t remember what came before this… (struggle, problems; with a possible relationship.)
We chose to be where we got, hold on stay inside (hold back the negativity or anger inside of you)
This body holding me, be my reminder here that I am not alone in this body (Sometimes you just need one love to feel like you aren’t all alone in the world)
This body holding me, feeling eternal all this pain is an illusion.(having someone, knowing that life is beautiful, our souls are eternal, and all this pain we indure in our physical world, is but an illusion. A creation of our own mind)
Twirling round this familiar Parabol (definition: Foreign word for certain kind of satalite that transports)
Spinning weaving round each new experience (engaging in new things, observing, and deeply learning)
Recognize this as a holy gift and celebrate this chance to be alive and breathing (Realize that having a love is an exceptionally special gift from a higher power, don’t take it for granted, celebrate it, for its what you have. It’s a chance to live another day alive and breathing, don’t let the pain inflicted on you from the physical world bring you down.)
This body holding me reminds me of my own mortality (holding that one, reminds you of everything you are as a person)
Embrace this moment Remember WE ARE ETERNAL ALL THIS PAIN IS AN ILLUSION.
I practically live my life to that quote. Its truly true.

For Me... | Reviewer: AibohphobiA | 10/15/07

I don't get the whole telling others they're wrong bit. Can it not mean different things to different people?
Any way, to me this song is about pushing through the hard times, sort of like what Toolman said. "We are choosing to be here, right now." Quite obviously, there is a choice involved, whether that might be running or ending everything for good (I know I'm morbid...get over it), but instead staying through the pain.
"This body. This body holding me. Be my reminder here that I am not alone" Your body is all you have to call your own, and all it can do is shelter your spirit, but it still reminds you of others who have been in the same position as you and can lend support.
"This body holding me reminds me of my own mortality.Embrace this moment. Remember; we are eternal,all this pain is an illusion." our time on this Earth is short, and though we feel that we have all of eternity to accomplish our goals, we will pass on sooner than we would hope, and we don't have the time to waste on stressing over the little things.

From what I see... | Reviewer: Anonymous | 10/6/07

It's about stoicism, if you've read The Power Of Now by Eckhart Tolle or Meditations by Marcus Aurelius, you can see the similarities in the lyrics.

Being one with another | Reviewer: Tmarie | 9/17/07

This song is one of my favorite songs from tool It reminds me of the first time I had sex with some one I really loved "this body holding me reminding me that I'am not alone" Saving your self for the one you love is truly a good thing.

COMRADES!! I HOLD THE TRUTH!! | Reviewer: chunky desu | 7/26/07

This song reflects upon the infinitude of the oatmeal raisin cookie and its peripheral beliefs!! Bow before the truth!! Make sure scrub between the toes!!!

Great Song | Reviewer: Tyler | 7/20/07

Love this song, very cool. I think its about reincarnation for some reason :P

What it means | Reviewer: Ansalem | 7/9/07

If it is about the human condition, then why does he say "be my reminder here that I am not alone in this body"? Is it part of the human condition to have more than one person sharing a body? Not for most people. And I don't think that any 9 year olds would be able to even come up with the idea that a song like this could be talking about an experience with drugs.

I think that it can very easily be interpreted either way. Maynard *does* sing about drugs in other songs, why not this one? Listen to The Package for proof. And from experiences I had in the past, it does fit very well with keeping your head above water during a bad trip. However, at the same time on its surface it sounds like just pure spirituality. The song has dual meaning for me. Drug use *and* spirituality. After all, the earliest spiritualists used drugs to have holy experiences.


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    Current page No. 6/ 7