Reviews for Lateralus Lyrics

Performed by Tool

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    Current page No. 2/ 7
Add Your New Review About The Song

Analyzing the lyrics | Reviewer: The_Anomaly | 10/22/11

>Black then white are all I see in my infancy.

Refers to the colors you see at the beginning of your spiritual journey, when opening the third eye for the first time.

>Red and yellow then came to be,
reaching out to me, lets me see.

More colors begin to come in greater detail as you open the third eye. These two colors were probably the first to be seen by Maynard.

>As below so above and beyond I imagine,

As above refers to the time in meditation when the energy of the universe is pouring into your crown chakra and out of your feet, so below refers to the earth energy rising up your feet and out your crown chakra. These two things happen simultaneously.

>Drawn beyond the lines of reason.

Pretty self explanatory. Letting go of everything you think you know and just opening up to experience, without any judgement from your part.

>Push the envelope. Watch it bend.

Push the envelope means to go beyond our perceived boundaries. "Watch it bend" I guess is an attempt at a joke, as this could be perceived in a literal way as well as figurative.

>Over thinking, over analyzing,
separates the body from the mind.
Withering my intuition, missing opportunities

Possibly describes Maynard's state of mind before beginning spiritual practices.

>I must feed my will to feel my moment drawing way outside the lines.

Taking logic and reason to its limits begs for something more. Eventually you just have to let go... and allow your mind to be set free. Beyond the boundaries of logic and reason.

>Reaching out to embrace the random.
Reaching out to embrace whatever may come.

Opening to raw experience. This is the first step anyone must take in order to begin along the spiritual path.

>I embrace my desire to...
I embrace my desire to...
feel the rhythm,
to feel connected enough to step aside and weep like a widow,
to feel inspired,
to fathom the power,
to witness the beauty,

Maynard was(is) possibly schizoid, so emotions don't come to him as they would most people. He is opening to the experience of emotions, urging them to come.

>to bathe in the fountain

I am at a loss for what this could possibly mean.

>to swing on the spiral,
to swing on the spiral,
to swing on the spiral of our divinity and still be a human.

What "the spiral" represents, I am still trying to find out. Possibly the road into the unconscious in Jungian psychology?

>With my feet upon the ground,
I lose myself between the sounds and open wide to suck it in.
I feel it move across my skin.
I'm reaching up and reaching out.
I'm reaching for the random or whatever will bewilder me,
whatever will bewilder me.

Experience.

>And following our will and wind,
we may just go where no one's been.
We'll ride the spiral to the end and may just go where no one's been.

Experiencing the human form for everything it has to offer. Again, the spiral analogy eludes me.

Awesome Song | Reviewer: Ben | 10/11/11

The meaning of the song is pretty straightforward. But a quick FYI on the black and white are all I see lyrics. When babies are born, they can only see black and white and shades of gray. Then red and yellow. The last color they develop is blue Tool rocks

fibonacci obsidian 13-20-33 | Reviewer: Anonymous | 10/5/11

according to gearoid in cork city in ireland, a huge tool fan, " The fibonacci is the mathematical ratio of the spiral
...which seems to be the shape that best describes evolution and creativity "
there is a quantum radio device called " fibonacci obsidian 13-20-33 " which is supposed to aid the whole process of ' ascending ' ? but i don't know if you want to do that unless you can also take along the wife and kids, the grandmother, the house, the car, the cat, the dog, the whole kit and kiboodle ? you can probably find it by searching fibonacci obsidian 13-20-33. ( 13 + 20 + 33 )
there is also a long article about this whole business here http://spiritlibrary.com/earth-keeper/earth-keeper-chronicles/the-alchemy-requisite-of-13-20-33-circuitry#comments apparently a transmission from Metatron. So long Vancouver, hello Riondel !

loot=tool | Reviewer: Anonymous | 9/30/11

we see only the light spectrum.3rd eye sees the whole electromagnetic field. if only we allow ourselves to evolve. dont let people hold you back. claim back your reality. dont loot your soul. reclaim your humanity.

Its about the numbers... | Reviewer: Anonymous | 9/27/11

Count the syllables when he is singing.
1
1
2
3
5
8

Its the Fibonacci Sequence. Then he goes on to say "Over thinking, over analyzing" perhaps to mean that no matter how we look at it, we will never understand what he is trying to express in his words.

The song could, arguably, be about the life of a human. The music starts low and slow, like a heartbeat. Slowly, the heart beats harder and louder. When we are born, we see in greyscale (black and white). Red and Yellow are two of the primary colors we first develop in our visual range.

But hey, open to interpretation ;)

A Battle Between Mind and Body | Reviewer: Anonymous | 9/1/11

Many posters say how deep of thinkers they are and how the song tells you to think outside the box. Well if you're listening to tool and researching their lyrics to find more, you are already doing this.

Though to me, this song is in fact the fight to break out of your head and experience the world wide eyed and hopeful. Open arms to embrace the random. I for one know the severity of being lost in your head, the desire, and the cynicism.

Though be it a great thing to learn and evolve, the greater feeling is to have open mind, and let your growth take you in the physical world where you have never been before. Don't get trapped in your head where it's safe and calm. Don't get trapped in your living room or at your computer just the same. Relax. Slip away... and let you experience things you've never seen or felt before.

I was lost in my own mind... and this a quote that made me understand what I was just talking about:

"A life without reflection is a life not worth living, but a life of complete reflection and you've never lived"

The love of wisdom can become a powerful addiction in another world. Don't let it take you away from this one.


Oh my... | Reviewer: Anonymous | 8/17/11

I feel a certain connection with this song... It was the first Tool song I ever heard and will always be the best to me. This song changed my life-- It opened up a world of music that I found inspiration and truth from. If I live, it's because Maynard forced me to by writing these lyrics.

Pink | Reviewer: Anonymous | 8/3/11

People are really pulling religion out of this song too? I really think tool should include large metal sticks with their albums to smack people over the head with who say every single Tool song is about religion and God.

Seriously people. This song is about exploring your inner 'worlds' and exploring the outer world (The actual world) in a similar manner, ever growing and expanding at an intense rate.

Lets look at the line "Push the envelope, watch it bend" in my opinion, it is one of the most important lines in this song, saying simply "Push the limits of what is generally conceived as possible, and watch just how easily those limits are broken."

Remember, you should always feel a little more connected and closer to your inner self when listening to tool, in one way or another. Exploring, imagining, creating, discovering. Don't ever underestimate how important all of this is.

natural aspects of idividual views of existance | Reviewer: R.J. | 7/18/11

This song is my favorite song to meditate too, every sound and verse releases me, everyones view wil always be different, but remeber we are Mammals that evolved here, we are given everything we would ever need to survive, so what exactly are we as Humans working forward so desperatly for? Our own man made demise?? We need to focus ourselves on Physics, Supersymmetric String theory...... Ride those spirals my friends, ride them hard.

Lateralus... | Reviewer: Acid>s | 7/19/11

First off a great song well fk.. all of them!! you can listen to Tool over and over again and you will always find yourself lost within your mind confused by all the meanings these songs process... Based on my experience with Tool... It all depends on your mood and your mind set.. Yea there Is a true meaning of the song but they made it so the day they wrote and played it, for us its all about what you get out of it!... The true meaning is like a guide line to something your own mind can come up with, plus with music its emotion played over from them to us so mostly a song effects the individual on his/her emotion.

Meaning of this song for me, is the fact that humans are like sheep day to day hour to hour min to min.... They like in a constant dream effect lost with in this void... Blinded by fear...

2nd. For me I'm a deep thinker and i analyze over and over, and sometimes i listen to this and its describing my constant emotion cycle, When ever i walk on the beach or at the mall or i take a drive a load Tool up in to the CD player and crank it high... and I analyze people in a way and think by myself " you know where are we going? Look at them everyday its the same shit.... Living on, fighting, its only a fight to be in control in some way.." Most only want to be a god.

PS. my blog www.tormentedmindz.blogspot.com

pure genius | Reviewer: Anonymous | 7/14/11

simply amazing how our brain works, we live our lives based on civilization, I believe this song tells us to break away from everyone elses way of thinking and use our own minds to make our own decisions based on what we believe and how we feel as individuals. Its kinda sad that we as a race are capable of so much more but we settle on being a virus like organism constantly consuming and destroying what we need to survive

Fibbonacci sequence | Reviewer: Mike | 6/24/11

This song was made based on the Fibbonacci Sequence which was discovered by Leonardo of Pisa. The lyrics and guitar riffs are all in a "swinging" fibonacci rhythm, which the lyrics start at one syllable and go all the way up to 13 syllables and then back down to one in the first two sets of verses. And then later in the song he refers to "swinging on the spiral". There is a really good youtube video explaining exactly how it all hangs together. Just type in "tool fibonacci sequence" in the search bar and check it out, very good video! Absolutely brilliant.

??? | Reviewer: siegfried | 6/10/11

letting the ego that humans have over developed slide back to its place to make you stop over analyzing for fear of its demise. instead trusting whats inside will guide you in your existance. open up to the universe isnt the scary place they have taught you that theres amazing possibilities beyong anything fathomed. just my take on it

......... | Reviewer: Anonymous | 5/11/11

It's more like he's learned something new and meaningful. He's started out with no knowledge of it and has started to delve deeper, and like a baby begins to see color (or how things work) then, after realizing the potential, tries to take it further and see what comes of it...

Life guideline | Reviewer: Ryan King | 4/26/11

There is more to this life than what is on the surface. More beyond the colors you first see. The divinity within this human life that is emotion, beauty, and the feeling within the moment.

The song is about leaving behind the overanalyzing, planning, and safety we demand, and embracing 'throwing yourself into the wind'. Letting chance and fate and your own strength decide your fate, rather than following the paths to mediocrity that society shows us.

Follow your will and wind, and you may just go where no ones been.


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    Current page No. 2/ 7