Reviews for The Elements Lyrics

Performed by Tom Lehrer

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    Current page No. 4/ 7
Add Your New Review About The Song

:-) | Reviewer: Anonymous | 10/17/12

My grade nine science teacher challenged us to memorize this song and if we did we'd get a 5% higher mark (extra credit) and he also said that the last person to memorize it took 3 months. Well I'm gonna do it in under a week... only been at this for 1/2 an hour and already got 1/3 of it memorized :-)

Mistake? | Reviewer: Hal | 10/17/12

I think he makes a mistake about half-way through. He says, "Isn't that interesting?" And then he says, "I knew you would," which sounds non-sequitur to me, possibly part of another joke he forgot to say. Tom Lehrer has made some lyrical mistakes in live performances in the past -- wonder if that's the case here as well?

I love this song | Reviewer: Chelsea | 8/18/12

Our school has been told by our head of science (my teacher) that if we memorise the song and sing it to her correct and in tune, she will give us 10 blocks of family cadbury chocolate or a $40 ITunes gift voucher.... i don't think she thinks that anyone will be bothered to learn it.... well, she can think again!

I memorised it in a weekend. :P

it is hard | Reviewer: Anonymous | 7/11/12

I saw Daniel Radcliffe sing this song and I just wanted to memorize it for fun. ITS HARD. Idk why I guess because all the words sound the same. Sooner or later I know I will memorize this. Toil bad I am not in chemistry anymore.

hope :/ | Reviewer: bear | 6/3/12

ive had this memorized for a while and im going to ask my science teacher tomorrow if she will give me extra credit for it!! we heard it at the beginning of the school year and i immediatly got it on my ipod so i could learn it and now the third verse is all cleared up for me so i have the nerve to go up to my 8th grade science teacher :)

- | Reviewer: Anonymous | 5/7/12

This song is very amusing and I feel obliged to learn it plus it is very easy to learn and very simple I think I will be able to handle it and anyway I've already learned half just by reading it so the rest should be fairly simple.

My anternate ending with updated elemenets | Reviewer: Bob | 5/2/12

trying to keep the meter and rhyme in Tom Lerher's style
The last words "ad infinitum" intentionally misspelled to force the rhyme and plays on the mispronouncation of "discovered" in the original.

...sodium.

And hassium, lawrencium, seaborgium, and dubnium,
roentgenium, darmstadium, and also rutherfordium
And then there’s copernicium, meitnerium, and bohrium
And recently flerovium and also livermorium
And nameless ones ununtrium and also ununpentium
placeholders ununseptium and also ununoctium
the first one in the next row would be known as ununennium
then patterned unbinilium and thus ad infinitium

Against the odds | Reviewer: Sam | 3/31/12

My friends bet me a fairly impressive sum (at school age anyway) to memorise this in a week. I did it in 4 days, and they never paid up. That was 8 years ago now, and I still remember 70% of it. True story.

A new verse I came up with | Reviewer: Blair Dale | 3/16/12

So since everyone knows the lyrics are a little outdated, I took it upon myself to write in the elements discovered since that time, and slot them in without changing any of Lehrer's work. I know it's nowhere near as clever as Lehrer's lyrics, but here is what I came up with:

Theres Hassium, Seaborgium, and also theres Darmstadium
Flerovium, and Dubnium, And also Rutherfordium
Lawrencium, and Bohrium, as well as Roentgenium
And also Livermorium, Copernicum, Meitnerium

I placed it right before "there's Sulfur, Californium,..."

too bad nobody will ever hear my hard work...

Wow! | Reviewer: Anonymous | 3/3/12

I never knew that there was "These are the only ones of which the news has come to Harvard,
And there may be many others, but they haven't been discovered." It is a surprise. Did YOU take the time to write this?



Amazing | Reviewer: Sophie | 2/19/12

I'm learning it to sing at school for my science project and I'm doing now very well I'm going to post me on youtube singing it if you want to see sometime look at lol7212 channel :) I think this is an amazing song to learn for school and find it funny how hardly no one knows about it :D

jgva8@netscape.net | Reviewer: gordon vatcher | 1/12/12

My son took our tape recorder with Lehrer's "Elements" to school and played it (against initial objections) for his Chemistry teacher. The teacher spent the rest of the day (it was a free day) trying to get everyone to listen to it.
A wonderful achievement
JGVatcher, M.D.

Ryou Edward's talent | Reviewer: Ryou Edward Gidron | 1/11/12

I'm actually really proud that I was able to memorize this song, cause now I feel like i'm a real smartypants in a good way, it's fun to brag about how talented i am with memorizing complicated stuff.

To Anonymous | Reviewer: Anonymous | 12/22/11

Are you kidding me?! My teacher is only giving extra credit to anyone who memorizes this AND recites it in front of the class!! Not to mention, we don't have till June, we have until February... -.-;

:) | Reviewer: Anonymous | 12/18/11

My teacher told us that if we memorize this he will give us an automatic 100% and he also said that he's been teaching science for 35 years and nobody has ever memorized it, its his last year so I have it memorized and I'm singing it for the class in June.


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    Current page No. 4/ 7