Reviews for Won't Get Fooled Again Lyrics

Performed by The Who

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    Current page No. 4/ 9
Add Your New Review About The Song

The Answer to the problem is not CHANGE | Reviewer: Big E | 2/7/10

Obviously the song is about the problems politicians tell us they are going to solve with their brand of CHANGE. The Who says the thing to do is ignore the politicians and "Get on my knees and pray".

Pete said it... | Reviewer: Mark Mays | 2/8/10

Pete Townsend himself called it the "dumbest song I ever wrote" because it denies the political responsibility of the individual. He no longer believes its message or its intended message, but acknowledges that it still rocks!

For our new President | Reviewer: Tom Mullen | 2/6/10

I hope that the band plays this at the Super Bowl in honor of our new president. He certainly is "same as the old boss," indeed. An unconscionalble warmonger, wealth-redistributor, and corporate stooge. I hope we (the citizens of the United States) do not get fooled again as we did him. At least with Bush we knew we were getting a blithering idiot.

Ironic | Reviewer: William Monahan | 1/23/10

I was reading Immanuel Kant's essay: "
Answer to the Question: What is Enlightenment"

And I thought of this song.
I hadn't heard it for so long, so I thought I'd google the lyrics, and came here.

Wow, it was just as I imagined - even more powerful than I imagined.

I had to chuckle at the comment made by the person who posted 11/08/09.
The very thing he criticized - he demonstrated.

"…you can compare anything with anything else if you think about it long enough … give the analytical shit a rest…"

But I think Immanuel Kant would have liked this song, and probably would have said "Right On".



the greatest political song ever wriiten as far as i know | Reviewer: schonky | 1/8/10

One of the greatest songs in the music history.The lyrics say that all.This song can be related to many aspects.The aspect can be an administration or government,or a revolution.The songs primarily says that "there may be many changes occuring in the adminstrations but they all are same at the end of the day and perhaps we dont get fooled again each and everytime there will be changes or everything may change but whats in the centre of my life will not change(family and wat we do) so the lyrics goes on like this "i will tip my hat and bow to the new constitution,I will smile and grin to change all around" but at the end of the day we will do the same thing as we did yesterday the line goes like this il pick up my guitar and play like yesterday" "im gonna bend on my knees and pray we dont get fooled again".Infact the first verse is terrific its about hypocricy what we say we dont follow the morals that we teach to children are destroyed by our own acts.and the lines goes like this "we are fightin on the street with the children at our feed and the morals beneath they worship are all gone these are my favourite parts of the song.

fs | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/8/09

lol at the guy comparing it to animal farm.... perhaps you should take more time to listen to the music than try to break it down into something that its just not..... You realise that you can compare anything with anything else if you think about it long enough

enjoy the bloody music folk an give the analytical shit a rest

We have met the enemy and he is we! | Reviewer: Anonymous | 10/18/09

Human nature will out. Reminds me most of the book Animal Farm. The revolution was warranted, the revolutionaries were true believers, and after the tyrants were run off...the new rulers turned out to be pigs. To quote another song of the old days, "The beat goes on." The lyricist says that the only answer is to cultivate your own little garden as best you can. We will get fooled again and again. Lah-dee-dah-dee-dee, la-dee-dah-dee-dah....
Aging hippie English teacher

Revolution! | Reviewer: Anonymous | 10/17/09

"This song is about what happens in all "revolutions." It's about idiots who think utopia is somehow an option.
--------------------------------------
I disagree with that. Russia needed a revolution because there was a monarquic goverment and Cuba also needed a revolution because it was invaded by the USA

Best Rock 'n Roll song ever written! | Reviewer: Cowcharge | 8/28/09

It is the best. I interpret it to mean don't bother with revolutionaries or "change", because despite the pretty speeches, they're all the same (as the latest bunch have proven, 50% approval rating and plunging, as soon as it hits 49%, that's the third fastest plunge since WW2, lol, and you thought Bush was bad, lol). This song is applicable to any administration I've ever seen, or probably will ever see. Anyway, forget politics and jam is what he's saying. I just hope Limp Bizkit doesn't butcher this one too.

what a song! | Reviewer: shooey | 7/31/09

unbelievable that u lot review this song in an 'in deep mode' it's such a well written, well produced and sung brilliantly,,,, just lose yourself in it rather than try and review it like the pretentious people u try to be.....

The song remains the same.... | Reviewer: Miguel | 7/11/09

Face it, the old boss and the new boss are one in the same. That's the only message of this song. No matter how much things seem to change, do they ever really get much different or are we just kidding ourselves.

For those Obama lovers out there with your mantra of "Change", join the club of fools. We still have wars, we still have poverty, we still have hunger, and we still have injustice. Welcome to the new world of Obama. Sure looks a hell of a lot like the old world of everyone else.

Oh no not the Kool-aid line again! | Reviewer: Sherri2012 | 6/5/09

Dear God, I thought I escaped that tired old Kool-aid stuff when I skipped over here from Newsvine!

It just keeps turning up like a bad penny, ad nauseum.....please all you cons, find something new to say!!

To the song: Great lyrics, really classic. Seems like no matter what changes a government goes through (including an actual revolution), a government is still a government is a government is a.....

Meet the old boss....same as the new boss.

Says it all!

it simple | Reviewer: Anonymous | 5/31/09

This song was about the radical political youth of the 60's. They were simply and often perjoratively called "rads". They were always trying to stir up shit with protests. Rock musicaians while they may have had political beleifs were not into radical activism. For the very reason mentioned in the song it always ends bad. All the Obama Kool aid drinkers should take note.

....and conservatives? | Reviewer: Plouis | 5/19/09

"This song is about what happens in all "revolutions." It's about idiots who think utopia is somehow an option. Then they get duped by power-hungry fascists like Stalin and Castro. BUT A STALIN COULDN'T EXIST WITHOUT A LENIN, AND A CASTRO COULD NOT EXIST WITHOUT A CHEZ GUERRA TO PAVE THE WAY.

You're already fooled again."

And just the same, those on the right were equally fooled, but they seem to enjoy it, even though it was the late, great Ronald Reagan who paved the way for that buffoon GWB.

dont be fooled for long. go your way or with the flow | Reviewer: Anonymous | 4/17/09

i think that 'wont get fooled again' means that you shouldn't bother with any revolution again. if the place doesn't fit you, take you staff and your family and move someplace else. the system is so strong that it has always been like this. the strong ruling the weak by any means of power, especially corruption and deceiving. for the strong, corruption and chaos is good for the economy and advancement. it has always been like this for ever. there is not enough room on the top of the pyramid. it's a long way to the top if you wanna rock and roll,acdc. So if you are smart enough you will go with the flow and follow the system or else you will be crashed like a roach.
you see, only the good die young and only evil seems to live for ever. this goes in all aspects of life, especially in the city. if you are good you get fucked.


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    Current page No. 4/ 9