Reviews for Won't Get Fooled Again Lyrics

Performed by The Who

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    Current page No. 4/ 9
Add Your New Review About The Song

The "new boss" is NOT the same as the "old boss." | Reviewer: Alex Kay | 3/5/10

If anything, Tom Mullen, I believe that this song is more applicable to the Tea Party movement.

President Obama voted against the Iraq war, my friend, so I would say that he, indeed, is NOT an "unconscionalble warmonger."

As for "corporate stooge," he publicly (in his State of the Nation address) admonished the Supreme Court's ruling in Citizens United. I'd say he is one of the few politicians willing to stand up to corporations these days.

And, as for "wealth-redistributor," my experience is that whenever anyone brings up this phrase or anything substantially similar, they always argue that taxes have been the highest they've been in years, etc. Well, your taxes are probably the lowest they've been -- even under Reagan. It seems that people these days don't want to pay taxes anymore, period. So, if you don't pay your taxes, then you can't have your socialist roads, fire departments, libraries, public schools, etc.

I become enraged when people blindly make allegations without so little as an argument to back them up, hence my stern tone. While I'm certainly no Obama cheerleader, I can certainly recognize that the man is trying.

The Tea Party movement, however... http://www.nytimes.com/2010/03/05/opinion/05brooks.html

Period piece | Reviewer: Anonymous | 2/22/10

I was already a Who fan when Won't Get Fooled Again came out in 1971. I was in college, very much wrapped up in the youth movement. The biggest unifying force of that generation was anti-war sentiment generated by the hated Vietnam war. It was generational. Adults overwhelmingly supported the war because their generation lived through the McCarthy trials in the early 60's that crucified anyone suspected of pro-communist sympathies. So, when Vietnam was framed as a fight against the communists of North Vietnam, they saw it as a moral imperative to fight against it. For my generation (intentional nod there to the Who's first hit), the Vietnam war was a disaster. Of course, it was our generation that was dying by the thousands fighting it. This political chasm set the stage for the nomination of such an extreme anti-war candidate, George McGovern, that he couldn't possibly win the election against the hated Richard Nixon. The constant dialogue among people of our generation was the imperative that the current administration had to be replaced with one radically different. Spokesmen for our generation's zeal to have a revolution became so extreme, that when Pete Townshend expressed his disgust for the naive belief that just having change was sufficient, it struck a chord. I saw the original Who perform this in 1972. What you can only get a small sense of from the recorded version is the rage, the fury, not just anger that the thunderous performance of this song, with Roger Daltrey's explosive scream of anger near the end, conveyed. It was stunning to watch. It was as if an army of Pete Townshends, Roger Daltreys, John Entwhistles and Keith Moons were screaming in rage "don't get fooled again, because the new boss, will be the same as the old boss." Whether you totally agreed with that or not, the experience of feeling the raw fury of that expressed very, very loudly (the Who were renowned as one of the loudest bands)left you stunned. It had the desired effect of making me ALWAYS question calls for change without a clear and convincing plan for what to replace the old way with. To this day the single most powerful musical experience ever.

The Answer to the problem is not CHANGE | Reviewer: Big E | 2/7/10

Obviously the song is about the problems politicians tell us they are going to solve with their brand of CHANGE. The Who says the thing to do is ignore the politicians and "Get on my knees and pray".

Pete said it... | Reviewer: Mark Mays | 2/8/10

Pete Townsend himself called it the "dumbest song I ever wrote" because it denies the political responsibility of the individual. He no longer believes its message or its intended message, but acknowledges that it still rocks!

For our new President | Reviewer: Tom Mullen | 2/6/10

I hope that the band plays this at the Super Bowl in honor of our new president. He certainly is "same as the old boss," indeed. An unconscionalble warmonger, wealth-redistributor, and corporate stooge. I hope we (the citizens of the United States) do not get fooled again as we did him. At least with Bush we knew we were getting a blithering idiot.

Ironic | Reviewer: William Monahan | 1/23/10

I was reading Immanuel Kant's essay: "
Answer to the Question: What is Enlightenment"

And I thought of this song.
I hadn't heard it for so long, so I thought I'd google the lyrics, and came here.

Wow, it was just as I imagined - even more powerful than I imagined.

I had to chuckle at the comment made by the person who posted 11/08/09.
The very thing he criticized - he demonstrated.

"…you can compare anything with anything else if you think about it long enough … give the analytical shit a rest…"

But I think Immanuel Kant would have liked this song, and probably would have said "Right On".



the greatest political song ever wriiten as far as i know | Reviewer: schonky | 1/8/10

One of the greatest songs in the music history.The lyrics say that all.This song can be related to many aspects.The aspect can be an administration or government,or a revolution.The songs primarily says that "there may be many changes occuring in the adminstrations but they all are same at the end of the day and perhaps we dont get fooled again each and everytime there will be changes or everything may change but whats in the centre of my life will not change(family and wat we do) so the lyrics goes on like this "i will tip my hat and bow to the new constitution,I will smile and grin to change all around" but at the end of the day we will do the same thing as we did yesterday the line goes like this il pick up my guitar and play like yesterday" "im gonna bend on my knees and pray we dont get fooled again".Infact the first verse is terrific its about hypocricy what we say we dont follow the morals that we teach to children are destroyed by our own acts.and the lines goes like this "we are fightin on the street with the children at our feed and the morals beneath they worship are all gone these are my favourite parts of the song.

fs | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/8/09

lol at the guy comparing it to animal farm.... perhaps you should take more time to listen to the music than try to break it down into something that its just not..... You realise that you can compare anything with anything else if you think about it long enough

enjoy the bloody music folk an give the analytical shit a rest

We have met the enemy and he is we! | Reviewer: Anonymous | 10/18/09

Human nature will out. Reminds me most of the book Animal Farm. The revolution was warranted, the revolutionaries were true believers, and after the tyrants were run off...the new rulers turned out to be pigs. To quote another song of the old days, "The beat goes on." The lyricist says that the only answer is to cultivate your own little garden as best you can. We will get fooled again and again. Lah-dee-dah-dee-dee, la-dee-dah-dee-dah....
Aging hippie English teacher

Revolution! | Reviewer: Anonymous | 10/17/09

"This song is about what happens in all "revolutions." It's about idiots who think utopia is somehow an option.
--------------------------------------
I disagree with that. Russia needed a revolution because there was a monarquic goverment and Cuba also needed a revolution because it was invaded by the USA

Best Rock 'n Roll song ever written! | Reviewer: Cowcharge | 8/28/09

It is the best. I interpret it to mean don't bother with revolutionaries or "change", because despite the pretty speeches, they're all the same (as the latest bunch have proven, 50% approval rating and plunging, as soon as it hits 49%, that's the third fastest plunge since WW2, lol, and you thought Bush was bad, lol). This song is applicable to any administration I've ever seen, or probably will ever see. Anyway, forget politics and jam is what he's saying. I just hope Limp Bizkit doesn't butcher this one too.

what a song! | Reviewer: shooey | 7/31/09

unbelievable that u lot review this song in an 'in deep mode' it's such a well written, well produced and sung brilliantly,,,, just lose yourself in it rather than try and review it like the pretentious people u try to be.....

The song remains the same.... | Reviewer: Miguel | 7/11/09

Face it, the old boss and the new boss are one in the same. That's the only message of this song. No matter how much things seem to change, do they ever really get much different or are we just kidding ourselves.

For those Obama lovers out there with your mantra of "Change", join the club of fools. We still have wars, we still have poverty, we still have hunger, and we still have injustice. Welcome to the new world of Obama. Sure looks a hell of a lot like the old world of everyone else.

Oh no not the Kool-aid line again! | Reviewer: Sherri2012 | 6/5/09

Dear God, I thought I escaped that tired old Kool-aid stuff when I skipped over here from Newsvine!

It just keeps turning up like a bad penny, ad nauseum.....please all you cons, find something new to say!!

To the song: Great lyrics, really classic. Seems like no matter what changes a government goes through (including an actual revolution), a government is still a government is a government is a.....

Meet the old boss....same as the new boss.

Says it all!

it simple | Reviewer: Anonymous | 5/31/09

This song was about the radical political youth of the 60's. They were simply and often perjoratively called "rads". They were always trying to stir up shit with protests. Rock musicaians while they may have had political beleifs were not into radical activism. For the very reason mentioned in the song it always ends bad. All the Obama Kool aid drinkers should take note.


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    Current page No. 4/ 9