Amazing | Reviewer: Anonymous | 4/7/13

I think that, in addition to being about suicide, it specifically refers to suicide from overdosing on heroin.
"When you laugh about people who feel so
Very lonely
Their only desire is to die" refers to the sense of invulnerability that many musicians feel, even as they have seen other people die of overdosing on heroin

"It was dark as I drove the point home
And on cold leather seats
Well, it suddenly struck me
I just might die with a smile on my
Face after all"
The point refers to the syringe, and the smile on his face refers to the effects of heroin on the body.

These two verses, combined with the trailing off and repetition towards the end of the song give the impression of someone slipping into a heroin-induced coma.

"doesn't make me smile " | Reviewer: MM | 2/15/13

This song makes me feel like nothing else can. I have never felt as happy, sad, mesmerized, and pained as the moment when I first heard those drums kick in. This beautiful song has taught me, among other things, to accept and embrace the inevitability of my death

the smiths n the last laugh | Reviewer: Anonymous | 9/13/12

I cant express how much I feel about the smiths n their music bit when I first heard them 5 years ago (yes - just 5) I thought my ears were born again n my soul found it's musical niche. And that's it really. Love Caroline x x x

greatest | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/13/09

typically brilliant music and lyrics. I always felt the song was about someone commiting suicide in the car. on hearing it now I still think that, but like many of Moz's lyrics can have many meanings. the bass on this song is awesome.

Z1 | Reviewer: Z | 8/10/08

One of the greatest Songs alive (In my opinion.. The first time I heard this song i literally blust in tears, The Smiths was a beautiful.. Beautiful. band. Just look at these woderful songs and lyrics- Asleep, I am a human, Nowhere fast, Meat is Murder. This really was outrageous back in 80's

Excellent | Reviewer: Catherine. G | 9/12/06

The Smiths were an amazing band. There songs will live forever and this song is certainly one of them.

Moz we love you!
Cat xxxx

Typical and great song | Reviewer: Juff | 9/1/06

The way Smiths put their text and songtitle allwais surprices me, not the content but the way it is sang. I really like the bass in this song.