Reviews for All These Things That I've Done Lyrics

Performed by The Killers

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    Current page No. 1/ 4
Add Your New Review About The Song

Soldier does not equal solder | Reviewer: Please read a book | 8/23/13

In response to a review high up on the page (ABC 4/4/11).... You say that "he must be saying soldier as to melt two pieces of metal together" or some such nonsense.

The word soldier refers (as a noun) to an individual in the military or one wih similar attributes, and as a verb it can mean perservere. The other word you refer to has no i in it. It is solder, and its pronunciation rhymes with "fodder" - the l l in solder is silent.

It is irresponsible to publicly deconstruct language without a basic understanding of it.

What? Come on.... | Reviewer: Killer AMC | 7/5/12

I think the song is about someone who thinks they are a piece of shit and who want's help from god or anyone who will help... maybe oversimplifying but that's what it seems like to me... the person is getting older and realizing they are frustrating people by disappointing them and in turn himself too...

through my venes | Reviewer: Anonymous | 8/18/11

This song is one of my absolut favorite songs of all times. When I am trubbled, or stressed, I put on this song on a very high volume And feel it clean out all the bad from me.(if you understand what I mean?:-) This is the kind of song that makes you wanna do something remarkable and amazing.... It is just awsome...

You all got it wrong | Reviewer: ABC | 4/4/11

theres no u in "soldier" so he cant be saying soldier
what is saying is "ive got sole but im not a solder", i.e. one with the ability to connect peices of metal by melting them into each other. he's applying the property that metals melt to rubber (his sole) and yet says he doesnt have the raw energy to melt the rubber of his sole back onto his shoe ("dont put me on the back burn-er-her-her").
The song in its entirety is Brandon Flowers' cry out to tell the world how pathetic he thinks he is and how low his self esteem has sunk ("you know you gotta help me out" and other obvious quotes)
Instead of being a man and instead of trying to get back on track he reflects his self-pity onto everyone else ("youre gonna bring yourself down")
it all boils down to "i got sole but im not a solder"- he knows that as a person he has the power be successful yet he doesnt think he can reach success because he's not a "solder" and everyone is putting hm on the "back burner."
he ends off with "if you can hold on" which his his temporary solution to replace his sole without actually soldering it to his shoe- thus being successful without actually achieving anything real- which is inherently lying to himself
YES, i KNOW this interpretation is way off, dont bother posting it
The song actually in reality means nothing st all
but that doesnt make it any less of an awesome song

Love | Reviewer: Clare | 3/17/11

Becca - I totally agree with you..people have different views of song lyrics... to me it stuck out because my relationship is on the rocks. Not saying this song is about that.. It just stuck out to me that way...and also the scene from the video where he walks in with lipstick on his face and his girlfriend slaps him..and he's in the shower saying she needs to help him out and not put him on the back burner.




"If you can hold on If you can hold on, hold on " - Sometimes I feel like letting go but I keep on holding on.

"wanna stand up, I wanna let go
You know, you know - no you don't, you don't" - Sometimes I try to tell him that I want to be able to do things I want to do without upsetting him and he trys to act as if he knows and he understands...but he doesn't know the half of it.

"I wanna shine on in the hearts of men
I wanna mean it from the back of my broken hand" - Like you I don't want to be forgotten, I haunt seen any of my friends in the longest time because he feels as if they're no good for me.

"Another head aches, another heart breaks
I am so much older than I can take." - There are so many times where we argue and someones feelings get hurt. I also feel as if Im older than I really am...and that just makes him look so immature to me.

"And my affection, well it comes and goes
I need direction to perfection" - Being made to feel like a fool makes me not even want to be around him sometimes..and I wish that maybe id find a person who would treat me right..but I need direction to find him..

"Help me out
Yeah, you know you got to help me out
Yeah, oh don't you put me on the back burner" - Its like I have to take care of everything and when I forget to do something its a problem..I wish he would help me out. Also lately he hasn't been giving me much attention I feel as though he keeps putting me on the back burner and paying attention to other things.


whatever it means to you. | Reviewer: becca | 2/18/11

this song to me is not about god or war. its simply about my struggles. i relate it to my own life.
"i wanna stand up, i wanna let go"- i want to be recognized and break out of my shell and not have a care in the world.

"you know, you know. no you dont you dont"- people say they understand me but they have no idea.

"i want to shine on in the hearts of man, i wanna mean it from the back of my broken hand."- i'm about to graduate highschool and i want people to remember me. i want to mean everything i do.

"another head aches, another heart breaks. i'm so much older than i can take."- i'm being hurt and my heart is breaking. i feel so much older than what i really am because of my expieriences.

"i need direction to perfection... help me out.. dont you put me on the back burner"-its to my mother because i feel like she abandoned me after my dad moved out. now that im about to graduate i need direction to perfect my life. i need her to help me but she seems to not even care.

"these changes aint changing me. the gold-hearted boy i used to be."- my life has changed so much over these last few years and is about to change even more. but ill always be the same old girl ive always been.

"ive got soul but i'm not a soldier"- i have so much passion and soul inside of me but im not as strong as i would like to be.

i love this song so much. it helped me through my teenage years. i can feel the passion in brandons voice when he sings it and its so beautiful to me. but i personally think the purpose of this song or any song at that is for the listener to relate it to their own life. it makes music so much more personal.
"time, truth, and hearts."

Agreeing with everyone ... | Reviewer: Kendra | 11/27/10

Too many conflicts in this world involve "right" and "wrong" beliefs. In my opinion, by saying "I've got soul but I'm not a soldier," the singer is saying that just because he has his own beliefs and values (his own "soul"), it does not mean that he will not accept other beliefs or force his own beliefs upon others ("but I'm not a soldier").

Does it really "mean" anything?? | Reviewer: Anonymous | 9/24/10

When I first heard this song it just sounded like noise with some random (if rather clever word-play) lyrics. That's ok - it's just not my taste. I'm not a Killers fan but the line "I got soul but I'm not a soldier" stuck in my head and I looked it up.

Earlier in the year I went to see Bill Bailey live. He did a hilarious take-off of this song and had the whole audience singing "I got ham but I'm not a hamster".

Perhaps the lyrics aren't supposed to mean something specific - the skill of good writing is that it can mean what the reader/listener desires. Some will conclude from this review that I am a Killers-hating Philistine with no taste. Others may agree with me. Others may feel I'm wrong to have a laugh at the expense of something that fans may find moving/meaningful.

The fact is, I'm here, writing this. The song had the power to make all of us think and take time to write posts here, even those who don't particularly like it or see meaning in it. THAT is why it is worthy of respect.

religious? | Reviewer: Anonymous | 9/21/10

"Hannah" Okay first off someone is giving his or her heart felt opinion. Who are you to make fun or mock it? I understand everyone has there right to state your opinion about something but not to mock it. And while you say "always" not every christian, muslim, buddhist or catholic pushes there religion on you. Me myself I am christian and if i say it directs to God then let it be so says The Beatles. Its all opinion and for you to judge religion is really vulgar.

is it realy about god | Reviewer: hannah | 6/23/10

why is it that people who are religious always seem to try and connect EVERYTHING to 'god' thats the problem with religion, it clouds your judgement. who knows if its realy about any of these things, from the perspective of someone who actually writes songs i beleive that its more about whats in your head at the precice moment rather than whats going on in the world and most of the time to be honest its mainly about what sounds good and flows well, it doesnt always have to have some hidden meaning you know. open your eyes and stop consantly forcing your religious nonsence onto everyone else.

I'm persuaded.... | Reviewer: Sniggles | 6/14/10

Well everyone has some pretty good arguments. I can see how it could be about a number of those things (God, war, or as one person said, just about someone struggling.)
However, being a religious person I am seeing a lot of the God connection but that could just be how my mind works. The one line that I never really thought about until now is:

"When there's nowhere else to run, is there room for one more son?" which made me think of the Prodigal Son, a parable told by Jesus about a son who has done his father wrong and when he returns home his father greets him with love and is just so happy that his son is back that he forgives him instantly.

Not saying this means the whole song is about religion. I can see how it could just be about one person struggling with life in general but that line could have been influenced by that parable. Just maybe. :)

I never thought of that before | Reviewer: Rudy | 3/2/10

It's by God about people -- that is something I never thought of before. From what you posted it makes alot of sense. That is exactly how people are. They find themselves in tough spot and then to turn to God to help them find away out and then when the problem is resolved they go back to their lives as if nothing has happend. I always enjoy reading peoples interpertations of the Killers lyrics.

I really wish we knew what the they intended the lyrics to mean!

well Niels Ingel | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/19/09

part of art is the ability for people to take different interpretations of it. If you find that it means something to you no one has the right to say your wrong. Likewise, somebody else might find something about religion, antiwar, etc. and they are entitled to it so when people fight about the "true meaning" of a song its just kind of funny. The artist might have had an idea when writing it, but it changes for each person. That's all im saying.

It is what it is. | Reviewer: Niels Ingel | 6/15/09

Ppl are looking too far when they say it's about anti-war and god, religieus...etc...

If you just listen to the song, you notice the feeling he puts in it is that he finds himself lost, lost hope. Needs help to get back on track. And despite that, there's still hope, he still is who he is, wanting to do good for ppl." These changes ain't changing me, the goldhearted boy I used to be" and " shine on in the hearts of men "

:) it's just about someone with the best intentions who lost his track for now and needs help to get back on track.

I don't think it's supposed to give it a more concrete interpretation like " anti-war" or "religieus"

It's by God about people | Reviewer: Tim | 6/1/09

It’s a song written from the perspective of God speaking about people who only pray when they need something. It is a sarcastic reminder that people are happy in their daily lives and don’t think for a moment about God until they are in trouble. Then they pray to God: just help me out with this one thing and I promise I’ll be good…I’ll be your son.

“When there’s no where else to run, is there room for one more son”
Opening line stating God’s perspective: People pray when they are screwed (no where else to run). People pray that God will see them and they will become the perfect son if only God will help them.

I wanna stand up, I wanna let go, You know, you know - no you don't, you don't
God saying: “I want to walk away from the world” – I want to let go, you have no idea

“Another head aches, another heart breaks”
These are the prayers God is hearing. Someone asking for relief of a head ache, someone asking for help in a relationship

“I am so much older than I can take”
God is saying I’m old and I tire of hearing these people continually praying for help and forgiveness then turning their backs as soon as the situation is resolved.

“And my affection, well it comes and goes”
God saying I answer some people’s prayers but not others

“I need direction to perfection, no no no no”
Could mean a number of things. Ex. God saying I need direction, or could mean people asking God for direction then as soon as they are ok, they say no no nevermind I don’t need you.

“Yeah, you know you got to help me out”
A little sarcasm about the prayers God hears – come on help me out with this one please come on, don’t ignore me, don’t put me on the backburner. I really need this pleeeaasse help me out you got to.


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    Current page No. 1/ 4