Reviews for American Woman Lyrics

Performed by The Guess Who

By Pages:   1    2    3    Current page No. 3/ 3
Add Your New Review About The Song

great song! | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/1/07

Im from India and iv grown up listening to this song and it probably was one of the first songs i learnt to play on the guitar bcoz of its constant riff(a great one!!)Im a musician and i think this is one of the gr8 songs to be written musically and lyrically...the guitar solo is simple but hauntingly beautiful with well chosen notes!..and yes,it is about America imposing its culture and views on the rest of the world...it just tells america to ''leave the rest of us alone and take care of your own issues''

Bye Bye American Woman | Reviewer: lennilenape | 11/1/07

The real American woman is long gone replaced by an artifically embellished body, face, and hair.

Neurotic, emotional, un-educated and child-like.

Materialistic and shallow.

Sweet | Reviewer: Anonymous | 10/11/07

I love this song. Yeah, may not be about a woman, maybe an insult, think but you wish. But I love this song, I sing it when I'm really really bored at boring places. Id you think this song is horrible, then, well, good for you. Don't look up the lyrics :)

guess what guess who | Reviewer: rob - I was there | 10/7/07

American woman was one of the core anti US establishment songs at the time of the Vietnam war, the woman was a metaphore for the statue of liberty which is the external symbol of the US, show a chinaman a picture of Liberty and theyll say USA. Any dork who thinks the song is about females is wrong.

its about american...not american women | Reviewer: isabel | 9/30/07

the Guess Who are a Canadian band and Canada has always felt that America forces their culture on everyone else (which is 100% true)...the song is just saying that the american culture needs to stay in america...im an american women and other american women who have issues with this song are a disgrace to this country...the song is a fucking metaphore, retards

its not about women, its about american culture | Reviewer: Dave | 9/16/07

If you think the song is an insult to women, you're missing the point. It is about the seduction of the the world by the american government, media, and culture. "...don't need your war machines, ghetto scenes, colored lights..."

I am an American Woman. | Reviewer: Erica Thomas | 9/17/07



This song obviously is about getting away from the american woman... The question is why??? Maybe people really understand the women make a country. Even the Spartan looked to his queen for confirmation. (300) maybe others look at the American Woman as a beautiful, seductive, hore. One that will drag you down with her. -The great temptation to run from. The writer implies he can see through her to the war machines and ghetto scenes, -go sparkle someone else’s eyes!

To think this song is old too. And how much more appropriate are some of these lines. Men need to make sure they are conferring with the right woman and her wisdom. And/Or maybe the men in this country are viewed as wimps led around by their ding dong and the writer doesn't want to be enslaved like the little man.

I am an American Woman. | Reviewer: Erica Thomas | 9/17/07

This song obviouslt is about getting away from the american woman... The question is why??? Maybe people really understand the women make a country. Even the Spartan looked to his queen for confirmation. (300) Maybe others look at the American Woman as a beautiful, seductive, hore. One that will drag you down with her. The great temtation to run from. The writer implies he can see through her to the war machines and ghetto scenes, -go sparkle someone elses eyes!

To think this song is old too. And how much more appropiate are some of these lines. Men need to makle sure they are conferring with the right woman and her wisdom. And/Or maybe the men in this country are viewed as wimps led around by thier ding dong and the writer doesn't want to be enslaved like the liitle man.

about the guess who | Reviewer: Randy Rogers | 8/29/07

I cant believe that anyone would have anything negative to say about these artists the music they brought to the people has stood the test of time from the powerful vocals to the lead guitar they were simply flawless if todays music were half as good as the guess who i would easily be able to tolerate it.

what? | Reviewer: Kelly | 8/28/07

I'm not sure why people think this song is so offensive to women. They're basically saying that they don't want a particular woman (American, in this case) hanging around bothering them. So what? I don't want certain guys hanging out bothering me-what's the difference? People need to stop looking for a fight.

:( | Reviewer: Susan | 8/21/07

i think this song is horrible. sure it has some good guitar solos, but don't let that distract you from what there actually saying! i mean, its an insult to all american women

Amazing! | Reviewer: Anonymous | 3/27/07

I always get this song stuck in my head. It's a great song with some sick guitar. :)

One of my top ten!!!! | Reviewer: Riley Dawson | 9/14/06

I think this song is awesome! You guys are the best!! I love your guitar work in this song and I am hoping to learn it on guitar. Keep rockin' !!!!!

Your Fan, Riley Dawson


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    Current page No. 3/ 3