the real reason | Reviewer: Anonymous | 4/25/11

This basically refers to the time of the cold and Vietnam wars when America tried to get Canada to adapt nuclear missles and join. When the singer refers to the American Woman, it is America.

"Don't com hangin' around my door
I don't wanna see your face nomore
I got more important things to do
then spendin my time growin old with you"

This is basically saying that Canada has its own troubles that they have to deal with and they don't need to get into some wars over opinion with the US

"I don't need your war machine" - nuclear weapons

"I don't need your ghetto scenes" - the after math of the explosives

"colored lights can hypnotize" - explosions of the bombs

"sparkle someone esle's eyes" - basically piss off and bother someone else lol

American Woman | Reviewer: American Princess | 9/15/10

Maybe it's not about anything in particular, we were all pretty high back then. I'm not going to over-analyze it like some. I just remember us girls really liked this song and would sing along at the top of our lungs, and yes a good protest song.

sharp | Reviewer: Recck | 1/21/10

I would like to describe myself as an simple, homely & independent person. enjoy reading books, listening music, would love to travel across the world. Honest And Loyal. But I Never Get The Return From Others. I Like To Stay At Home With Family. At Weekends I Also Remains With Family. That's Where I Needs A Life Partner. You Could Be From Any Region . E-mail: Rwrussia@yahoo.com.

american woman review | Reviewer: spencer | 8/13/09

i may not be the best for this but i all was thought that the American Woman song was really good but it's weird that the first time i heard it it was in an info marshal and i really liked it it was good and i would give it a 8.5 because it was good but could be improved but still great to listen to thanks for reading

Statue of Liberty | Reviewer: Storm | 8/5/09

In 1969 the U.S. govt. rejected the Guess Who's applications for visas to tour the states. At that time, Spiro Agnew was raising a hissy-fit about how underground publications & rock muzik were corrupting the minds, hearts, & souls of white middle-class amerikan youth & causing them to...think for themselves. The Guess Who were always quite outspoken about u.s. foreign policy-esp. Viet Nam & military-industrial imperialism. It was an act of censorship & a violation of 1sdt Amendment. The "American Woman" is the Statue of Liberty.

Burton Cummings was 1 hell of a poet-& the Guess Who was way more political than they are commonly given credit for.

I cant understand. | Reviewer: Junior | 7/20/09

I can't understand how you guys don't notice what the song really is about.

If you even know how true American Women are. The ones that get pregnant and act crazy.

Then you would know every line goes with how this song is written.

NO OFFENSE TO AMERICAN WOMEN. But you guys nag, you're needy, you're the way the song says you are.

And before you go and say im racist or w/e.

My wife is american and we have a daughter.

how this song came a boot. :) | Reviewer: Canadee_Dan | 6/18/09

Choo Amercian (as Tony Montana would say)
a little research goes a long way. Stop speculating on assumptions and read people read... now : look: Listen and : Learn...

Randy Bachman explained the origins of this song in an interview with Words & Music magazine, Spring 2005. Said Bachman: "We were playing in a curling rink in Kitchener, Ontario (Canada), and I broke a string. I was up there alone, tuning up my E an B strings on an old Les Paul. I started playing that riff and in the audience, heads started turning. The band got up, and I said, 'Keep playing this, I don't want to forget it.' When Burton had run out of solos, I yelled out, 'Sing something!' So out of the blue Burton just screamed, 'American Woman, stay away from me!' That was the song, the riff and Burton yelling that line over and over. Later, he added other lines like 'I don't need your war machine, you ghetto scenes.' Before America knew it, it was a #1 record and it was a protest song."

Temptress as metaphor for America | Reviewer: idjit | 4/13/09

If the damn song's about a woman then what in the hell does 'war machine' have to do with a woman? Eisenhower even called the USA "war machines" the "military industrial complex", and any IDIOT can see the woman is the temptress--with her "coloured lights..." and "...lights sparkle someone else's eyes..." is America and the author isn't talking about women, I don't care what he says. War machine, come on, people wake up, what other theme for this could be possible than that of a woman or temptress as metaphor for the flashy, tempting, cheap, materialistic, soul-grinding, soul-selling whore that is America? Also, Howl, by Allen Ginsberg talks of Mighty Moloch, which is yet another metaphor on America. People were hip back then, and read that kind of stuff avidly. Whether the author admits it or not, that's the kind of stuff that was on his Canadian mind at the time. War protest song, no, not really. Protest about American imperialism and materialistic attitudes at any cost, yes, really. This song was a sad precursor of the state of the American Union, today. Read it, (as it is) and weep, Americans. Oh, btw, I'm a born/raised American myself, but that doesn't preclude me from seeing the truth about this nation.

The Real Reason I heard. | Reviewer: Anonymous | 3/7/09

Apparently, from an interview with Cummings, he said that he was tuning his guitar, broke the strings, and had to get some new ones. He said that he then conitnued to tune and it was the riff of the song. He just started doing that and the crowd thought it was him playing his new song. That's how I heard it start. (I was watching a documentary channel)

I'm an American woman & proud of it | Reviewer: BH Gal | 9/2/08

An Iranian [notice I didn't write "Persian"] man dedicate that to me because I wasn't submissive enough for him. I told him that the song is about America, not American women. It's about our country's involvement everywhere in the world. He then complained that American women don't know how to comply with men's orders. I wished him luck in finding such a woman! haha

The REAL answer to 'American Woman' | Reviewer: Robbie | 1/17/08

Here's a quote from a Jim Kale interview, The Guess Who bass player who co-wrote 'American Woman'.

"It started as a jam," said Kale. "We were playing in Ontario after being on the road in the States, trying to solidify our hold in the American marketplace with 'These Eyes.' We were playing a two-set situation, and for one reason or another we were late getting back onstage for the second set. In order to dispel the ominous air that was hanging over the place -- as we raced on the stage, one by one we picked up on just this simple rhythm. Cummings came up, ad-libbed some lyrics, and it worked. We recorded it just like that. It was an accident -- completely spontaneous. 'American Woman' was also controversial. The popular misconception was that it was a chauvinistic tune, which was anything but the case. The fact was, we came from a very strait-laced, conservative, laid-back country, and all of a sudden, there we were in Chicago, Detroit, New York -- all these horrendously large places with their big city problems. After that one particularly grinding tour, it was just a real treat to go home and see the girls we had grown up with. Also, the war was going on, and that was terribly unpopular. We didn't have a draft system in Canada, and we were grateful for that. A lot of people called in anti-American, but it wasn't really. We weren't anti-anything. John Lennon once said that the meanings of all songs come after they are recorded. Someone else has to interpret them."


To Quote John Lenon | Reviewer: Anna Bouillon | 12/27/07

John lennon once said the interpretation of a song comes after it is written someone has to interpret it that would be us the listener. Just like when you read a poem a long with a thousand other people you have a thousand different opinions about the meaning of the poem. From what I've read about the song it sounds like it was quickly written however in the back of his mind there might have been some opinions about america that wound up being reflected in the song. Who knows what it means. This song is just like American pie it's true meaning will forever be debated.

to quote John Lennon | Reviewer: Anna | 12/28/07

John Lennon once said " the meaning of all songs come after they are recorded." Just like when we read poems along with a thousand other people you will get a thousand different opinions about the meaning of the song. From what I've read about the song it sounds like it was written rather quickly. However, that does not mean that the issues of the decade couldn't have been in the back of his mind while he was writting the song and had some sort of influence on the song. He may have just been homesick, do you realize how different Canada is from America? Maybe they just missed their homeland. Anyway this song is like the song American Pie it's meaning will be debated for years to come. Another thing I've come to learn as a writer as well as an avid reader is that sometimes the writer doesn't want to be taken seriously he just wants to get you thinking.

its a canadian song | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/26/07

this song is about canada and the states folks, plain and simple. its a canadian band singing

I don’t need your war machines
I don’t need your ghetto scenes
Coloured lights can hypnotize
Sparkle someone else’s eyes

it has nothing to do with the status of women, vietnam, or the movie 300. well maybe a little to do with vietnam.

WHAT THE SONG IS ABOUT!! =P | Reviewer: Apple | 11/10/07

AMERICAN WOMAN WAS NOT A WAR RELATED SONG!! HE MADE UP THE LYRICS WHEN HE WAS DRINKING AT A BAR!! ><'' I am 14 and even I know that! T_T And if you want to know how I know, it's because I was listening to an interview with him one day where he said that.