Reviews for The End Lyrics

Performed by The Doors

By Pages:   1    2    Current page No. 2/ 2
Add Your New Review About The Song

the real deal | Reviewer: peter goesinya | 7/4/09

In 1961 or maybe 62 Jim and I were in my VW bus going to a festival in Zepherhills, FL durring a break from school. We scored some heavy hitting tabs that put us way of course. I believe we ended up in sarasota. Durring the ride we stoped at a fill station to fuel up and Jim had to use the toilet. He got back in my VW and said he had just droped a "snake" that was "7 miles" long. He was sure that "the end" was near for him because he felt it was impossible to have a BM that large without dying from it. He was tripping his ass off and the only way I could chill him out was this blue rock candy I had in the glove box from the fill station. This is where the "blue rock" lyric came from. The king's high way part is because as we traveled down what turned out to be 75 south, we were the only ones on it for almost 2 hours and it made him feel like a king. He could do anything he wanted on it. Since we had no idea where we were at, Jim named it "the kings highway" anyway, we hung together for another year or so and parted ways. I hope this clears it up for you guys and gals. I miss him dearly.
Peter

Suggested by a love | Reviewer: Anonymous | 7/1/09

I'd never heard of this song before, but my then ex-boyfriend suggested that I listen to it and I fell in love with it. Like he said, it is extremely poetic and the words are hitting me in such a way that no song ever has. I wish you could find songs like this now a days. I'm really touched by this.

"This is the end
you gentle friend <- yeah, how 'bout "beautiful friend"
This is the end
My only friend, the end
Of our elaborate plans, the end
Of everything that stands, the end
No safety or surprise, the end
I’ll never look into your eyes
Again"

And to my love...I hope that this is not true for us.

Psychadelic masterpiece from the sixties | Reviewer: Ronald | 3/27/09

The End by the Doors is examplatory for the sixties era and according to me the greatest song from that decade. An unique psychadelic masterpiece that can take you to a higher state of mind. Jim Morrison was a great poet and the Doors one of the best bands we ever had on this planet. If you like this song, I also recommend 'When the music is over' from the Strange Days album. Peace.

Wisdom | Reviewer: Nimue | 3/2/09

The symbolism of the snake is a quest for spiritual knowledge. The snake is the symbol of wisdom in many cultures, new and old. This is true of the Native American beliefs that Morrison was so entranced by. The color blue is a sacred color, part of the three most important things in the Shaman way- Sky, Earth and Fire thus the blue bus, The blue bus is a vehicle, like the snake, toward wisdoms. The 'Killer' part was Morrison speaking of breaking away, disconnecting from his family (remember he told people they were dead but they were very much alive), they were the past he wanted to forget, the sacrifice of the old Morrison to achieve the new, more spiritual one.

great song from a great album | Reviewer: Steve | 2/13/09

I first heard "The End" when I visited an embassy family in New Delhi in 1967 while I was in the Peace Corps. I was so impressed with the whole album. The family was kind enough to let me play it over and over again. Now 42 years later (could it be that long) I just listened to the whole thing again for maybe the 2000th time (last time was maybe 10 years ago) and it is still as good as ever. The only album that compares is the Sgt Peppers album which I also heard for the first time in India.

Blondie | Reviewer: Anonymous | 3/21/08

@Roger, cool thing and a nice interpretation of the song. Now you really made we wanna go to L.A. But it's a long bike-ride from Holland ;)

The song's great, everytime I hear it I slumber away into an endless glide through my subconscious, altering my state of mind for at least a few minutes!

The End - LA | Reviewer: Roger | 11/24/07

If you are really interested in Morrison, read Jim Morrison Life, Death, Legend. It's the real deal. It was written after everybody important was dead. He was an abused sensitive child who was a genius at abosolutely nothing important. You can't understand the song without living in LA. The King's Highway is the Camino Real that goes to Santa Monica which is at the beach, at the end of the ancient lake (the Pacific). The Blue Bus takes you to Santa Monica, to the End

Acid Trip In The Dessert | Reviewer: Jared | 10/26/07

Jim made this song when he was on acid in the dessert.. he imagined a tomb and got lost inside of it... he aslo rode a snake through the desset :P

In the end | Reviewer: Lady Led | 10/3/07

Jim Morrison was trying to convey a certain feeling in that song and I felt it. He touched at least one person. I can feel the fight for freedom that he put into that song.

Check this: | Reviewer: Daniel | 9/8/07

The spoken-word section of the song includes the lines "Father/ Yes son?/ I want to kill you/ Mother, I want to...fuck you," (with the last two words screamed unintelligibly). This is often considered a reference to Sophocles' Oedipus the King, a production of which Jim Morrison worked on while at Florida State University.

Said Morrison in 1969, "Everytime I hear that song, it means something else to me. It could be goodbye to a kind of childhood." Morrison had also said that the song is an inside trip, and that "kill the father" means destroying everything hierarchical, controlling, and restrictive in one's psyche, while "fuck the mother" means embracing everything that is expansive, flowing, and alive in the psyche. This interpretation of his own lyrics recalls to us Morrison's lifelong passion for freedom. He may have been influenced by the Jungian concepts of individuation and archetypes, and was certainly influenced by Friedrich Nietzsche's concept of going beyond the limited types of human beings that have so far existed by loving Dionysian vitality and life ("the mother") while rejecting Apollonian systems and traditions ("the father").

Structurally, the song rises to three separate mini-crescendoes separated by slower sections of half-spoken, half-sung lyrics before building to an enormous psychedelic crescendo right after Jim Morrison sings the "meet me at the back of the blue bus" verse. Previously, the song had been weaving along on its melodies to an encounter with the ruling powers of the mind, the controlling "father" structure and the longed-for "mother", or freedom. The final crescendo represents an attempt to break through to that freedom. Just afterward, "The End" departs on a wistful note when Morrison sings, "It hurts to set you free, but you'll never follow me. The end of laughter and soft lies, the end of nights we tried to die." In the context of Morrison's first interpretation quoted above, this lyric and the associated music that softly reiterates themes from the opening may mean that the comfort of childhood will be sacrificed for freedom.
...........................................................................

M.. | Reviewer: mary | 7/20/07

''The End'' is one of my favourite songs. people should listen to it and then ''Vinus un Furs'' by The Velvet Underground.

the end | Reviewer: Anonymous | 4/17/07

lost in a broken wilderness of pain

The End is very good | Reviewer: Anonymous | 1/25/06

I really like this song, hypnotic in areas, the lyrics are great too. Another thing to note is that this song was used in the film Apocalypse Now to good effect.


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    Current page No. 2/ 2