Revenge...fantastic | Reviewer: Tara | 12/24/10

It was so well done, and so authentic sounding I actually thought it was a real sea ballad merely updated and recorded by these guys..... the air of authenticity is remarkable and once the tune is in your head you cannot get rid of it!!!

lol, something of a change from Disney's "Ill tellya lads its a whale of tale...."




Wow dis awesome | Reviewer: random person | 4/8/10

Looking at the lyrics this is really deep yet scary revenge song. I like the darkness of the song it kinda just sets the scene of madding sadness. Um, this song is just one of those I'd listen to when I'm thinking pessimisticly



mr.magorium | Reviewer: Anonymous | 1/16/10

This is a shining example of what full talent in both music and songwriting can produce. Very good. Epic. Amazing. Great. It's one of those songs that you can't stop listening to and the lyrics give you chills.



The Rime of the Ancient Mariner... | Reviewer: Valence | 1/7/10

Excellent tune. The band knows how to captivate an audience, that's for sure.
But of course, they must; for the unknowing the song was influenced by Samuel Taylor Coleridge's epic poem of sorts 'The Rime of the Ancient Mariner'.
The Decemberists' spin on the concept is great, and the instruments used (mandolin, tuba, guitar, accordion) are all expertly played.
Just a great example of quality art all around.



Squeeee!!! | Reviewer: I Love The Decemberists | 1/2/09

The first time I heard this song was when it was performed live at the end of their concert. When everyone was eaten by the whale the whole band ('cept for John, cuz no one could see him behind the drums anyway *little tear* ) lay down on the floor and played their instruments on their stomachs! Soooo great. <3



Eerily Amazing | Reviewer: Kalina | 7/30/08

This song is so eerie and beautiful but in a sad way. I love it though, from the first time I heard it. It gives me goose bumps every time. I've never heard anything by the Decemberists before, but I'm open to it...especially since I'm hooked on this song!



The Story | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/8/07

The story is compelling, and it is done in true edge of your seat story-telliing style. The guy's voice is also very excellent, sounds like a common man who has spent his life searching for the captain. All in all, an excellent song by an excellent band.



Storytelling At It's Finest | Reviewer: Anonymous | 10/31/07

Absolutely fantastic storytelling. Keeps you on the edge of your seat waiting for the next line even after the first listen. Another brilliant song by The Decemberists.



Far Beyond Average.. | Reviewer: Thom | 10/19/07

I don't think He wrote this song... at least in it's entirety. hmmmm I flipp'n love it though



Awesome song | Reviewer: Anonymous | 9/17/07

the first time i heard this song i thought it was weird but then i heard the lyrics and this song is very sensitive i love it :D