Reviews for London Calling Lyrics

Performed by The Clash

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    Current page No. 2/ 4
Add Your New Review About The Song

Nuclear error and more | Reviewer: Chuck | 5/29/09

I too am fortunate enough to still have all my vinyl and the precious info packaged with the jacket - I so miss those! Just wanted to confirm nuclear error, but also, alluding to London in WWII, radio signal for news was at top of the dial and London sent out the air raid sirens that could be heard in the small towns. Remember your history classes, the details are spelled out in lyrics such as come out of your cupboards. Why I came here and put this post now- Werewolves of London, released by Warren Zevon a year previous, 1978, is homaged with the werewolf cries during the middle eighth of London Calling. Cool trivia for younger people exploring past music and that song in particular because of Kid Rock's sampling of Werewolves in his current Sweet Home rip off hit. At least it has kids checking out the real thing and that's sweet.

great band | Reviewer: dave | 3/6/09

i had heard of clash quite a while ago but never really listened to them properly and though they wasn't my kind of think , oh how wrong i was this song is amazing and the lyrics are pefect im only 19 but i can relate totally to this song , i love the clash one of my most fav bands ever these type of bands wipe the floor with any of the latest new bands ! can't beat some good old rock !

oh where the times have gone | Reviewer: Ashley | 1/23/09

oh where the times have gone

Sheez I miss those good ol' times..... any ways I still love this song eventhough I did listen more to the blend of awesome sounds and vocals, now that I listen to the lyrics more(and of course understood them), I pay attention to the WHOLE song, I miss Joe, was a cool dude <333 R.I.P

oh where the times have gone | Reviewer: Ashley | 1/23/09

Sheez I miss those good ol' times..... any ways I still love this song eventhough I did listen more to the blend of awesome sounds and vocals, now that I listen to the lyrics more(and of course understood them), I pay attention to the WHOLE song, I miss Joe, was a cool dude <333 R.I.P

Well written, well sang, but... | Reviewer: Anonymous | 8/15/08

I do not think this is the Clash's best song mostly because the album, London Calling features waaaaay too many good songs for this to be the best. This song is amazingly popular due to the fact that it's the title track and London Calling was released as the only single in the UK from the album. I think Hateful,Clampdown, or Guns Of Brixton are better.

With Out A Doubt, One Of The Best Rock Songs Ever Written | Reviewer: A Boston Fan | 5/18/08

Here in America this song was never truly appreciated. Most people did not grasp the jist of its meaning It is a testament to the social consciousness of those times.

Joe Strummer is absolutely brilliant.

This is for Coral | Reviewer: rootsrockrebel | 4/16/08

You are on a quest to find out what that ever allusive lyric is: "Error" or "Era"? Hey, Winston Smith, Doesn't anybody have access to vinyls anymore? They came with printed lyric sheets. If you really wanted to know, Sherlock UK, contact your local Clash Enthusiast/Collector. Anyway, you may have been born JUST yesterday, but at-least you were born with an ear for good rock & roll. So YOU GO "British-Ness" GIRL. At-girl I imagine you as a girl.

This is for Coral | Reviewer: Anonymous | 4/16/08

You are on a quest to find out what that ever allusive lyric is: "Error" or "Era"? Hey, Winston Smith, Doesn't anybody have access to vinyls anymore? They came with printed lyric sheets. If you really wanted to know, Sherlock UK, contact your local Clash Enthusiast/Collector. Anyway, you may have been born JUST yesterday, but at-least you were born with an ear for good rock & roll. So YOU GO "British-Ness" GIRL.

Hidden message on vinyl... | Reviewer: surrender | 1/17/08

I bought this album back in the day. I was twenty-one. Forever changed my life. Been fired from every job (graphic designer/corporate) I ever had. Because my integrity and sense of TRUTH got in the way of their agenda (the clampdown).
.Anyone who owns the vinyl "London Calling" album, check the blank space on your vinyls....

There is a hidden message...

perfection. | Reviewer: Coral | 1/6/08

I heard this song years ago, when I was young. I liked the music; the bass line, the rolling drums, Stummers’ howls. I didn’t really care about the lyrics. Recently, I’ve actually listened to the music AND the lyrics, and I think this song is brilliant.
This song is excellently written. The lyrics and the music go so perfectly together. I think the bass line of the song makes it. It's so hard to capture an abstract idea with music, but they have done it. It sounds like a revolution, or an Armageddon, and when you hear it you think of London and “British ness”, while still retaining their ska/reggae undertones. Perfection. It’s one of the best songs ever written.
I think some people have taken “phoney beatlemania” a bit too seriously. My opinion is that after the hysteria surrounding the Beatles, and similar groups from the 60’s died down, people wanted something else to focus on, and they looked to the Clash, and punk, to replace the previous groups, as a sort of “clashmania”. Strummer was having none of it.
Also, I’m pretty sure the word is “error”. If you listen, the word is in this line:

A nuclear ..., but I have no fear

Strummer definitely says “error”. If the word was “era”, he would have pronounced it “ee-ra”, to rhyme with fear. I don’t know much about people’s accents, and if some people pronounce “era” as “error”, but here we pronounce “era” ee-ra”, and error “e-ra”.

Nuclear ERROR | Reviewer: Steve | 12/10/07

The Three Mile Island Nuclear accident took place on March 28th, 1979...this is what Joe Strummer was referring to in the song...if he were still alive he would confirm that fact.

R.I.P Joe

Basically... | Reviewer: Jonny Vaughan | 11/28/07

As far as I know, th words 'London Calling' are taken from radio broadcasts made during WW2 to the world and the rest of the UK.
I reckon it's nuclear 'era' because it makes slightly more sense than nuclear error in that context.

And to anyone believing that they are superior and wish that everybody else didn't know about this song... I can sort of see where you're coming from but there's no need to be such a dirty great bollocks about it.
It does annoy me when people say they're a huge Clash fan when that's the only song they know, which does happen... On the other hand, London Calling is the song that got me into the Clash in the first place, it got my attention. Now I've got the discography and love pretty much everything on there.

Don't be a dick.

brave new world | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/18/07

this is probably the best punk tune ever written. absolutely quintessential really.

i had to put in a couple of cents worth after reading the first page of comments.

this song is about mass mind control and manipulation of the masses by a single authority. the title lyric/chorus "london calling" is a metaphor for the power of the throne of England and it's propaganda having an overwhelming influence of the entire planet. what the queen says goes...just about everywhere...whether you're aware of it or not. and the powerful would prefer you to not be aware. the chorus as a whole is basically saying that power likes to tell the people to be afraid, be very afraid...

it is also pointing out the fact that throughout history, up until the present day, power and authority have used what has become known as the hegellian dialectic of problem-reaction-solution or thesis-antithesis-synthesis to manipulate the masses to "move" in desired directions as a "culture"... ie, government sponsored terrorism upon it's own citizenry, false flag military ops, poisoning of wells, molding a school system...that sort of thing... hitler burning the reichstag and then blaming it on his enemies and thereby sparking WW2 is a good example.....there are too many to count really.

it's interesting that at the time of the writing of this song that the hysteria over global warming was still 15 years in the future yet at that time "london" was "calling" the world and saying that an ice age was coming...just as loudly as al gore is today complaining about the _other_end_ of the thermometer... btw, i vote democrat...when i do.

the lyric "i live by the river" is a reference to the "the city of london" proper where all the buildings are named after egyptian gods...where tavistock institute is. google that. please.

i could go on but i'm bored...and pretty sure that you are too.

The Real London Calling | Reviewer: meeeka | 11/8/07

At an interview with The Clash , they said the song was about how much better England was than any other place at the time. It has nothing to do with the counter culture..or pop music. Although the Clash were oposed to that bubble gum fluff.

One of the Most Influential Songs of All Time | Reviewer: Joe | 10/27/07

This song was the Smells Like Teen Spirit of punk rock. This song got this genre to extreme popularity. It's lyrical content speaks to an even greater volume. It literally describes how Britan felt during the Cold War. They were stuck in the middle of it.

The Phony Beatlemania part probably means something about commercialization, and early punk rockers were against that. Newsflash: The Beatles were pop-rock. The nuclear era/error (It's a commonly misinterperted lyric, though I lean towards era) means something about the cold war.


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    Current page No. 2/ 4