Reviews for Within You Without You Lyrics

Performed by The Beatles

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    Current page No. 3/ 4
Add Your New Review About The Song

The Secret | Reviewer: Laurie | 10/23/07

"As above, so below. As within, so without."
-The Emerald Table, circa 3000 BC.

I love it, it's a beautiful song.

read between the lines! | Reviewer: sophie | 9/29/07

i think that you're all reading it to it too much.
The fact that your arguing about the orientation of the song totally defeats the purpose of the song itself...this song is about harmony of yourself and others...aka..who cares where its from. the construction, the meaning, everything about it's brilliant!

read between the lines! | Reviewer: sophie | 9/29/07

i think that you're all reading it to it too much.
The fact that your arguing about the orientation of the song totally defeats the purpose of the song itself...this song is about harmony of yourself and others...aka..who cares where its from. its fucking brilliant.

Beautiful Song | Reviewer: Anonymous | 9/20/07

These are some of the best lyrics I have ever heard in a song, and they flow so smoothly and perfectly with the rest of the song. It's hard to find words to describe it.

Wow. | Reviewer: Papaya | 9/15/07

The lyrics to this song are some of my favorite Beatles material, along with those from I Am The Walrus. On "Love", the album is placed so that the end of this song fades slowly in Lucy In The Sky With diamonds. And it totally rocks.

the best song of sargent Peppers | Reviewer: Annalu | 8/15/07

i think this song is the best of the album, the lyrics are amazing. i'm a huge fan of the beatles and of George as a solo artist, and i have to say that this song moves me and is so great that almost makes me cry.

great! | Reviewer: jay | 7/28/07

jim. you're spot on there. This song has alot of references to hindu ideas such as the idea of Mayu and Dharma and reincarnation.

jay | Reviewer: Anonymous | 7/17/07

How incredibly smart are those lyrics? This was written when the beatles began to go to India to speak with gurus and seek ways of enlightment without the use of psychedelic drugs.George seemed to get more into that the rest of the beatles.

Within You Without You | Reviewer: Lena | 6/21/07

What's with all this classical Indian crap? I don't think he was trying to demonstrate the Indian culture with this song... maybe he was just trying to make a beautiful song that wasn't so... the same(and that he did).

I love Indian music, and I love the Beatles.

The fusion of the Indian music and the Beatles vibe is different from the usual Beatles songs and different from classical Indian music.

You can't put both of them together and expect it to sound completely like either one.

This song is amazing. | Reviewer: Anonymous | 5/27/07

I've read the previous review by the person who says he is Indian, and then goes on to criticize this song in comparison to classical Indian music. The only thing I have to say to that person is, can't you see the value of this song? It completely embodies classical Indian all the while merging it with the Western culture at the time. Personally I love Indian classical music, and this particular song is my absolute favorite because of it's many different dimensions.
Hey, you other Indian - stop being closed minded to Western influence. This song is absolutely beautiful.

Patti Smith | Reviewer: Anonymous | 5/21/07

I just ran across a cover of Within You Without You by Patti Smith. Her take on the song is sad and introverted. Patti's version helped me understand another perspective on the amazing poetry of the piece. Check it out, it's worth the purchase off itunes.

blessings, Pilo Bueno

Wow | Reviewer: Eden | 5/13/07

Ive only recently gotten into the Beatles and at first i thought they were just amazing musically, but the more i listen, the more i come to see how great and poetic their lyrics can be

Broadening Horizons | Reviewer: Mattski | 4/30/07

I think that this song really broadened a lot of people's horizons. Remember, this came out in the mid 1960s; if it hadn't been for George, a lot of people (myself included) would never have been exposed to the beauty and complexity of Indian music mentioned by Tanul. Ravi Shankar was popular, true, but I have to wonder at how popular he would have been if the Beatles hadn't traveled to India.

George, always my favorite of the Beatles, really opened a lot of doors for people in a lot of ways, but this song was the first to really do so.

Personally, because I was first introduced to Indian music by way of THIS song, I researched Middle Eastern music, Japanese music, African music, and so on. As a result, I have a much broader appreciation for various cultures than I would have otherwise.

Mattski

Not First Exposure | Reviewer: Bill Graves | 4/11/07

I must humbly, slightly disagree with Peter. We actually got a glimpse into George's eastern leanings on Revolver, especially Love You To. And we first heard the sitar on Norwegian wood, though that was rather westernized.

One of the best Beatles song | Reviewer: Tanul | 3/25/07

I am an Indian. I have heard quite a many songs richer in music in India. I mean to say that this song is not in the level of what the legendary musicians of our country have produced. Even George himself have admitted this.
But I have to admit that I have loved listening to this song as muh as I do listening to our classicals. A very good song.


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    Current page No. 3/ 4