to all who dispise the beatles, esp. Anonymous | Reviewer: Anonymous | 6/4/10

Look you lowlife losers!!!! STOP HATING ON THE BEATLES!!! seriously get a life. you don't know good music, so shut up and hold your little "opinnioins" (which are worthless by the way) to your self. no one cares. oh by the way, look for a deeper maning to the songs, "i get high with a little help from my friends" doesn't necisarily have to mean pot. its called metaphors you ignorant pompas. use them.

First song I loved.. | Reviewer: Anonymous | 4/5/10

Heard it while I was watching Sgt. Peppers lonely hearts club band.. and watching Peter Frampton sang this song.. I fell in love with it. To this day I am reminded of how I loved my childhood.
It is about friends.. whatever the rumors and or truth about the drug content of these lyrics.. i don't care.. i have loved this song... and the beatles are great for composing and producing such good music!! :) Much Love. :)

=D | Reviewer: Anonymous | 3/21/10

Ringo was brilliant in this song.
When I sang this at school everyone laughed when I said the word "high". It was very embarassing.
"Billlllllllyyyyyyy Sheaaaaaaarrrrrrrrsssssss!"
--> sometimes misheard as "give me cheese".

eh...? | Reviewer: Anonymous | 3/1/10

well, damn people, it's a song... and true, there are many drug references in the beatles' songs, but look at the song as a whole, it's not about getting high, it's about getting high WITH YOUR FRIENDS... and cassie crabbe, true, PARTS of the movie are set in britain, but the majority is in the US. and the reason they talk so much about the beatles is prolly 'cause the only music used is by the beatles, so that kind of has to influence the movie in a heavy way...

WTF? | Reviewer: Anonymous | 2/12/10

I've got an idea how about instead of fighting over who knows more about the beatles how about you enjoy there music like it was intended to, music should never be put under the microscope because every single person will feel a different feeling towards one song and all of them are the right feelings so stfu and enjoy the utter brilliance of the beatles

mhmm | Reviewer: sam | 1/26/10

well well well. although The Beatles obviously experimented with drugs (LSD, Marijuana etc.) they did it to improve there music mostly. So you people who are saying this is about Pot are WRONG. even the people who say " I Am the Walrus" is about Drugs are wrong also. you see unlike the Americans a the time the Beatles were about improving their music some times by using LSD or pot

Music is art, people | Reviewer: zachsolo@hotmail.com | 1/25/10

There are no rights or wrongs here. Music is a form of art for any individual to interpret any way they want to. Music is all about how a song speaks to someone and it's going to speak to someone in their own way. Far be it our place to say "No, you're wrong and stupid for interpreting the song in that way". If that's how they interpret it, that's what the song was saying to them in their own personal way.

What the?!? | Reviewer: Anonymous | 1/19/10

Yes! I love the beatles
who the he'll said that the beatles were a myth :S yes of course there a myth and i just rode a unicorn to school :) theres some real freakin idiots out there
lol no offense :D

Across the universe is set in England.... | Reviewer: Cassie crabbe | 8/13/09

All you need is love babys :) I could go on forever. So I'll just keep it simple. Stay true see ya!

Ps . Watch the commentary on the movie :) they talk about the beatles the WHOLE time :) as well as Janis, Jimmy, and a few others :)) it's fun

First off | Reviewer: Zacharias | 7/16/09

This song is definitly about the importance of friendship within the band. Lennon/McCarteny wrote this song for Ringo's limited vocal range. Notice they help him out with many harmonies throughout the chorus'. For example, in a prechorus Lennon/McCartney sing "do you need anybody?" and Ringo replies "I need somebody to love" hints with a little help from my friends" and yes all the Beatles were smoking alot of Weed at this time("I get high with a little help from my friends"). alot of Beatles songs (especially the 67' 70' era) whe're "Odes to Pot" as Paul likes to refer to them as. Also alot of them are also LSD(Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds) influenced as well. No secrets here though. and if you disagree you are in denial.

I think the line your thinking of from "lucy in the sky" is "plastacine porters and looking glass ties" I personally think this song has something to do with the simularities of your imagination while on LSD, compared to a childs vibrant imagination. Hints the verses being about an LSD trip, then the refrence to his Son's drawing in the chorus.

The Beatles created the most influential, well tailored Music made since Beethoven. John Lennon was the closest thing to Peace this world has ever seen. "So give peace a chance"

So There: | Reviewer: Anonymous | 7/9/09

Personally, I feel this song is about pot. Firstly, the line: "I get high with a little help from my friends" is a hint on the joint side. Also, has it ever struck anybody that the song is really whacked? Not as whacked as I Am The Walrus (which was obviously written while they were on LSD or something of that nature) or Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds (the story of the picture is just a cover-up - it's really about the hallucinations drawn through LSD. I mean, what do looking glass trees have to do with a girl from kindergarten?)

Also, please do not insult the beauty of Across The Universe. It is an accurate presentation of the lifestyle in the 60s and it was never meant to be about the Beatles. If it were, it would be set in England, for one.

Well... | Reviewer: Yes Indeed | 6/16/09

To whoever said this song was about drugs, I think you're a moron. I'm pretty sure the song was about how they need friends to get by in life, and how important friends really are. Also, Across The Universe was a good movie, and it wasn't supposed to be about the Beatles anyway.

Ringo's Friends | Reviewer: J | 6/10/09

Hey Kenneth, if you're trying to imply that Ringo Starr wrote the song by saying "drugs were Ringo's friends", you are absolutely wrong and might as well stop thinking you know all about The Beatles. If you really were "Beatle" smart, you would know that Lennon and McCartney wrote the song.

The Mysterious Introductory Words | Reviewer: Roarie B | 5/21/09

Ok, so I saw some discussion about what the Beatles are saying in the beginning of this song. Some people said they thought it was "Billie Jean" and some other people thought it was "Give my cheese." I guess you guys haven't listened to the whole album through, because if you do then it will all make sense. See, that line is the "introducer" who is introducing Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band announcing the singer "Billy Shears". So if you listen, he is saying "Billy Shears". I know, it can be a hard line to decipher though so I'm not trying to criticize anyone who didn' t know this, just filling you guys in. It goes with the end of the 1st song on the album (the title track), where the introducer interrupts the band saying "I don't really want to stop the show / But I thought you might like to know / That the singer's gonna sing a song / And he wants you all to sing along / So let me introduce to you / The one and only Billy Shears / Of Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band. Then you hear "Billlllly Sheeaaars" and the song "Billy Shears" sings is, of course, "With A Little Help From My Friends." :D

um... | Reviewer: sam | 4/19/09

Ok, a few things. First, Across the Universe was just about the dumbest movie I have ever seen. It is still competing in my head with Twilight for that high-ranking title, although Twilight was dumb becuase it ruined the book. But it was also hilarious because of its dumbness, so I think maybe Across the Universe wins. Across the Universe was not even about the Beatles, so it is not even worth discussing. As far as I am concerned, anyway.

Next, everybody knows the Beatles were on drugs for the majority of the time. Despite popular belief, they were also on drugs in the beginning, too, not just Sargeant Pepper. That does not mean they were not astounding musicians. They are my favourite band. And I was not even around to ever see them live.

So why are we even fighting over the message of this song? I personally think that even though the Beatles might have been on drugs when they wrote and performed it, that does not mean it has to be about drugs. I think it is more about getting along with your friends and making do with what you have. Live your life and don't try to be someone else. It never works.