what paul said.. | Reviewer: panos | 12/2/08

"...I was writing about someone like Maharishi. His detractors called him a fool. Because of his giggle he wasn't taken too seriously ... "

there you go, thats the meaning. people like to judge people who appear different or even just happier than they are, purely because they refuse to believe that finding happiness could be normal or that being different could ever be a good thing. of course the maharishi turned out to be a scam artist but the philosophies he taught and the religion he backed was very solid and actually influenced Paul and George especially very heavily. It's why Paul is still a vegetarian to this day.

Shape | Reviewer: Paul | 9/14/08

i think that the fool is just a figure where you can put all the persons that match with the descriptions of being a misunderstood person,and nobody sees the real deal behind this one. You can call it like you want because its related to what you have seen in your life.The beatles give us a shape and we fill the content inside.. great ssong!!
(sorry for my bad english)

Cristo Redentor "Christ the Redeemer" | Reviewer: Anonymous | 8/16/08

It was not until the band "Brazil 66" did their rendition of this song that I realized the corrolation between it and the Crist statue which overlooks Rio de Janeiro. It is taken only from the perspective of secular man -- completely devoid of any religious understanding -- and therefore makes a fine portrait of those who reject the teachings of Christ, having reduced Him to a motionless statue, completely out of reach and out of touch.

the fool | Reviewer: skillet | 8/13/08

sees the sun going down
and the eyes in his head
see the world spinning round.

reference to knowledge

^^^^the fool, in other words, the outcast because he is too intelligent, enlightened, different...
whatever.

in my opinion, the song is about religious knowledge, knowing the working of things, knowing the answer- waiting for change, the "fools" to catch up. round and round and round we go.

poor fool | Reviewer: Bailey Minney | 3/28/08

i always thought this song was kinda sad because there's this person is all alone living on a hill and nobody wants to learn to like him. especially the line "and he never listens to them, he knows that they're the fool"

Haha | Reviewer: Ally | 2/25/08

Okay anyone who actually seen the Magical Mystery Tour all know that Paul is hella high in this video. To me it seems its just a song about a guy who is just hella high enjoying his world. So people may see him as a fool because hes high but he sees them as the fool because they arent.

Stop over analyzing it. haha

smoke a j then tell me im wrong. haha

what it means to me | Reviewer: Alicia | 12/27/07

The fool is a person who is seeing the big picture. No one wants to listen to him since he can't understand the little irritations in life that they are concerned with.
Or he is a man that has risen above the world and isn't concerned with life like the other people are. I'm pretty sure this song was written while thinking about a religious mysticism since I know the Beatles were into that later in their career.

I know who this song reminds me of | Reviewer: Tiffany Penn | 11/20/07

my boyfriend......If you listen to the song it describes a man who is misunderstood and he has a big outlook on life and doesn't really care what people think. My boyfriend gets stared at daily. he looks different but if they actually took the time to talk to him they would realize how much he can be your friend. he is very smart and can help you out by all the stuff he knows. so he's a little quarky and keeps to himself. he rocks........i love this song by the way

Story of my life. | Reviewer: Anthony | 11/11/07

This song is my life in a nutshell.
People don't seem to realize we are a young race.
we pretend we know,
(of all the creatures I've met, of all the bizzarro aliens, Humans are the strangest. we invented skepticism. that doesn't exist, in other places)
yet here we are saying people are nutcases to say stuff that sounds crazy to them.

Story of my life. | Reviewer: Anthony | 11/11/07

story of my life.
People don't seem to realize we are a young race.
we pretend we know,
(of all the creatures I've met, of all the bizzarro aliens, Humans are the strangest. we invented skepticism. that doesn't exist, in other places)
yet here we are saying people are nutcases to say stuff that sounds crazy to them.

it reminds me... | Reviewer: thebench | 10/22/07

this sond really reminds me of school. people who are "popular" tend look at everyone else as "fools" and those people all know that they arent the fool. love this song

fool | Reviewer: nobody | 10/20/07

this song reminds me of a boy at my school everyone thinks he is a fool but really they all are the have no clue how smart he is and only i no

Baudelaire | Reviewer: Noé | 10/11/07

Baudelaire:
L'ALBATROS

Souvent, pour s'amuser, les hommes d'équipage
Prennent des albatros, vastes oiseaux des mers,
Qui suivent, indolents compagnons de voyage,
Le navire glissant sur les gouffres amers.
A peine les ont-ils déposés sur les planches,
Que ces rois de l'azur, maladroits et honteux,
Laissent piteusement leurs grandes ailes blanches
Comme des avirons traîner à côté d'eux.

Ce voyageur ailé, comme il est gauche et veule!
Lui, naguère si beau, qu'il est comique et laid!
L'un agace son bec avec un brûle-gueule,
L'autre mime, en boitant, l'infirme qui volait!

Le Poète est semblable au prince des nuées
Qui hante la tempête et se rit de l'archer;
Exilé sur le sol au milieu des huées,
Ses ailes de géant l'empêchent de marcher.

I asked Paul... | Reviewer: Anonymous | 10/10/07

The song is about President Lyndon Johnson in 1967. The "Hill" is Washington D.C....etc...etc...

And the point is? | Reviewer: Ferndale Eagle | 10/7/07

Look, does it matter what it means? NO! Paul wrote something that had meaning at a point in his life or it didn't. Words and music stem from the heart. Everything is realitive to the writer. If it fits in our lives fine, we tend to make things fit. The truth is he wrote it for himself.