Re: Maria | Reviewer: Lois | 4/3/10

I totally agree with you. I am sure that people thought of Jesus as a fool but he himself knows that they themselves are the fools. The only thing that does not fit in is the foolish grin, unless if they mean it more of a wistful smile.

Meaning | Reviewer: anonymous | 4/1/10

I think the fool is a man re-thinking life, the world, etc. and nobody accepts his idea(s), thinking that his perception is wrong, but the fool ignores them and continues to ponder existence itself. In short, he's a philosopher who's ideals are dejected by others.

Just my Two Cents... | Reviewer: Marty | 3/5/10

A great song, no matter what the interpretation that people place on it. Maybe that's art or beauty for you? "it's in the eye of the beholder".

Anyway, IMNSHO, the fool is actually something of a genius... being able to determine the cause (world spinning 'round) from the observation (sun going down). Some may also see that as analogous to a disbelief of creationism. i.e. the Universe may not actually be centred around the Earth.

Sorry flat-earthists, but if The Beatles say "it's round" then "it IS ROUND". Live with it. LOL :D

thousand voices | Reviewer: KL | 1/26/10

This sad song is about collective madness of the public. There is a lot of talk no one really listens to, because there is no one to listen. Hence the public equals to a fool on the hill, where its not clear if hes the fool or 'people' that believe him to be so.

I love this song! | Reviewer: BeatleLover | 1/18/10

People judge people without really knowing them and those are the real fools! This is what this song is about and i love it. Dont listen to people who make fun of you because they are wrong and just be confident!

Peace&Love

The Song's Meaning | Reviewer: JCLover | 12/3/09

This is a deep song. To me, the "Fool" represents your typical outsider. You know, the person who everyone makes fun of and ostracizes for being different. And the line that speaks to me, "he never listens to them, he knows that they're the fools." The fool is very smart for not listening to these people, if they want to judge without knowing him, it's their loss.

Fool on the Hill | Reviewer: jbdverdi | 11/22/09

Yes I agree this is the statue of Christ overlooking Rio on Corcovado. Also the Brazilian Bossanova song "A Day in The Life of a Fool" from Black Orpheus in the early 60s written by Luiz Bonfa may have influenced "A Day in the Life" as well. Just something to think about.

In response to Maria. | Reviewer: Maxwell(and yes i was named after the song) | 10/1/09

Maria, why do you have to put that kind of spin on it? For that matter why do people put say what any song means? The beauty of music is that it multiple meanings. Why don't we all just keep what it means to us to just that, ourselves. If you say something about the song, just say that you like it! thankyou.

wrong, wrong, wrong | Reviewer: Prudence | 5/8/09

Arkida, how could the song have been released in the 1990's to the remaining Beatles if the song was on Magical Mystery tour? It was a Paul song.. Paul wrote it, Paul sung it... wow, I am amazed at the ignorance...

this' john lennon's song, not paul mccartney | Reviewer: arkida sendy | 5/4/09

Hey, Cloélie Roy! this song is not created by paul, but solely by john. it has released when john was died. yoko gave this song to paul, george, & ringgo back in 1990's. the three have heared it (this song was played by john with his guitar) and they've cried. then they completed it so it'd been a completed song. it belongs to john, not paul.

My interpretation | Reviewer: Maria | 3/20/09


I find this song very God like....The so called "Fool" on the Hill is humble and he doesn't need any validation from the outside world 'cause he is confident in his thoughts and in his doings...

The true Fools are the people around him with limited knowledge of the "internal truth" and who have poor, misguided perceptions of what is going on around them.

My interpretation | Reviewer: Maria | 3/20/09


I find this song very God like....The so called "Fool" on the Hill is humble and he doesn't need any validation from the outside world 'cause he is confident in his thoughts and in his doings...

The true Fools are the people around him with limited knowledge of the "eternal truth" and who have poor, misguided perceptions of what is going on around them.

Yeah! | Reviewer: Cloélie Roy | 2/24/09

This song rocks! I love the Beatles!It's so full of sense! Paul's my model,he's just perfect! "And the eyes in his head sees the world spinning round"... Sooo beautiful. For the ones who liked it, I suggest you try the song "Calico skies" and "Mull of Kintyre".

Could be the fool in the tarot | Reviewer: Anonymous | 1/25/09

Someone once told me that ther fool on the hill was the Fool in the Tarot. It is the most powerful card in the Tarot. Its value is zero, signifying nothing or everything (eternity and all wisdom, he can jump or he can soar. He has total choice.

Paul is dead | Reviewer: kaela | 1/12/09

My dad and i were just reading the lyrics and thinking about the infamous "Paul is dead" rumor! we were like, "the man of 1000 voices" is God, but no one hears him because, well, HES GOD! and the world is spinning and the sun is setting because he's dying!! Hahahaha!!!