Reviews for Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da Lyrics

Performed by The Beatles

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    Current page No. 2/ 5
Add Your New Review About The Song

Molly slang | Reviewer: Seattle | 6/14/12

Molly is very old slang for a gay man. With that said, it seems at least possible that the song could involve gay or transgendered folk...or maybe just drag queens. In fact, when a man puts on 'drag' it is proper etiquette to refer to him as a her. So when Desmond does his pretty face...he is a she, at least in some circles. And most of us know from tv and movies (or clubs, for that matter) when a drag queen gets done up, it's not to stay home. It is to go out, be boisterous, and perhaps perform!
Just a thought...

best ever? | Reviewer: Mr.29 | 1/18/12

A while ago a person took a blind poll from about 50 of us in a chatroom about what we thought was the Beatle's best recorded song. I was the only one to list Ob-La-Di as my personal favorite! When others asked why I chose that...I told them that whenever I hear that piano rearing up I just can't sit still...it's too lively a tune. And it is very catchy....it entertains and isn't that what a song is supposed to do? Others congratulated me for seeing that and choosing this song and many wanted to change their choice to mine!

doubt there's a mistake in the lyrics | Reviewer: Anonymous | 12/9/11

Desmond does his face (not her face). He's not a girl, but a boy.
And in the evening she's a singer with the band ('she' refers to molly, not desmond). There's no mistake
I love the beatles. The best band of all time

Life Goes On.. | Reviewer: (: | 11/11/11

OMG-.- there is no deep meaning in this song... Ob-la-di Ob-la-da is just a saying of a tribe called yoruba and it means "Life goes on". Not a drug or any of that (:

THE BEATLES <3 THE BEST BAND EVEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEER

Version | Reviewer: Felipe | 7/29/11

I am from Brazil, here a few years ago, a politician paid someone make a version of this song with changed lyrics(off course) for him to use in his campaign. It was a good one, they used to play near my office all day long. The guy was elected.

Ob La Di | Reviewer: Anonymous | 7/7/11

If you believe the conspiracy theory that the real Paul McCartney died in a car crash in 1966 and was replaced by a double, then this song is about the fake Paul taking over the real Paul's Life. Desmond is the 'new' Paul; Molly is Linda McCartney, (the singer in the band - and in Wings)

Desmond does his pretty face refers to the plastic surgery Will Campbell (phony McCartney) received to look like Paul.

Desmond buys the ring for Molly because "Paul" bought a ring for Linda after she discovered the truth and threatened to out him.

the title 'life goes on' says it all, i suppose, if you believe that kind of thing.

Who knows what's true, great song regardless. All in good fun.

This song is life | Reviewer: mimi | 6/23/11

this song is the epitome of life! life goes on! that's all; stuff happens and life goes on! there are no library books one can borrow that explains the meaning of life, but this song is it! life goes on; apparently this song was voted by the British as the worst song ever! I so disagree!

the real meaning | Reviewer: Anonymous | 3/1/11

People, this song is about an ideal world where 1.people take drugs and get high all the time 2.homosexual couples get married and adope kids. You guys think Beatles will tell you the real meaning of this one? Don't be silly.

mem | Reviewer: Anonymous | 2/7/11

there was a review earlier about why try to find meaning to the songs etc..... there is no meaning to it but always have thought that obladioblada was some kind of drug because they say it on the last line and they pretty much giggle & laugh like they are high throughout the song! listen again. Also another point on the song the other 3 hated it! Paul wanted it as a single & the other 3 were dead against it. The song was not even done at the speed you hear it. John walked out of the studio while recording the song but when out rushed back & said this is how it should be done and proceeded to play the first piano riff the way you here it on the record. In fact i think that thats what is recorded, john playing the first bit. Look it up its fascinating this song.

reminds me of my dad | Reviewer: larry | 12/19/10

My dad was crazy about the beatles! He always used to play their cds when I was growing up. He died six years ago, and it sounds cheesy but every time I hear a beatles song I always feel like he's with me. GO BEATLES! ob-la-di, ob-la-da!

To the writer of the Gender Mix Up comment. | Reviewer: Alissa | 3/25/10

That was a mistake but the Beatles liked it so they left it in.



Man, I'm a loser, it's my birthday and I'm writing comments for weirdos. When I say weirdos I don't mean the Beatles, because they are awesome.

Gender Mix-up | Reviewer: Anonymous | 3/22/10

I don't understand.... The first time, it says Desmond lets the children lend a hand...
Molly stays at home and does her pretty face...
And in the evening she still sings it with the band...
then the second
Molly lets the children lend a hand...
Desmond stays at home and does his pretty face...
And in the evening she's a singer with the band...
Ob-la-di, ob-la-da, life goes on, brah!...
Lala how the life goes on...
Ob-la-di, ob-la-da, life goes on, brah!...
Lala how the life goes on.
Its says molly stays home and shes in the band but then it says desmond stays home and she is in a band.... is Desmond a GIRL????

Molly... | Reviewer: Timothy S. | 12/29/09

"Molly" is a name not commonly used now days. I had the honor to name my daughter Mollie (now 5), and I just listened a little closer to this Beatles song awhile ago...and heard her name! The name Mollie is also used in the movie, "Ghost" with Demi Moore and Patrick Swayze. I don't believe we will ever see another band quite like The Beatles.

Forever Beatles | Reviewer: Maddy | 12/29/09

My parents didn't really get me into the Beatles. I got into the Beatles myself, by looking through my father's CD and records of bands from the 60's-90's. I'm glad I found the Beatles. They wrote/made amazing music.
I love this song. It really just makes you forget whatever BAD is happening in my life, and think about the good. Its a happy song, about a couple named Molly and Desmond and as much as we like to learn the meaning behind the songs, we never REALLY know.

i love playing this cheerful song | Reviewer: nour | 12/15/09

this song is of paramount significance ....it depicts a relationship and a life cycle ...a walk of life...it makes me think of a simple happy life ....i just love to sing it and play it on my guitar ..everyone enjoys it


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    Current page No. 2/ 5