Only Lennon Knows for Sure | Reviewer: Johnnie | 4/11/10

And in the end.... who really gives a flying fuck? Norwegian wood was very modern, minimalist furniture - hence "I looked around and noticed there wasn't a chair". BTW, Lennon recorded this song with his first wife present, a bit dicey what?

Try reading the actual story | Reviewer: Anonymous | 2/14/10

Lennon himself says that the lighting of the fire is about burning the girl's stuff after getting pissed off at her for not putting out. Try finding out what the songwriter himself says, rather than coming up with some bullshit stoner interpretation. Just because you like your interpretation better, that doesn't make it right.

youre all wrong though | Reviewer: Anonymous | 2/11/10

as a matter of fact, when he's talking about lighting a fire, he means sparking a doobie. norwegian wood has double meaning. its literally the wood in the house, and its also a term for marijuana.

right | Reviewer: Anonymous | 1/19/10

I once had a girl, or should I say, she once had me...
She showed me her room, isn't it good Norwegian wood?

She asked me to stay and she told me to sit anywhere,
So I looked around and I noticed there wasn't a chair.

I sat on a rug, biding my time, drinking her wine,
We talked until two and then she said: "It's time for bed"

She told me she worked in the morning and started to laugh.
I told her I didn't, and crawled off to sleep in the bath

And when I awoke, I was alone, this bird had flown
So I lit a fire, isn't it good Norwegian wood.

You are all, sadly, quite wrong. | Reviewer: matt fryer | 1/14/10

The origianl of this song was called I knew she would, however the publishers of rubber soul said they wouldnt pay for a song that insinuated sex (the i knew she would in the second verse) remember this was in the 60's and so not wanting to get rid of the song they changed it to norwiegen wood, because if fitted and was the only thingthat sounded the same. still the second most amazing song that the beatles created. First being of course While MY Guitar gently weeps.

Many meanings | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/20/09

The beauty of song lyrics is that they have a different meaning to each and every one of us. The lyrics have to flow with the melody. Lennon and McCartney were both geniuses, magical songwriters. I have been listening to the Beatles since I was 9 years old and I'm now 52. I never tire of their music. It's timeless. There will never be another group like Beatles, ever.

dear jimbo slice | Reviewer: anonymous | 8/25/09

THIS IS THE BEST SONG EVER.... i totally love it and i so wanna be able to play the guitar

to jimbo slice: for the record, your brother has not met John Lennon. He died way b4 your brother was born and y would u make a song about changing the title of the song to knowing she would??? don't pretend u know every thing because u probably listen to junk all the time and don't know anything about the beatles. it's called norwegian wood and that's much better than knowing she would, ok???

About | Reviewer: kevin | 6/24/09

This song is about John Lennon's love affair with a women who lived beneath him. Her house was furnished with cheap pine wood. John made the song as inconspicuous as possible so not to lead his wife toward his doings. The line about lighting on fire is a matter of personal revenge on John's part for not getting what (who) he wanted. Lesbians? come on people...

This song is about... | Reviewer: Florrezz | 6/18/09

This song is about change, it tells of a lesbian girl! Just like Day Tripper talked about prostitutes. BTW, McCartney said that they made this song exclusively to sing about lesbians.And Jimbo Slice, How is your brother 3 years old and has met John Lennon, Smart one????????????

knowing she would | Reviewer: Jimbo Slice | 5/26/09

well my little brother is about 3 years old knows more about this song then any of you rookies. He told me that this song is not about someone burning down a house ok u morons its about changing it to knowing she would because Lenon said it would make more sense. how do i know this you ask well my 3 year old brother met John Lennon and asked him and thats the answer he gave him so all you rookies just shut your mouths about norweign wood.

arghhh | Reviewer: Lennon/McCartney | 3/20/09

would all you idiots that are saying "knowing she would" just shut up! its called norwegian wood because the british houses were all done out in them back in the day.

the girl leaves him at the end so he sets fire - to the norwegian wood

great song | Reviewer: Anonymous | 3/16/09

completely agree with Michael.

"The song is written by Lennon about an afair that he had behind his wifes back at the time.
it's quite simply a love song very made abstract sothat he wouldent get caught by his wife, he admitted this in a late interview...."

I remember reading this at the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in Cleveland, OH.

Norwegian Wood (This Bird Has Flown) | Reviewer: Reviewer Bxfiles | 2/20/09

Norwegian Wood was a landmark recording for The Beatles, being one of the first Western pop songs to feature the sitar, an Indian instrument.


From: http://www.beatlesbible.com/songs/norwegian-wood-this-bird-has-flown/

"I came in and he had this first stanza, which was brilliant: 'I once had a girl, or should I say, she once had me.' That was all he had, no title, no nothing. I said, 'Oh yes, well, ha, we're there.' And it wrote itself. Once you've got the great idea, they do tend to write themselves, providing you know how to write songs. So I picked it up at the second verse, it's a story. It's him trying to pull a bird, it was about an affair. John told Playboy that he hadn't the faintest idea where the title came from but I do. Peter Asher had his room done out in wood, a lot of people were decorating their places in wood. Norwegian wood. It was pine really, cheap pine. But it's not as good a title, Cheap Pine, baby...

So she makes him sleep in the bath and then finally in the last verse I had this idea to set the Norwegian wood on fire as revenge, so we did it very tongue in cheek. She led him on, then said, 'You'd better sleep in the bath'. In our world the guy had to have some sort of revenge. It could have meant I lit a fire to keep myself warm, and wasn't the d├ęcor of her house wonderful? But it didn't, it meant I burned the fucking place down as an act of revenge, and then we left it there and went into the instrumental."

Paul McCartney

John Met Yoko | Reviewer: Konam | 1/25/09

In this song, John Lennon seems to describe his first night with Yoko. The hint is in the line "She asked me to stay and she told me to sit anywhere, So I looked around and I noticed there wasn't a chair." - traditionally, Japanese houses have no chairs.

DarkLinkthe2nd | Reviewer: Anonymous | 1/23/09

There's multiple stories of how things came to be with the Beatles...and it makes no sense to debate what the song means.

You are only right in your own mind in some cases, I'm afraid.

For some of you, "drinking her wine" could have been an innuendo for a sexual action...whereas others, it's taking in her personality.

For some, you can interpret it as a sweet and innocent love, or a very slutty broad trying to seduce a guy; but I for one would rather not have one meaning so the song can be used on various occasions to fit in with various stories of human life.