Reviews for Norwegian Wood Lyrics

Performed by The Beatles

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    Current page No. 4/ 8
Add Your New Review About The Song

Ur All Crazy | Reviewer: Kiwi | 9/15/08

i realy don't think john lenon burnt down some ones appartment in revenge for being led on and not geting laid. thats just stupid. "norwegian wood" could have a sexual reference, be about the cheap pine siding in her home, or it could just be a replacement for "knowing she would". who cares! its a beautiful song thats supposed to make you wonder. so disect it all you want, in the end the song will be ruined for some of you,and others will be disapointed at not having won. Some of us will just go on apreciating the song and admiring the music. and yet again, who said it was about Lennon any way?

maybe... | Reviewer: passo | 9/6/08

as i just heard the song about 3000 times in my life i started to think it is time for some interpretation:


it`S about a guy who explains how he got into fire brigade: the girl burnt him by leaving him, he saw the wood and the combination of the girl leaving, his inner burns and the wood led to the idea, to extinct the inner flames by extincting the outer ones.

Get over it | Reviewer: Anonymous | 8/12/08

To ÅlesundMan - How about you lighten up and let people share their opinions? The only reason this bothers you so much is because you choose to read it. Soooo, how about YOU shut up and quit reading? That way you and your intolerant, closed mind can enjoy the beauty of this, and every other song, uninterrupted.

Fed up | Reviewer: ÅlesundMan | 8/8/08

I'm sick of people thinking they know what they are talking about, I agree with singersanonymous, just listen to the song. You people think you know the story, I certainly don't either. So shutup, and take in the beauty of this song how about?

wierd song | Reviewer: werewolf4797 | 8/3/08

he picked up a girl in bar, she took him home he stayed up with her till 2, they went to bed, when he woke and up she said had to go to work, he didn't. he went back to bed. he probly woke up some time in the afernoon and waited for a few hours. then he realised she wasnt coming back, so he stipped her wood panels from the walls and lit a fire, burning down the apt. and to the person that said its hard to belive john lennon commited arson, yes, it is, but who said the song is about john? and who the f*ck is killer the dog and how does it fit in to the song?

Reply | Reviewer: Thump | 7/23/08

@Singersanonymous: What's wrong with learning the meaning behind a song? It brings us closer to the song and helps us appreciate it a little more.

Nobody is asking you to find the meaning of a song out, so I suggest you just stay away from them.

I also agree with the notion that "Norwegian Wood" is a slang term for some form of drug.

first things first | Reviewer: MikeL | 6/26/08

Dude, love the half baked connection;
guess you think it's about mary jane
as well. I read that they were going
to see the Queen and snuck into an up
stairs bathroom at Buckingham Palace
to smoke up beforehand. They came up
with a nickname for pot - norwegian
wood. Conversely, there are the rumours
about it being a confession to Linda
about an affair - the working title
of this song was apparently "knowing
she would [and isn't that good?]". The
cenosors of the 60's would have none
of that so the same syllables but a
completely different meaning. At the
end of the day.... enjoy the sitar &
a quirky, soul touching song.

let it be? | Reviewer: singersanonymous | 6/21/08

please, why cant people just listen to a song anymore?! why do they have to know what there talking about? why cant people sit on a rug in a room made of norwegian wood and talk until 2 in the morning?! thats what i do!! i have nothing against learning the lyrics, but having to know why the song is being written, i think its a little much, no offence to anyone, peace & love-

editor of "Singers Anonymous"

norwegian wood | Reviewer: Anonymous | 6/7/08

not only do i find it hard to believe that john lennon committed arson because a girl wouldn't have sex with him, but i also think it is unlikely that he would completely get away with it and then write a song about it. some people are looking too much into the lyrics and some are taking them too literally.

IDIOTIC | Reviewer: mushjunior | 5/30/08

This song was writen to yoko cause she caught him out all night. So he explaind in this song what happened. he wasn't looking to get laid he loved yoko. she left him cause they got in this huge fight. and this is how he explaind himself.

this is hilarious! | Reviewer: lia | 3/28/08

ha ha ha i had never imagined what this song was about i could never understand it cause in the cd i have it;s very faint so i could barely hear it but lol it's funny i could actually imagine everthin.

by the way its very annoying when you guys all super analyse everithing just let it be fellas!!!

Haha | Reviewer: Jeb | 3/19/08

It was my first impression that the song was about him burning down the girl's place after being lead on all night.
With a decent understanding of John's sense of humor, I wouldn't be suprised if that's what the song is about, or better yet that he actually did it. Haha.

No, no, no | Reviewer: ANGRY JOHNNY | 3/14/08

You are all wrong! The song is about how he meets this girl, they go to her place, it has wood paneling. They sit on the rug, he's sure they will have sex later. He Bides his time, drinking her wine, and listening to her boring chit chat. Then just when he thinks it is finally time for "bed", She says shes going to sleep, has to work in the morning. The lie even makes her laugh.
He wakes up the next morning and she is gone. So he lights a fire, more accurately, he lights her Norwegian Wood on fire. Haha
Thats what happened when the girls didn't put out for Mr. Lennon. Isn't it Good?
Thank you. :-)

song and book - no connection | Reviewer: amanda t. | 3/1/08

i don't think the song and the book have any connection - contrary to what most people think. i love to hear and read all of the interepretations. I do think that norwegian wood represents more than one thing in the song. the norwegian wood - the wood paneling on walls of apartments/houses in that time period. the fact that it really wasn't norwegian wood - it was pine. things sound better than they really are...you want things to sound better than they are. the expectation is one thing - but the reality is another. you can relate this idea to the song in so many ways. you think you are going to get laid but don't OR you want to get laid, but maybe you really know that it probably won't happen...maybe being famous (like john) isn't as glamorous as everyone thinks. maybe everyone thought john could get laid whenever he wanted but it turns out he didn't. I think the norwegian wood definitely represents the paneling - which was stark - very noticable in the apartment. she didn't have a nice apt. or even a chair to sit in but she had gone to the trouble of having the wood paneling to be hip - it was the fad. i do think he probably masterbated the next morning like any other guy would - wood. i do think he is just remembering and making the connection to the two. funny how something can sound romantic and sad but when you really look at words it may not be that way. or maybe it was romantic for him because he never really had her even though he wanted her. he might have thought, wow, you're not going to have sex with me even though i'm john lennon? he could have been impressed by it or maybe it gave him that feeling that he used to have when he was turned down in the past - felt more like a regular old bloke. you could even go as far as to say that they they fooled around but he never got to have sex with her - had to take care of it the next morning. the rug could be her - down there. 'drinking her wine'. maybe he did something for her but didn't give back in return! she could have been too tired because she had to work and he is remembering her as one of the many people who passed through his life that he never saw again. it's just really interesting.

First things first | Reviewer: first things first | 2/13/08

First of all to understand what happened to killer, you gotta understand who killer the dog was. Now killer was born to a three-legged ***** of a mother. He was always ashamed of this, man. And then right after that he's adopted by this man, Tito Liebowitz he's a small time gun runner and a rotweiler fight promoter. So he puts killer into training. They see killer's good. He is damn good. But then he had the fight of his life. They pit him against his brother nibbles. And killer said "no man that's my brother, I can't fight nibbles" but they made him fight anyway, and killer, he killed nibbles. Killer said "that's it!" he called off all his fights, and he started doing crack, and he freaked out. Then in a rage, he collapsed, and his heart no longer beat. wow.


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    Current page No. 4/ 8