No not quite | Reviewer: Cow from space | 10/18/07

OK I am from Sweden so I know what Norwegian wood is. It is a rusty trumbone. Anal sex that is. Since the butt hole is not as juicy (hopefully) as her vagina he was drinking her wine. Eat'n pussy and sucking butt. All the same if you really pork a chick right in the butt it can get so hot it smokes and lights a fire!

Most of them are wrong 'cept Anna | Reviewer: Lamar | 10/12/07

No, Norwegian Wood isn't an erection, it's a story just as Anna said.

"I once had a girl, or should I say, she once had me" he thought he was gonna get the girl "She showed me her room, isn't it good, Norwegian Wood" The wood that was in her room "She asked me to stay and she told me to sit anywhere, so I looked around and noticed there wasn't a chair" he thought he was gonna get to sit on the bed with her "I sat on the rug, biding my time, drinking her wine" that implies that he might get laid since they were staying up late and drinking wine. The sitar interlude is suppose to make people think sex is happening. "She told me she worked in the morning and started to laugh, I told her I didn't and crawled on to sleep in the bath" continuing that they didn't have sex. "And when I awoke, I was alone, this bird had flown, so I lit the fire, isn't it good Norwegian wood..." She left and he knew he wasn't getting laid, and mad, and therefore he lit the house on fire... Isn't it good... Norwegian wood... (Sarcasm)

Actual Song Meaning | Reviewer: Anna | 10/5/07

This song is about an affair John was having while married to Cindy. "Norwiegan Wood" is just cheap wood flooring that was common in Brithish flats. The girl in the song led him on and was really a lesbian. "So I lit a fire, isn't it good, Norweigan wood?" refers to the next morning when he awoke and lit her apartment on fire for revenge. I read this in Wikepedia in an interview with John. Check it out

Is this song over analyzed | Reviewer: Dannyboy | 9/28/07

I first heard the song when I was 12 years old on a two day hiking trip I went on as a kid. The Hike was long and during the hot summer. To pass the time the camp counselors who accompanied us during the trip sang "Norwegian Wood". I thought it was a great song! Even at that age, I knew there was some type of innuendo, but not to the degree as mentioned above. I always thought the song was about a couple flirting with each other for a possible engagement, but not altogether serious. While John is trying to find a clue, there really is none. She was honest when she said she really had to work in the morning, as evidenced by her departure. The ending: John realizes there was never really any intent by her to take it to the next level. He had misinterpreted her "signals". The last lyric "I lit the fire, isn't good, Norwegian wood" is to suggest, the story is over, but the difficulty in trying to understand woman, how they think, and their intentions will always continue.

Ono | Reviewer: Anonymous | 9/21/07

Somebody had mentioned Ono. I don't know when did met each other. But, you know, Japanese doesn't have chair at home. So, he "noticed there wasn't a chair" to sit down...

wow | Reviewer: brian | 9/20/07

why do people always think there is some hidden meaning in writings. there usually never is and its really funny seeing you guys try to put hidden meaning to a song that you have no idea what john lennon was thinking when he wrote.

Men! | Reviewer: Poetry Reader | 9/10/07

John was a poet. He left us this window into a moment in his life..
Can you hear John's sense of humor in this sweet, hopeful and fleeting meet?
Can you see the soft flickering candles, the smokey room? Can you feel the anticipation, the wine and the lovely mood?
John gave us this gift of words and that dreamy music?
I can only hope for your sake...

I agree with James | Reviewer: Michael | 9/8/07

One of my all time favourite songs. Not just by the Beatles, but one of the best songs ever. Melancholic yet beautiful. Lennon at his best. I may never know the true story behind the song but I have to say that the version that James relates is the story that I have heard as well. Lennon originally wrote the line "Isn't it good, I knew she would" but changed it to Norwegian Wood (the inexpensive furniture not unlike IKEA that was popular at the time). It's not about John's affair with Yoko -- am I wrong -- but didn't John & Yoko meet at one of her art shows in 1968?

same as IKEA | Reviewer: marc | 8/29/07

NORWEIGIAN WOOD WAS A POPULAR AND CHEAP DECOR AT THAT TIME,. (similar to IKEA). it was in many flats, homes, appartments. (kind of a cheap wood that looked nice).
he is admitting his infidelity to cynthia via a song.
he comented on her furniture.. (norweigian wood).

at the start of the song he says: I once had a girl.... or shall I sAY, SHE ONCE HAD ME.

she led him on,, and she didnt sleep with him, so in vengence he lit a fire.. (maybe a real fire... or maybe a joint! who knows!)..

but anyway.. its a simple song to understand, and worded to suit the current environment and style of the time.

Are you people nuts? | Reviewer: James | 8/28/07

John hadn't even met Yoko yet. The way I have heard the story is that the intended line was "I knew she would" and John changed it due to the record company wanting to cut the song because it was too explicit. So the words were changed to "Norwegian Wood" because it rhymed. The end.

another interpretation | Reviewer: beafles | 8/21/07

I agree with Chuck in that Norwegian Wood could be a term for an erection. I read the lyrics to mean that Lennon once had a sexual experience with a girl who made him give her oral pleasure, but did not return the favor. The two lines below illustrate this:

1. "I once had a girl, or should I say, she once had me"
2. "I sat on a rug, biding my time, drinking her wine"

Later when he says, "We talked until two", the term 'talking' is often used for oral sex. I also agree with Chuck that in the morning he woke up still frustrated from the night before and masturbated himself.

He might be addressing his erection as Norwegian Wood, for reasons uknown! so while it appears he is referring to the quality of the norwegian wood when he says 'isn't it good, norwegian wood' you could also interpret it as a question addressed to the norwegian wood!

This song is about oral pleasure | Reviewer: Anonymous | 8/21/07

I agree with Chuck in that Norwegian Wood could be a term for an erection. I read the lyrics to mean that Lennon once had a sexual experience with a girl who made him give her oral pleasure, but did not return the favor, 'I sat on a rug, biding my time, drinking her wine'. The term 'talking' is often used for oral sex. I also agree with Chuck that in the morning he woke up still frustrated from the night before and masturbated himself. He might be addressing his erection as Norwegian Wood, for reasons uknown! so while it appears he is referring to the quality of the norwegian wood when he says 'isn't it good, norwegian wood' you could also interpret it as a question addressed to the norwegian wood!

great! | Reviewer: piz | 8/4/07

This title song is the title of a book I read.It's really great and make me wonder.
This lyrics I think is fine.

optimus prmal | Reviewer: tomas | 7/27/07

this song is about an affair john had while he was married (probably with ono). I am inclined to think that in this song he did have sex with the girl, as after the "its time for bed" line there is an instrumental break implying something was happening. and then after that, she tells him she has to work and starts to laugh means that the sex didnt really mean anything to her and that she just wants some rest now. the lyric is "I crawled OUT to sleep in the bath" implying john had been in the bed in the first place. He wakes up and she was gone, and he doesnt really care, so he lit the place on fire, which could be speaking symbollicaly that the experience wasnt something serious, just something done for the hell of it, burning the place seems to say that he is discarding the memory after his night of debauchery cause he really just doesnt care

Norwegian wood | Reviewer: Anonymous | 7/14/07

Its quite simple...John is unsuccessful in his pursuit of love making so when he wakes up to find her out of the house, he burns the house down