Reviews for Norwegian Wood Lyrics

Performed by The Beatles

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    Current page No. 5/ 8
Add Your New Review About The Song

norwegian wood | Reviewer: mitch | 1/16/08

it's obvious that norwegian is a type of marijuana they smoked. rubber soul is when the beatles started to get high. "so i lit a fire, isn't it good, norwegian wood" ;)

Correlation between Norwegian Wood Book and Song | Reviewer: Nakamura | 1/15/08

Come on people, open your eyes.

"She told me she worked in the morning and started to laugh.
I told her I didn't and crawled off to sleep in the bath"

Consider Naoko's work on the commune. This is a tremendous disconnect between the two of them. She needs to get up, to work, to fix herself, and Toru just can't really understand it, so he goes back to sleep. The main idea of the book is that Naoko thinks Toru doesn't understand her.

Also, just look at "I sat on a rug, biding my time, drinking her wine". That's a scene straight out of the book.

If you just look at it, and compare it to the themes of the novel, it all becomes very clear. Don't over-analyze the traditional interpretation, or what Lennon wanted it to mean. Think about what it means to you as you listen to the song.

I'm so confused! | Reviewer: lotus-vn | 1/13/08

I have already read "Noweigian wood" of Haruki Murakami. I also know this song. It's mentioned many times in the book, but I can hardly find out the relation between them.

It's a very sad song, I think.

Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/30/2007 is right, not an erection, not weed | Reviewer: Anonymous | 1/8/08

Here is an explanation of the meaning given by Paul:

Peter Asher [brother of McCartney's then-girlfriend Jane Asher] had just done his room out in wood, and a lot of people were decorating their places in wood. Norwegian wood. It was pine, really, just cheap pine. But it's not as good a title, is it, "Cheap Pine"? It was a little parody, really, on those kind of girls who, when you'd get back to their flat, there would be a lot of Norwegian wood. It was completely imaginary from my point of view, but not from John's. It was based on an affair he had. She made him sleep in the bath and then, finally, in the last verse, I had this idea to set the Norwegian wood on fire as a revenge. She led him on and said, "You'd better sleep in the bath." And in our world, that meant the guy having some sort of revenge, so it meant burning the place down....

Norwegian Wood = Knowing She Would | Reviewer: Anonymous | 12/2/07

OK it has nothing to do with him burning the place down, what are you talking about? The original title was supposed to be "Knowing She Would," however the record company said that was too suggestive so they changed it to "Norwegian Wood." Replace "Norwegian Wood" with "Knowing She Would" in the song and it makes sense.

Norwegian Wood and Swedish Beer | Reviewer: Corrado | 12/2/07

All right, Cow from Space. Now please tell us what kind of beer you drink in Sweden to imagine such a fantasy on the lyrics of this song. Thank you.

not an erection, not weed | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/30/07

Most of you are probably too young to remember wood paneling in houses (very popular in late 60's and into the 70's). It was cheap Pine wood, also known as Norwegian wood. Lots of flats in Europe were done in this Norwegian wood way back then by these young girls trying to be hip and with the latest fad. "She showed me her room, isn't it good, Norwegian wood". So try and picture this girl who has a one room flat (remember, "no chair', just a rug and a bed), but has wine and "Norwegian wood" paneling. Turns out she's a big tease, abandons him in the morning, he gets pissed and burns the place down.

Cheap wood burns fast and hot. Check out Robin Thick's song "Lost without you". He also uses the words "Norwegian wood". His metaphor is hot sex.

simple. | Reviewer: Amanda | 11/22/07

I think this song is really just what it it, there really is no interpreting that needs to be done. It's about an affair of John's. He goes to a girls flat expecting sex but she doesn't give it to him. She makes him sleep in the bath and when he wakes in the morning she's gone to work so he sets her flat on fire. John wanted to write about his affairs in a way where his, then, wife Cynthia wouldn't know about it. Quite genius really. I love this song, it's one of my all time favorites. Then again, The Beatles are one of my all time favorite bands. There were great.

Norwegian Wood | Reviewer: Dora | 11/12/07

John woke up to find himself in the bath tub and the lady he was talking to last night was at work. While in the tub he realized how he got there.... they got to her house went into the room, they both sat on the carpet to chat because there were no chairs, drank a little wine, remembering pieces of their conversation.... she saying that she's got to start work in three hours, and how he felt releived that he didn't have to work a 9 to 5 anymore because he is of course the famous John Lennon of the Beatles now. It was all innocent. No sex. He decided to enjoy the fireplace before he left her house. There was no firewood so he busted his guitar to bits and used it as firewood (Norwegian wood). Several years later while writing a new song and deciding on a new name for it he was looking at the words stamped inside the center hole of his guitar....Norwegian Wood It brought back memories of his youthful days as a single stud.. how he at one time had that girl or well, how she once had him Thee John Lennon at her place at one time.
Norwegian Woody Wood pecker.

you guys are faux monet's (from far away you look like the real thing, but up close you are a mess) | Reviewer: AnjShikhsa | 10/31/07

ok, i recently met yoko's son and he elucidated the lyrics as he understood them at his father's knee. basically, dear old dad, back in his "partying" phase, did exactly what many have said...met a girl, went home with her, wanted a hook up, got more than he bargained for. Basically, chick, after teasing him all night, giggled and went to bed. he had to take a cold shower - passed out in there. When he saw she wasn't there in the morning, he BEAT OFF on her sheets. (ughh isn't it good?)

heheh i know. still the song is so romantic! my boyfriend calls it *our* song and sings it to me 24/7 :D

Song meaning | Reviewer: Ricci | 10/29/07

I have no idea if this is true, but this is what my mother told me.
What I do know is that it's NOT WEED.


I once had a girl, or should I say, she once had me...
She showed me her room, isn't it good, norwegian wood?
He met a girl somewhere, and then they went home together. He expected to sleep with her. Her house was made of Norwegian Wood, or her furniture was, or something.

She asked me to stay and she told me to sit anywhere,
So I looked around and I noticed there wasn't a chair.
She asks him to hang around, he looks around, they're in a bedroom. No chair!

I sat on a rug, biding my time, drinking her wine
We talked until two and then she said, "It's time for bed"
They sat together, he waiting to get laid, getting a bit tipsy. Then she is suggestive about bed.

She told me she worked in the morning and started to laugh.
I told her I didn't and crawled off to sleep in the bath
Then she realizes that he's expecting more out of her, especially when he doesn't have work. He takes a good cold shower.

And when I awoke, I was alone, this bird had flown
So I lit a fire, isn't it good, norwegian wood.
When he wakes, she had left him alone entirely. He burns her things.

Norwegian Wood | Reviewer: nitzan | 10/29/07

The song was metioned many times in the book
"Norwegian Wood", I loved the book and the song, but i cant really make the conection between them. I thought the song would sound very different.

What's behind "Norwegian wood"? | Reviewer: bora | 10/25/07

I agree with "brian" (wow | Reviewer: brian | 9/20/2007). John was probably stoned when he wrote this wonderful song. He might have put some images or thoughts into words... it turned out to be quite cool!

Norwegian wood is cannabis. | Reviewer: Indica | 10/19/07

Norwegian wood is a word for cannabis. The song is simply about getting high.

'And when I awoke, I was alone, this bird had flown
So I lit a fire, isn't it good, norwegian wood.'

It's as simple as it sounds, she was gone the next morning and he smoked some cannabis (norwegian wood).

Knowing She Would...... | Reviewer: RennTiki | 10/24/07

The actual story is much the same as Mc Cartney's "Scrambled Eggs" song sketching eventually evolving into the now infamous "Yesterday."

John had originally written the lyric; "isn't it good knowing she would" NOT I knew she would.

However he wished to obscure his lyrical romantic tryst from Cynthia: Obviously as indicated by the MASSES of confusion and HIGHLY erroneous conjecture and speculation going on in these posts about what Norwegian Wood is it worked well!

As so many songsmiths tend to do he ended up substituting something else that had the same sound and syllabic cadence yet rendered the real meaning and phrase obscure and vague. John was notoriously known for his wordplay and his fondness for mucking about with words so there's absolutely no big mystery or meaning to it.

Sing the song substituting the phrase "Norwegian Wood" with "Knowing She Would" and the whole thing becomes resoundingly clear.


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    Current page No. 5/ 8