Reviews for Maxwell's Silver Hammer Lyrics

Performed by The Beatles

By Pages:   1    2    3    Current page No. 2/ 3
Add Your New Review About The Song

Maxwell's Silver Hammer | Reviewer: Anonymous | 5/30/08

This song IS (emphasis on is) about a guy who kills two women and a judge. With his silver hammer, which could be thought of as an axe, hatchet, or something along those lines. There is really nothing in this song that says it isn't about murder.

hm | Reviewer: Anonymous | 5/28/08

this is a great song altho i like all my lovin and dont let me down and penny lane and from me to you better but this is a good song so much better than that new age crap and im yung 2 so thats pretty bad when a child agrees that oldies are better than newies

ever hear of "satire" | Reviewer: Anonymous | 2/28/08

nkahan is correct
The song is totally straight. The satire is the bouncy music and funny sound effects. This is Paul's homage to Tom Lehrer -- "Poisoning Pigeons in the Park" "The Masochism Tango" and many others, using a light-hearted musical approach to a sordid topic.

agreed with Ed jr | Reviewer: skyscout223 | 2/13/08

I'm agreed with Ed jr. Considering the arrangements of this song: the funny rhyme, the contradiction between a true medicine student and the odd situations that he came up with, all the serious things with childish background...i think its really about an adult with childish mind who always imagine a hammer to punch things annoying. I'm a little confused with the first part of the song...does that means the girl wears like a "tube master" made Max disgust?

maxwells | Reviewer: nkahan | 2/8/08

maxwells silver hammer is straight and out about cold blooded murder and nothing else. he kills three people and people are telling the judge hes innocent.
there is no other way it's about something else

Mawell's Silvver Hammer | Reviewer: Marty | 1/19/08

I find analysis of songs to be hilarious sometimes. Wonder who has listened to the early BeeGees when all that matter was that it rhymed - no sense otherwise - Beatles and many do this all the time. In Maxwell he is clearly not a child based on several items - he was a classmate of Joan who was boviously studying and advanced subject - not a child - and the court session also indicates an adult - unless Rose and Valerie were kids yelling which I doubt. And teachers in advanced studies dont keep kids after class and make them write 50 times...... So that shows contraditons as do many of their songs (I'm Down was really meaningful I think lol).
This is just a fun song with an Ooopah sounds like a trombone - typical of Paul experimenting with his paino as he did so often. Enjoy their music - Lucy in the Sky was not all the things those analyst claims as verified by each of the Beatles.

Silver Hammer | Reviewer: Ed jr | 1/12/08

Like many Beatle songs of this era, this song is about getting high. Maxwell, who majors in medicine, uses his "silver hammer" as an escape from situations that make him uncomfortable. Women, authority figures, the law, are all made to go away with a needle served via a silver hammer.
It is a great Beatles song only the Beatles could record.

this song does make scence because..... | Reviewer: lamby101` | 1/3/08

the songs about a boy named maxwell Edison and he calls a girl on the phone and he says can i take you out. but why girls getting ready theres a knock a the door and then maxwell comes in and knocks the girl on the head and makes sure shes dead then at school maxwell's being annoying so the teacher asks him to stay when its the end of class then at the end of class he knocks her the head and makes sure shes dead and then the cops find him an the judge says he should go to jail but valirey and rose says he should be free but the judge does not agree and max gets mad and knonks the judge on the head and makes sure hes dead the end thats the story

'Maxwell's Silver Hammer' | Reviewer: Anonymous | 1/1/08

PAUL circa-1994: "'Maxwell's Silver Hammer' is my analogy for when something goes wrong out of the blue, as it so often does, as I was beginning to find out at that time in my life. I wanted something symbolic of that, so to me it was some fictitious character called Maxwell with a silver hammer. I don't know why it was silver, it just sounded better than Maxwell's hammer. It was needed for scanning. We still use that expression now when something unexpected happens."

Symbolism...I think? | Reviewer: Anonymous | 12/27/07

I'm not sure about this or anything, but I heard somewhere that his "silver hammer" was a symbol that when everything is going smoothish (sorta) his "silver hammer" comes and turns things around. Don't quote me, I'm not sure, just heard it somewhere :)

And ditto to whoever said it above, no, this song is not supposed to make sense. I like it that way personally...If you dissect the songs every possible meaning it kinda loses it's charm, at least that's what I think.

Response to review about how this isn't about murder. | Reviewer: Anonymous | 12/18/07

No, this song pretty much *IS* about brutally murdering people. There is nothing in the song to support that it isn't about murder. Summary: Guy kills two women, and the judge. With a silver hammer. Oh, and there were two girls saying he was innocent.

That's about it.

You guys are stupid! | Reviewer: J J | 12/17/07

Maxwell's Silver Hammer was a great song and some of the Beatles songs weren't supposed to make sense. I'm tired of people saying that it doesn't make sense. Stop or I will splow you.

Splow-v-to punch in uncomfortable places

pataphysics | Reviewer: Anonymous | 12/15/07

just so you know, pataphysical science is a practice beyond metaphysics which features absurdist logic and a removal from the tangible, physical universe we perceive as existing in. In this way, no matter what Maxwell does, it matters not, because the whole idea of the song is to be contradictory and absurd. Wikipedia "pataphysics"

Maxwell | Reviewer: Anonymous | 12/13/07

the beatles were awesome and made some sweet creative songs. ill splow you if you say it didn't make sense. the songs weren't meant to make sense sometimes.
Splow-v- to punch one in uncomfortable places

Great Song | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/24/07

This is a great song from the Abbey Road record. I do think it is weird how he is able to kill the judge and how he sounds like a kid when the song goes "BAck in school again..." that section.


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    Current page No. 2/ 3