Reviews for Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds Lyrics

Performed by The Beatles

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10   Next 10 Pages Current page No. 8/ 27
Add Your New Review About The Song

Amazing Song Regardless of Meaning | Reviewer: Lillian | 11/21/09

I wouldn't be surprised if they were on LSD when this song was written, but regardless of their condition it's still one of my favorite songs by The Beatles. I like the image in my mind when the lyrics are playing. It's absolutely amazing. The Beatles are amazing song writers, and I think everyone should accept their music how it is.

no LSD | Reviewer: chifbandit | 11/19/09

For those who think this song is about LSD, you need to read more. Also, if you think a person like Lennon would mask if it was about LSD, youre incredibly mistaken again..haha. The song is about the girl his son drew, thats it. They made the twist to play with your mind, thats all. The beatles have been known to do so...

Lucy | Reviewer: L | 11/17/09

Paul McCartney admitted this song was inspired by LSD in an interview with rolling stone. Amazing amazing song no matter what it's about, it doesn't detract from the song that it's inspired by drugs. Though i think there is some truth in the painting Julian Lennon named lucy in the sky with diamonds story. John no doubt noticed the abreviation of the tittle LSD, and saw how in the painting the girl had diamond shape eyes and how everything was surreal and reflective of an LSD trip, with orange skys and flowers over lucys head. so this inspired him to write a song about LSD inspired by and referencing to the immagry of his sons painting.
Obvious if you think about it. I don't see why people can't see this and have to back one or the other opinion, when clearly it is a mixture of both.

i met george sister last week | Reviewer: keith lininger | 11/18/09

yes the song is about lsd when i met george sister she said it was about lsd and that they smoked alot of weed growing up and while playing which his sis thought was perfectly fine and they all did lsd then eneded up in rehab and once they got out they weere all clean and ringo later on started doing heroine and thats a little part of why they fell out

LSD, foos. | Reviewer: Zee | 11/10/09

"Follow her down to a bridge by a fountain,
>Where rocking horse people eat marshmallow pies.<
Everyone smiles as you drift past the flowers,
>That grow so incredibly high.<"

Soo...obviously its about LSD. But they had backup stories, I mean..what band would have blasted that there song was about drugs? use your head people, those stories like the kid or a girl named Lucy, Those are backup reasons, if they where asked. They wouldn't announce that it was a LSD trip. but I guess..believe whatever you want.

What i think | Reviewer: kirstie. | 11/9/09

To be honest, is very obvious that it's about drugs, and Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds, the L, S, and D are all in capitals, and the song words all relate to it. it might be about his son aswell, but its kinda straight forward

this song isnt abotu drugs | Reviewer: diana leone | 11/6/09

This song isnt about LSD
yes it is a huge relation thaat lucky sky diamonds.. is LSD
but i have a book my daddy gave me and its ring, paul john, and george writing abotu wht each song means
and they said lucy in the sky with dimonds was about johns son who drew a picture about a girl in his class he liked and her name was lucy
when john asked what is this?
his son said.. "lucy in the sky with diamonds"

wow | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/5/09

omg i love the song it is so cool. Who cares if it is about lsd or some 4 year old. None of it matters man. All that matters is music. Dont try to over analise something. Dont lose the fun of the music. Would your life be any different even if you did know the meaning of the song. Dont be square dude. Just let the song take you far away. Peace out

NOT LSD. | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/1/09

I don't think that the Beatles would write this kind of song. I think that Lucy In The Sky with Diamonds is an awsome song. I dont think that its about LSD, I recently did a report on LSd and this dosent sound like side effects from LSD.

Easily manipulated fools... | Reviewer: Jason | 10/29/09

Anyone who says this isnt about an LSD trip, has obviously never taken LSD. The beatles were well known for their LSD use and its clearly visible how it affected their style of music. They had millions of fans and because they were pop stars they wouldn't have wanted to exclude any of their fans from their newer music that was made for their fellow LSD users... they'd lose money if they started saying their songs were about drugs, anyone with an ounce of common sense would know that. And you never know, his son could've drawn that picture about Lucy Vodden but that could have been his set for his trip.. he could've been thinking about that painting when he was tripping. I could be wrong, but from personal experience mixed with a tad of common sense, this song is an LSD trip.

transcendentalism | Reviewer: connor | 10/28/09

this song isnt about an acid trip or about lucy vodden its about transcendentalism the idea that we can live without modern conveiniences and modern society. it says go take a walk by the river dont go spend all your money on drugs its a belief that society is wrong and that we should be spending time in nature

LSD | Reviewer: michael holland shepard (songwriter) | 10/22/09

A song created for a new drug which turned out to be an old formula LOVE. Barrowed from friends of Alice in wonderland and parroddized to Judy In Disguise With Glasses. Hollywoos say it is ghost writen by same geni-us. Wall-r-us and car-pen-tor-us J.C.

Inspiration | Reviewer: Kurt | 9/29/09

Songwriters take their inspiration from their experiences. Did some of the imagery come to Lennon while he was high? Probably? Did the name come from a drawing that Julian showed John? Probably. Was there some subliminal influence from Alice in Wonderland? Seems plausible. There were probably some other influences that were not even known to Lennon himself. Does it matter? No

The real key is that the Beatles made music that has brought pleasure to multiple generations and they changed the landscape of the art. It's sad that John Lennon's story is so tragic and now we hear that "Lucy" had her life cut short too.


and to think.. | Reviewer: Anonymous | 9/29/09

its sad to hear about Lucy's death.

Just to read the past comments is funny how people say it was about an LSD trip. And now are proved wrong throughout the globe. You all must fell like total idiots. Then again you'll always have somone to oppose the idea no matter what the truth is..


Your Wrong | Reviewer: jamie | 9/28/09

Lucy Vodden, who provided the inspiration for the Beatles' classic song "Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds," has died after a long battle with lupus. She was 46.Her death was announced Monday by St. Thomas' Hospital in London, where she had been treated for the chronic disease for more than five years, and by her husband, Ross Vodden. Britain's Press Association said she died last Tuesday. Hospital officials said they could not confirm the day of her death.
Vodden's connection to the Beatles dates back to her early days, when she made friends with schoolmate Julian Lennon, John Lennon's son.
Julian Lennon, then 4 years old, came home from school with a drawing one day, showed it to his father, and said it was "Lucy in the sky with diamonds."
At the time, John Lennon was gathering material for his contributions to "Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band," .
Rock music critics thought the song's title was a veiled reference to LSD, but John Lennon always claimed the phrase came from his son, not from a desire to spell out the initials LSD in code.
In recent months, Vodden was too ill to go out most of the time, except for hospital visits.
She enjoyed her link to the Beatles, but was not particularly fond of "Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds."
"I don't relate to the song, to that type of song," she told the Associated Press in June. "As a teenager, I made the mistake of telling a couple of friends at school that I was the Lucy in the song and they said, 'No, it's not you, my parents said it's about drugs.' And I didn't know what LSD was at the time, so I just kept it quiet, to myself."


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10   Next 10 Pages Current page No. 8/ 27