Reviews for Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds Lyrics

Performed by The Beatles

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10   Next 10 Pages Current page No. 9/ 27
Add Your New Review About The Song

The Truth | Reviewer: Anonymous | 9/28/09

This song was inspired by Lucy Vodden, then friend to 4 year old Julian Lennon. He drew a picture called Lucy in the Sky With Diamonds which became the name of the said inspired song. People who argue over something they have no knowledge of annoy me.

Lucy Of 'Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds' Fame Dies | Reviewer: Anonymous | 9/28/09


Lucy Vodden Battled Lupus For Years
GREGORY KATZ, Associated Press Writer
POSTED: 9:31 am EDT September 28, 2009
UPDATED: 11:52 am EDT September 28, 2009

LONDON -- Lucy Vodden, who provided the inspiration for the Beatles' classic song "Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds," has died after a long battle with lupus. She was 46.

Her death was announced Monday by St. Thomas' Hospital in London, where she had been treated for the chronic disease for more than five years, and by her husband, Ross Vodden. Britain's Press Association said she died last Tuesday. Hospital officials said they could not confirm the day of her death.

Vodden's connection to the Beatles dates back to her early days, when she made friends with schoolmate Julian Lennon, John Lennon's son.

Julian Lennon, then 4 years old, came home from school with a drawing one day, showed it to his father, and said it was "Lucy in the sky with diamonds."

At the time, John Lennon was gathering material for his contributions to "Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band," a landmark album released to worldwide acclaim in 1967.

The elder Lennon seized on the image and developed it into what is widely regarded as a psychedelic masterpiece, replete with haunting images of "newspaper taxis" and a "girl with kaleidoscope eyes."

Rock music critics thought the song's title was a veiled reference to LSD, but John Lennon always claimed the phrase came from his son, not from a desire to spell out the initials LSD in code.

Vodden lost touch with Julian Lennon after he left the school following his parents' divorce, but they were reunited in recent years when Julian Lennon, who lives in France, tried to help her cope with the disease.

He sent her flowers and vouchers for use at a gardening center near her home in Surrey in southeast England, and frequently sent her text messages in an effort to buttress her spirits.

"I wasn't sure at first how to approach her," Julian Lennon told the Associated Press in June. "I wanted at least to get a note to her. Then I heard she had a great love of gardening, and I thought I'd help with something she's passionate about, and I love gardening too. I wanted to do something to put a smile on her face."

In recent months, Vodden was too ill to go out most of the time, except for hospital visits.

She enjoyed her link to the Beatles, but was not particularly fond of "Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds."

"I don't relate to the song, to that type of song," she told the Associated Press in June. "As a teenager, I made the mistake of telling a couple of friends at school that I was the Lucy in the song and they said, 'No, it's not you, my parents said it's about drugs.' And I didn't know what LSD was at the time, so I just kept it quiet, to myself."

Vodden is the latest in a long line of people connected to the Beatles who died at a relatively young age.

The list includes John Lennon, gunned down at age 40, manager Brian Epstein, who died of a drug overdose when he was 32, and original band member Stuart Sutcliffe, who died of a brain hemorrhage at 21.

A spokeswoman for Julian Lennon and his mother, Cynthia Lennon, said they were "shocked and saddened" by Vodden's death.

Angie Davidson, a lupus sufferer who is campaign director of the St. Thomas' Lupus Trust, said Vodden was "a real fighter" who had worked behind the scenes to support efforts to combat the disease.

"It's so sad that she has finally lost the battle she fought so bravely for so long," said Davidson.

Copyright 2009 by The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Lucy | Reviewer: Anonymous | 9/28/09

Lucy Vodden (the girl in he song and drawing) died today in a London hospital of Lupus at the age of 46. The song was indeed about a drawing Julian had made when he was small. Maybe the LCD bit came across peoples mind but to me the song indeed resembles a childs drawing and fantasies.

NO!!! | Reviewer: Anonymous | 9/15/09

This song is about LSD... Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds... think about it... and you might think the lyrics are weird... well obv cos thats kind of things you see when you are on it - Its a drug if you didnt know. -



Lucy in Sky with Diamonds... (LSD) | Reviewer: Anonymous | 9/13/09

This song was written while they were on LSD... the title comes from John Lennon's son who drew a girl in the sky and called the picture "Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds conicidentally it stands for LSD and so they used that title for their song.

no | Reviewer: Anonymous | 9/7/09

There was an interview with Paul McCartney. He said the song was written because john's kid had drawn a picture of a girl floating in the sky. He asked her what it was called and she said "Lucy in the Sky With Diamonds" Bam, a song!

john lennon | Reviewer: Anonymous | 9/8/09

i think the story is about alice in wonderland and thru the looking glass because it sound familiar.. i know it sound like if hes high when he wrote this but he was no weres near mentaly handicaped!

hmm... | Reviewer: Anonymous | 9/6/09

this song actually was written for a little girl Lennon had known in his childhood.. Lucy... he used to watch her from his house as she would look up at the diamonds in the sky aka stars... thats all there is too it...

opinion from Missouri | Reviewer: Anonymous | 8/21/09

Everyone has their own opinion but nobody will ever know the truth. John Lennon is dead and so is the truth to the meaning of the words of this song. So believe what you want. To me, I believe the story of Julian's drawing and that the words of the song were inspired from either Alice In Wonderland or Thru the Looking Glass.

I'm 56 years old and just read the words for the first time. It could go either way, but whatever way was the real way, it's a great song and nobody can argue with that.

Why does it matter? | Reviewer: Karlee | 8/17/09

Songs are artists ways of expressing themselves. Who cares if John Lennon and Paul McCartney wrote this while trippin' out on LSD? Who cares if it was inspired by a drawing? Why does it matter? Obviously something inspired them to write "Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds" and it was a great hit!
Why argue about something you will never know the truth about? You're all wasting your time trying to decipher what inspired these artist to create such an amazing song. We will never know if it was and LSD trip, or if it was inspired by a drawing. All that matters is that this song was created for a purpose that was meaningful to the artists. Thats all that really matters.

F.....ing Junkie | Reviewer: Anonymous | 8/17/09

Man, this guy was sky high off his rear when he wrote this stuff. So much for philosophy, the song sounds like a mentally handicapped person decided to write a story about imaginary land.

Don't do drugs.

perfect | Reviewer: intotherave@hotmail.com | 8/11/09

doesn't matter if it was about lsd inspired or not... this change ANYTHING... in the fact, it was about a lsd trip... Paul arleady give an interview about his trips with LSD... but, i make no diference... this song was wonderfull brilliant.

who cares? | Reviewer: Anonymous | 7/29/09

why do so many people have to argue about whether this song is about drugs or not? its a good song, why can't you just enjoy it and never mind what its inspiration was since you'll never know for sure anyway.

seriously? | Reviewer: anonymous | 7/27/09

where is this song can be taken out of context and misconstrued to be about LSD, Lennon himself said it was not and was adamant about it. First off justathought Julian is a boy. Lennon had two sons, Sean and julian. Where he may have tripped on acid and take out what he perceived of the picture, the song itself is not a reference to LSD.

opinion from argentina | Reviewer: Regina | 7/27/09

Hi, im from Argentina.. i dont it has no sense to discuss about soemthign that you wont ever know the truth. Although, i think is obviusly this song realted to drugs, and heir effects. It may has ir origin in his daughter draw, o whatever, but from this, he creates and idea realted with drugs.. I mean, is obvious.. he descrbies that world that we travel sometimes..
Whatever, i dont care.. I love the song, any reader of any song, use that song for what he wants, and interpretate it like he wants because of the reason he/she has..
Greate song.


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10   Next 10 Pages Current page No. 9/ 27