Pathetic? | Reviewer: laiseaJ | 11/25/09

Does no one actually have anything better to do than fight over who's correct about the proper lyrics? If I'm correct, none of you are the lyricists, so what gives you the right to judge someone elses take on the song? It doesn't matter if anyone here is a long time Beatles fan as most of us are, who grew up listening to them, or if you heard the classic songs redefined in a modern day film. Either way, these are the types of things that keep the Beatles still famous today, and that could possibly keep them famous many years from now. A lot of people were born long after the Beatles came out, so you can't expect everyone to just instantly take an interest in older music, it all comes naturally. Giving it a modern take is what gets people back interested into the Beatles. If you don't like the movie, who gives a shit? No one here is forcing you to watch it, they're simply stating their opinion which, by the way, they have a right to. I've been a fan of the Beatles for as long as I can remember, and I still managed to enjoy the movie, yes, the take on it is a little different, the tempos change and possibly the lyrics are improvised as well but it's not like the Beatles changed just because of a movie! If you don't like it, fine! If you do, fine! Just don't make such a massive ordeal.

Acroos The Universe | Reviewer: Gabby | 10/3/09

Just to clear it all up, I'm a diehard Beatles fan since the age of six when my Aunt pulled out her dusty her dusty record player.

I didn't want to see Across The Universe because I was so sure that it would ruin everything I hold dear and love about The Beatles, but I was surprised. It wasn't bad, it was actually a good movie. They drew up a realistic portrait of the time period, and interwove so many stories about so many lives. They songs that they used, I couldn't find any dramtic changes, and the writer found creative ways to use the songs to express what the characters are going through, without dishonoring The Beatles at all.

In fact, I like to think of Across the Universe as an Ode to The Beatles triumph and a memorium of all that they accomplished, showing is they can even have an impact on us today.

So now that's all out of the way, I just wanted to clear up some confusion. In Across the Universe, they don't change the lyrics to this song at all. They're completely the same. It has a different meaning as it's a girl (Lucy) singing it to a guy (Jude)while he's breaking up with his girlfriend, but it's the same overall theme. I've been in love, and I was hurt, I want to love you, but I'm scared. The only other difference I can think of is that they slow down the tempo of the son considerably, but it's not a bad change, it fits the scene.

The orginal's still better though, always will be.

Kenny is off by 3 years | Reviewer: Bob | 8/30/09

If I Fell was released in 1964 on A Hard Days Night Paul met Linda at the Georgie Fame concert in 1967! Also If I Fell has John as the lead vocals and while most of the songs are listed as John and Paul colaborations most were written by one or the other with input or help with the occasional line and consequently John sand Johns songs and Paul sang Pauls songs!!

All wrong | Reviewer: Kenny | 8/22/09

I grew up in a beatles fan bus. This song is NOT written by John Lennon at all but was almost the sole work of Paul McCartney.
Paul wrote this song because at the time he was in a serious relationship with a girl named Jane Asher and was going to marry but due to one of Paul's affairs with Francie Schwartz was called off. During he's not-so-serious relationship with Francie, he met a girl named Linda Eastman who was a reporter and he "fell in love" with her and only hoped that she "promise to be true" about how she always said she would love only him. Paul said if he gave his love to Linda he must be sure that Linda would love him more then Francie.

"Her" | Reviewer: Amy | 8/13/09

I just wanted to point something out about the use of "her" in the song.

That you would love me more than her (loves me)

That's incorrect grammer.

That you would love me more than (I love her) her

That doesn't make sense to the song, as it's about John's own insecurity.

That you would love me more than (you love) her

That's the only one that makes sense grammatically. (If it were about a girl, the word used would be "she.") And I like to think it's about Paul, because of the moving harmonies, and just the nature of their relationship in general.

Whether or not any of the Beatles had homosexual tendencies is irrevelent to the fact that I'm right ;]

Oh, and btw before anyone yells at me, I'm a huge fan of The Beatles, and I could care less about Across the Universe.

"Her" | Reviewer: Amy | 8/13/09

Oops, apparently someone else already pointed that out. Oh well, at least I used correct grammer in my review so now one can call me out on that front. Since that's the only critique given to the person who previously stated that.

Chill out! | Reviewer: Anonymous | 8/19/09

There's no need to bash on Across The Universe. True, I discovered the wonderful world of The Beatles through Across The Universe, but if I hadn't ever seen the movie, I wouldn't have ever gotten into The Beatles. The Beatles were big 25 plus years before I was born, and as a young adult giving them the respect they are due now - don't you think it's a great thing that something like Across the Universe is bridging the age and generation gap? Don't you want your children to enjoy the music you grew up listening to?

You don't have to be so elitist.

Yep | Reviewer: Lauren | 7/6/09

Ok first off? I reaaallly don't want to hear about the movie "Across the Universe" in this. I'm very protective over The Beatles lol I grew up listening to them. I know many people that only like them because they heard a few songs from the movie. And for the record, yes the original version says "Her"..why not listen to the original instead of the crappy "Across the Universe" versions.

ANYWAY I always thought this song was from the perspective of the girl. Like what she was feeling when going into a new relationship. But, I read what James said and I have to say-your take makes sense too. Hmm new view on a wonderful song. Thanks ;D

No, ALKJF, you're wrong | Reviewer: Anonymous | 7/2/09

the lyrics are correct, they do say her- in reference to his current love. if he were to leave his current love for her, she'd better love him more , to make it worth the risk of ending a relationship.

get it straight people | Reviewer: bloodylim3y | 7/3/09

look guys this is the real version of "If I Fell" and no the beatles aren't gay when they talk about that other "her" they talk of a non-specific girl who they compare to this new love saying that there new love must promise to love them over "her"

Stupid! | Reviewer: Alkjf | 7/1/09

Guys you are so stupid! Its not the beatles singing to a guy! It's from Across the Universe so they changed it to her cuz a girl is singing it to a guy. In the beatles version, they say him and the beatles are singing it to a girl. Okay so stop being like eww the beatles are gay cuz they arent.

ok.. | Reviewer: al capone | 5/29/09

aight in these years i think being gay was a total sin and people would have hated to see something of that kind, so i dont see why it would be about a gay guy.. just my opinion too!
and about the song, its f-in awesome! xD ill be giving this one to someone special too :)

ahhhhh | Reviewer: james | 4/8/09

lol i don't see how you can see any kind of homosexuality in this. Its a guy (john) telling a girl that he is scared to fall in love with her and begging her not hurt him like the previous girl/love(her), just a day in the life of johns love life to me its similar to "don't let me down" again with his insecurities its just another one of his pleas is all
(and ismeal maybe its you that wants it to mean something else) but that's the thing with music that's great you can make just about any love song apply to just about any situation, but just because you can make a little side story that fits doesn't mean that's the story behind it. just look up the songs history or pick up a beatles book about their songs and history behind them but yea johns just a helpless romantic and an insecure one at that =p

"If I Fell" | Reviewer: Julie | 3/29/09

this song is really wonderful. it reminds me how powerful the songs of the Beatles are! someday, i would be dedicating this song to someone special to me. to the venus of my life, you may just be so busy right now but please, take time to appreciate other people's love and care for you. to all the Beatles fanatic, keep it up! =)

The story | Reviewer: Diego Fernandes | 3/24/09

In fact, this song Is about a guy that love a girl, but already was hurt by another girl before and because is a little insecure to love again. But that version was INCREDIBLE adapted for a girl that love a Guy that already have a girlfriend ond the tribute musical to Beatles, Across the Universe.