Reviews for I Am the Walrus Lyrics

Performed by The Beatles

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10   Next 10 Pages Current page No. 8/ 20
Add Your New Review About The Song

Easy now... | Reviewer: Gormania | 7/26/09

I've just read a bunch of these reviews and I can't stop myself from laughing! Stop getting so frustrated at other people's views, I'm sure every last one of you is wrong if that helps.

And for the reviews that says things about SWAT teams and what-not, remember that were not all American, and neither were the Beatles.

I'm going to go and enjoy this song, I hope you all decide to step away from rage and do the same.

The Walrus & The Carpenter | Reviewer: DaniJoe | 7/16/09

I think this lyric is influenced by the Poem from Through the Looking-Glass and What Alice Found There, 1872 - by Lewis Carrol. This poem, as the book, is very well know in British culture.

The Poem describes two individuos that trick the oysters for a walk in the beach to end up eating them. In the book Alice say about the Poem:

'I like the Walrus best,' said Alice: 'because you see he was a LITTLE sorry for the poor oysters.'

'He ate more than the Carpenter, though,' said Tweedledee. 'You see he held his handkerchief in front, so that the Carpenter couldn't count how many he took: contrariwise.'

'That was mean!' Alice said indignantly. 'Then I like the Carpenter best—if he didn't eat so many as the Walrus.'

'But he ate as many as he could get,' said Tweedledum.

This was a puzzler. After a pause, Alice began, 'Well! They were BOTH very unpleasant characters—


So, I think this lyric is about human kind that does wrong (eat the oyesters) and feel sorry for who they hurt (the oyesters), but they do it anyway.


The whole poem:
http://www.jabberwocky.com/carroll/walrus.html

Okay? | Reviewer: Davey Toonah | 6/29/09

I think you'll find that John Lennon wrote the lyrics and the only way you'd ever find a CORRECT and most exact description/interpretation to the lyrics is to ask him. Since he's dead it doesn't matter. The Beatles are one of the greatest bands to have ever existed, that's all we need to worry about.

What's wrong with people | Reviewer: Anonymous | 6/21/09

Ok for all you people who think they know so much....
Your stupid for trying to interpert the song cause johns whole point was to write a song that had no meaning to it, plus there is certain parts that have something to do with him and pauls friendship. You can say it's drugs and yes the policeman part was meant to sound like a siren. Other then that this song is great and was a great idea meant to be written

interpretation | Reviewer: bdyanks | 6/5/09

This song was written as a revolt against the interpretation by others on the meaning of Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds. John Lennon was pissed off that people thought it was about LSD instead of a picture that his son drew for him that he wrote this song. He said that if they want a drug song he would give it to them. Every line in this song is just random things that John said during an acid trip and he just put them all together to create this song.

The Beatles. A Teacher. The Fuckers | Reviewer: The Extra Terrestrial | 3/23/09

I think that this song, as written by several others before me, has to do with totally stumping this teacher that he had the interview with. It makes sense. I think it may also be, as others have also written, directed at all those who try to analyze his music in general. so yes, in a way, a "I'll show you!" song

dont know what to call this | Reviewer: Betty | 3/22/09

you do know that this song was to screw people over(the people who tried to interpret it). When Lennon was asked in an interview what the song was about he answered "nothing" and then said...."If Bob Dylan can write nonsense, so can I".

I am the Walrus | Reviewer: Yippingprairie | 3/7/09

Very simple. Lennon hearing a british police siren going by his window while at the piano, came up with the basic melody for this song. He then went through some basic lines written in notes over the years and strung them together. He said to himself, "I dare the BBC to tell me what this song means!" As it was simply gibberish. The rest is History!

To hippychick... | Reviewer: Anonymous | 2/10/09

As far as interpretation...I sigh.

I have heard (though I claim to be no expert here) that the (I am he...we are all together) came from their memories of three separate trips. From each of these, JL tried to devise a song. The imagery from most of it was supposedly memories of these trips. While they may have meant it on some level to have a deeper meaning, I have to go with the "Hm." Comment. Their songs are whatever you want them to be.

And the police bit, Lennon had said that he improvised that to the beat of a police siren when a cop car passed him one day.

danni | Reviewer: Anonymous | 2/8/09

Its funny how many people try to interpret this, because the Beatles wrote this song because they were mocking the people who tried so hard to interpret their songs. The purpose of the song is that there is no meaning, and to perplex those who insist on interpreting it.

My Interpretation | Reviewer: hippychik | 1/28/09

FIRST VERSE-
"I am he as you are he as you are me and we are all together." - would this not go to show that no matter what differences people think they have from race to race, that they are actually all the part of the "human Race"... hence- "we are all together"?
the part "see how they fly" could be metaphorically speaking of seeing people with a neuse around their necks, hanging from trees? At the end of this verse when he says "i'm crying" This probably meaning that these acts make him sad.
SECOND VERSE-
I think this whole verse refers to the men who wear suit&tie to work. "sitting on a cornflake, waiting for the van to come" to me, interprets, trying to sit in a crowded bus stand (a cornflake is tiny, much like the amount of room they have to sit on) and the "van" would be a bus (metaphorically called van because the busses are crowded, and feel quite a bit smaller than what you would picture, if you had never been on a city bus)-- "Man, you been a naughty boy, you let your face grow long." I think this means ... they have let themselves into their unhappy job, and are doing nothing to make themselves happy in life... hence "you've let you face grow long" also used in the common saying "why such a long face?"
THIRD VERSE-
I'm pretty sure that this might be about protesting. "Mister City P'liceman sitting...Pretty little policemen in a row" would refer to the people that run the city, including the policemen that sit in offices, sending "pretty little policemen" (swat) to the scene of a large protest, where they stand in a row, facing the protestors.
"See how they fly like Lucy in the Sky, see how they run." would then refer to when gunshots are fired, the pretty policemen don't think twice about doing so, hence- "see how they fly like lucy in the sky". Leaving the part part saying "see how they run", would be when the protestors run from the gunshots.
FOURTH VERSE-
I believe this verse is about dirty whores, women who will open their legs for anyone.
"yellow matter custard... dripping from a dead dog's eye"- Picture a grubby, dirty man, with diseases (metaphorically called a dog)- this being said, to show the kind of people whore do end up sleeping with. "crabalocker fishwife" means a sexually dirty wife, who has alot of crabs(crab-a-locker), and smells like fish. "Pornographic Priestess" probably means that even those who are thought to be "pure" are not always that, and they too engage in sexually explicit acts that are done for the wrong reasons, and overall wrong in Gods eyes.
"Boy, you been a naughty girl and you let your knickers down."- pretty self-explanitory! haha
____________________________
Thats all i've got so far!
Hope you liked it!!

Expert texpert choking smokers, Don't you think the joker laughs at you? | Reviewer: Caity | 1/26/09

The Beatles are my biggest inspiration in life, and their music actually saved my life. Whether they did drugs, whether or not this song has a meaning, none of that matters. Appreciate the music and find your own meaning in it, the same as you finding your own meaning in life. It's all about perceptions.
Peace the world

john Lenon | Reviewer: Mandon | 1/21/09

I heard that John Lenon had an interveiw with a profeesor, who said that there was a course at his school, whose purpose was to "deciefer" Beatles songs, and he wrote I am the Walrus as an "I'll show you!" song.

How about reading things correctly | Reviewer: Julz | 1/18/09

To the person who wrote this quote:

"I'm interested in the reviews that say the "lyrics still apply today" and "it's sometimes true"... exactly which bits? is it "Sitting on a cornflake, waiting for the van to come" or "Semolina Pilchard, climbing up the Eiffel Tower" that seem particularly relevant?

Come on... find some music that actually has lyrics for fuck's sake!"

I suggest you learn to read properly. The quote that you're referring to by Karen, she stated that "Their music and lyrics still apply today". As in, their music as a collective, not just this one song.

Learn to read properly.

i am the walrus goo goo goo'd joob | Reviewer: Anonymous | 1/16/09

look everyone knows the beatles were on drugs, they used marijuana and later on started using LSD, its a well known fact, buy the beatles anthology and the beatles are interviewed talking about their drug usage in the past. I am the walrus is a great song whether it was about a trip or not, there is no point trying to understand its hidden meaning(if it even has one) John Lennon is the only one who knows the truth behind his songs and he has taken them to the grave, just enjoy the songs and don't look into them too much. As to the comment saying something to the effect that only stoners can enjoy the beatles and they were nothing more than just stoners thats bullshit, the beatles all played many instruments, and besides do you know a band who can last 40 odd years without the music getting old, no? didnt think so.


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10   Next 10 Pages Current page No. 8/ 20