<3 | Reviewer: Sophie | 9/25/11

Its the same with any great band - The Beatles, Nirvana, Pink Floyd and many more. They write amazing songs that blow your mind, regardless if they were on drugs or not. And people can never be happy without knowing what the songs are really about. Just kick back, relax, crank the music, and enjoy the simplistic fact that its a great song.

end this nonsensical hub-bub! | Reviewer: the peacekeeper | 9/6/11

Kay guys, you all are putting this song to shame by merely arguing over these profound lyrics. Do you seriously think that these words have no meaning, and were just slapped together? Think about it. This song was made during a time when many americans were outraged against the government & against killing innocent people in pointless wars. These songs were meant to protest for what is right & encourage people to have their own opinions. Its obvious that the beatles were promoting open- mindedness through their factual metaphors (yes, if you look into the lyrics you should be able to realize that they are talking about the bigger picture; not just the cops, but THE MAN!) Whether they did drugs or not is irrelevant to how their songs turned out, even though they make references to it. Anyways man, you guys shouldnt bag on eachother for having differing opinions. Not cool man, not cool. KEEP THE PEACE! BEAT THE SYSTEM! AND FIGHT FOR WHAT YOU BELIEVE IS RIGHT!

Well... | Reviewer: Shadow | 6/19/11

I want to clear things up a bit. First off, Lucy In The Sky With Diamond can have a double meaning, like all songs. You can hear whatever you want. So, if some people want to invision this lsd trip, go ahead. Others would like to see a picture by Julian Lennon. Whatever. Same thing with this song. Some sayings about certain Beatle song aren't interpretations, rather facts. For example, I Am The Walrus. It was based on a Lewis Carrol thing. It was also based on 4 other things. 1 was a letter he got from a student. This student told John ennon that a teacher was breaking down Beatle lyrics, looking for any hidden meanings. 2. John was listening to a police siren and sang "Mister City Policeman" to the sound of the siren. 3. He wrote a poem about him sitting in his garden. The 4th was about him sitting on a cornflake. He wanted to turn 2 3 and 4 into songs. So, 3 seperate songs. But he just couldn't do it. So he turned them into 1 song. As for the paul is dead rumour... well... that's complicated...

would you? | Reviewer: another beatles fan | 5/24/11

Im so sorry guys but think it well.DO YOU REALLY THINK MCCARTNY'S FAMILY WOULD LET THEIR SON BE CLONED BY SOME BASTARD?! Sorry for that but be realistic it was just a beatle joke and; do you think they would keep working without their bestfriend?Would you? cause I wont. One more thing : this is one of his best songs.

C'mon Guys | Reviewer: Anonymous | 5/24/11

You see everyone arguing about what this really means. But whatever John wrote it about, it's his own. All we can do now is take our interpretation and free our minds with it. That's the power of the Beatles. None of this argumentative stuff. We are supposed to hear it, and enjoy it. :D

I love them | Reviewer: JB | 5/23/11

You guys shouldnt be arguing about the Beatles, they didnt write their songs to be argued over. They are meant to be enjoyed by everyone. And dont think you sound smart dude because you wrote out LSD, we are on the internet for christs sake. But the Beatles did do LSD. How it is relevant to the song no one but them will know, and Paul is alive. If anyone says he is dead, they are literally retarded. The man still tours! Do you think "when he died" they made a clone? No. He has always looked, sounded, and acted the same. Plus if there was this original Paul, he was around so long ago that he had no influence on this band. Do they call Ringo fake even though Pete Best was the original drummer? No. Now go back to doing your drugs and shut up with your conspiracy crap

U GUYS R HIGH!!!!! LoL | Reviewer: Some guy | 4/28/11

Paul is dead. 9/11 was an inside job. There are aliens in Roswell. Sir han sir han was a manchurian candidate and the tooth fairy really does exist. Hahahahahahaha. Talk about black helicopters. Hahahahah what ever u conspiracy theory dudes are on u need to divide it not hide it!!!! Lol

I Am the Walrus | Reviewer: Nasal Seepage | 4/24/11

I spent like 5 days trying to comprehend this song. My conclusion: Paul died a terrible accident and was replaced somehow. After all, they had plastic surgeries since the World Wars. Although it matters not to me whether Paul is actually dead or not, I am very confident that the real Paul died. Most of my points are the same as the other posts that say Paul died. Infact, I recall an interview with Harrison where he called Paul Faul (some time after the supposed accident), which probably means fake Paul. Anyway, if it was a cover-up, I learned nothing new, because I already mistrust my govt because of Patton's "car accident", the Vietnam War, 9/11, etc...

The song was good as an acid trip or the mourning of supposedly dead Paul. Beautiful sound and mysterious vibe.

the real facts | Reviewer: chris | 4/1/11

John was throwing together nonsense lyrics to mess with the heads of scholars trying to dissect The Beatles songs. They also mention that it's John's answer to Bob Dylan's "getting away with murder" style of songwriting. Lennon told Playboy years later that "I can write that crap too," which is rarely mentioned in relation to this song.The first line was written on one acid trip one weekend. The second line was written on the next acid trip the next weekend Lennon got the idea for the oblique lyrics when he received a letter from a student who explained that his English teacher was having the class analyze Beatles songs. Lennon answered the letter he idea for the Walrus came from the poem The Walrus and The Carpenter, which is from the sequel to Alice in Wonderland called Through the Looking-Glass Lennon said: "It never dawned on me that Lewis Carroll was commenting on the capitalist and social system. I never went into that bit about what he really meant, like people are doing with the Beatles' work. Later, I went back and looked at it and realized that the walrus was the bad guy in the story and the carpenter was the good guy. I thought, Oh, s--t, I picked the wrong guy. I should have said, 'I am the carpenter.' But that wouldn't have been the same, would it?" When Lennon decided to write confusing lyrics, he asked his friend Pete Shotton for a nursery rhyme they used to sing. Shotton gave them this rhyme, which Lennon incorporated into the song:
"Yellow matter custard, green slop pie, all mixed together with a dead dog's eye.
Slap it on a butty, ten foot thick, then wash it all down with a cup of cold sick." The song's opening line, "I am he as you are he as you are me and we are all together" is based on the song "Marching To Pretoria," which contains the lyric, "I'm with you and you're with me and we are all together." This song helped fuel the rumor that Paul McCartney was dead. It's quite a stretch, but theorists found these clues in the lyrics, none of which are substantiated:
"Waiting for the van to come" means the 3 remaining Beatles are waiting for a police van to come. "Pretty little policemen in a row" means policemen did show up.
"Goo goo ga joob" were the final words that Humpty Dumpty said before he fell off the wall and died.
During the fade, while the choir sings, a voice says "Bury Me" which is what Paul might have said after he died.
During the fade, we hear someone reciting the death scene from Shakespeare's play "King Lear." In The Beatles song "Glass Onion," Lennon sang, "The Walrus was Paul." He got a kick out of how people tried to interpret his lyrics and figure out who the Walrus was.and in the song god john says he was th walrus so basicly he was the walrus even in the i am the walrus music video it obvious he is

Re: Beatles Wrote This On DRUGS | Reviewer: Craig | 3/29/11

I know from my own experience as a songwriter that I hardly ever actually wrote while high. I would drop LSD and be inspired later by the experience, or I would shoot coke (I am now clean and sober) and write to deal with the pains of being an IV user. I think they most prob. did interned for a lot of the Beatles songs to be experienced while high, much like they experienced music when they were on a trip. I think they def wanted to put out some heady stuff.

How exquisite my good friends! | Reviewer: Blue eyes | 2/18/11

For his fans, friends and foes alike to be having this conversation today, all of these years later...

What a marvellous outcome for having a bit of fun...and having a crack at "The Establishment" just for good measure.

Maybe he was right. The relevance of the Beatles may in time outstrip that of our mainstream theologians.

And he achieved it with apparent ease, his masterful irreverence and eloquent, cutting sarcasm.

But then again, I my well be completely wrong. How exquisite too!


I Am the Annoyed | Reviewer: Unknown | 1/19/11

Please don't insult each other, and please don't drag Lucy into this; whether they were on drugs when they wrote it has nothing to do with whether they were on drugs when they wrote I Am the Walrus. "Kato, now is neither the time nor the place!"
I love The Beatles' songs. I think they were brilliant, whether they were on drugs or not. Even if John was on drugs when he wrote the lyrics, his ideas did not come solely from such a source. The imagery from 'The Walrus and the Carpenter' is obvious. The Walrus attempts a discussion of flying pigs, he and the Carpenter are by the sea (crabalocker fishwife)...the entire poem is utter nonsense, just like this song.

Origins | Reviewer: Amy | 1/11/11

First off I want to say I know nothing other than the common speculation of the LSD and whatnot. Maybe it's true maybe it isn't, but either way the art that came out of it is significant and should be explored. When you put those lyrics into the context of the time they were written and take into consideration the dialect you can actually pull some very clear easily understood allusions to [social issues] for lack of a better term that were the hot button issue of the moment at the time in that place.

So my stance is drugs or none, social message or none the lyrics speak to the human existence enough that you can take what you need from their music regardless of what generation you're from. There is a reason The Beatles are amongst the epitome of "classic rock". It is music that most people can connect to regardless of when or where they were born.


PAUL IS NOT DEAD! AND ITS NOT ABOUT LSD | Reviewer: Anonymous | 1/3/11

For gods sake, Paul DID not die, the song is a bout a book written by some dude which i cant remember lol but even if you say 'you got that shit from wikipedia' its in The Beatles Anthology DVD's. And john addmitedly said that the first verse was written on an Acid Trip.

the truth | Reviewer: smart one | 1/2/11

Paul isn't dead my good sir. He is still alive and actually still tours with his band around the world. Nobody in the Beatles died from a crash, john was shot and George died from cancer. And about the LSD, that song is not about LSD. Even he Beatles themselves have refused the truth to that rumour. I heard that john was under he effects of LSD while he wrote and saw strange things, apparently his daughter with diamonds I
n the sky. Buy the song itself my friends, is not about LSD. Good day.