my own view | Reviewer: Darryl | 8/24/11

Hey people, I think this song is awesome because he's singing about a girl that i see every day.
Girls who care more about looks and popularity rather than the sake of another, at least that's what I think he's singing about. Oh yeah, the inhaling sound thing could be the sound that you make when you see a hot-looking girl.
anyways, this song's awesome

it's both! | Reviewer: McKenzie | 6/28/11

Don't understand why everyones up and arms about whether or not its about pot or a girl... I mean clearly, he wrote it about his wife and his marriage troubles with Cynthia, but I think the pot reference in there is a reference to his own life of how he dealt with those marriage troubles, which was through drugs. Beautiful song.

girl | Reviewer: fudge girl | 6/20/11

this song is my personal favourite and i don`t understand y ppl thinks its about weeds!!its obviously about a girl who`s a lil hard 2 handle!dat inhaling sound?well yeah it sounds as if dey r inhaling something.bt we use that inhaling sound when we get frustrated or when we feel pain..so its quite normal for me to hear that.
this song is NOT about weeds or anything.its about a girl <3 and dis song is awesome ^^

Simply Catchy! | Reviewer: Nouman | 3/25/11

The words are simple, the message is not a very tangled up one, but that's exactly what makes it extremely addictive. The vocals are brilliant and make you want to listen to the song multiple times. An absolute favorite of mine, especially due to the creative stereo sound editing in the song! Amazing! God bless U guys!

girl | Reviewer: Anonymous | 3/16/11

why do you all besides a few think its about pot?
not every beatles song is about drugs. for those of you who think like that. FUCK YOU. you are simple minded fucks. go kill yourself. good, one less dumb fuck on this planet, it feels a bit lighter, i can breath better. FUCK YOU.

Girlfriend much? | Reviewer: jchet | 2/14/11

It seems most of you have not dated a girl who treated you in such a way. Give it time and you may. She is cold, mysterious, and keeps her compassion and love guarded. These actions would leave you frustrated. Thus, the inhale through clinched teeth. Not everything is about weed.JC

not every beatles song is about pot | Reviewer: Anonymous | 12/7/10

Yellow submarine, a line in Lucy in the sky with diamonds, several others, yes. This song, is actually about a girl. The inhale is through clenched teeth, a sharp breadth demonstrating frustration. Pot never puts you down qamong ur friends or cries when u try to leave it.

all about the post who came to stay | Reviewer: sara | 8/16/10

I really love this song! Yes it could be about weed cuz in the chorus they take a big inhale lol. But this dosent stop me from loving the beatles. Im in 9th grade now and started this romance in 5th. Im utterly obsessed about these "poets" and may john and goerge rest in peace my loves ;]

A girl called mary potter | Reviewer: nevertolateful | 6/22/10

yeah, Mathia I believe you´re right and by girl we should understand some pot, which is understandable gven the time the song was first release during the crazy sities. It is goddo to reread all things even when they have long past before our ears and eyes. thank you

^^ | Reviewer: Matthias | 4/27/10

oh its one of the best songs ever made

but i think the lyrics are about marijuana
perhaps im wrong cause i dont know very much about the beatles only that they smoked a lot of weed :) and that they were great musicians but the sound in the refrain sounds like an inhalation of 'something'
sry for the bad english xD
greets from germany
ps. im 19 :P

L. | Reviewer: Anonymous | 1/20/10

Every song by the Beatles is timeless, and has no required age to enjoy it. Across the Universe really took a few amazing songs and brought them to the next level. I wouldnt say they're better than the original version, but on a more modernized level that we can enjoy now.

Is there anybody going to read my post... | Reviewer: Anonymous | 9/17/09

I really like this song as the opening of across the universe. It just kicks you in the face and the first line creates the setting for the rest of the movie. I loved the movie, but at some points it did get a little trippy.