It's whatever you make it. | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/28/14

I've seen a lot of hostility in the reviews of this song about whether it's about a girl who worked her boyfriend to the bone or about being an addict, and I'm glad y'all have opinions about it, but should you really be fighting about it? "Beauty is in the eye of the beholder", but so is the message. If you're one to listen to the song and take the lyrics to the literal meaning, then that's fine. There's nothing wrong with that. But I've seen tons of people lamenting about personal experience with drugs and about how they could relate to this song based off of those experiences, and I think that's very powerful. And we all know the Beatles are very metaphorical. You don't think "Doctor Roberts" was just a sentimental guy who cared about your wellbeing, do you? Nah, he's probably a drug dealer. And do you really think Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds was just about that? No, that really sounds like a trip on LSD. The members of the Beatles had their own experiences with drugs, so I don't think it's fair to completely disregard this theory,but it really is whatever you make of it. If you think it's about Marijuana or crack cocane, then it's about that. If you think it's about a girl who worked her boyfriend to the bone, then it's about that, and no further arguing has to be done over the topic. I love this song, and I hate to see people fight over what they think it means instead of having a logical discussion about it somewhere other than a review section under fake names.

Awesome | Reviewer: Juan | 8/5/13

[...]it's a wise and sad song about a girl that never gives you a 100% of her attention, what is making you so crazy about her and makes it so hard to leave her, because you don't actually feel that she is yours. She is beautiful and unique, yet she doesn't really love you, just the idea of you. She's very confident of herself, and aware of how you feel about her, and that's why she feel so comfortable to play with you and humiliate you. And you are like her puppy. THAT'S what the song is about." Man, that was awesome.

When he's dead | Reviewer: Soma | 1/18/13

Was she told when she was young that pain would lead to pleasure?Did she understand it when they said that a man must break his back to earn his day of leisure? Will she still believe it when he's dead?
To me this is the most profound line John ever wrote. I hear people saying all the time that "it's a guy's job" to do this or that, especially to earn all the money, and subtly or not so subtly people are telling girls that if a guy isn't constantly breaking his back for her temporal well being then he's not worth being kind to. Then some girls grow up thinking they just have to act sweet when things get rocky and they'll prolong a relationship where the guy gives her his all. %45 of suicides are by unemployed men between 35-50 (about %2 of the population) because people don't put any worth on them and then proceed to blame them for it. And there are many more deaths from men having stress related health issues because they're too scared to take the "easy way" out. To me, this isn't just John's story, this is a story of gender bias that's politically incorrect to address.

a Girl | Reviewer: Boy | 1/11/13

Girl | Reviewer: a Girl | 11/25/12
you say total bullshits... i have never heard about cocaine, which puts you down and make you feel a fool... grow up and stop tellin fairy tails... its about a girl, how its says in the song, not about fakin drugs

Girl | Reviewer: a Girl | 11/25/12

I actually got the feeling that this song is about cocaine...."Girl". I used to be addicted to coke and these lyrics make sense. The inhale noise could be inhaling through your nostril. I'm not sure, but that's what I got out of it!

I'll never leave her | Reviewer: Nick | 11/22/12

I used to be a regular pot smoker like 2 years a ago. And I must say that this song explains me feelings and reletionship with it. You see, there are certain kind of people, like me, who see marijuana (and many other kind of things too) as something more than an plant that makes you high. The plant has a personality, and it depends on you if you can control "her" of if she controls you.
There's a big chance that John didn't feel the same with pot as I did, but this songs relate pretty much with my relation with pot in those days.
I did feel down among my friends, I did wanted "her" a lot, but still, I stopped doing stuff just to get high, I was so bad when i realized all that I had lost. But yet, I still lover "her", I just "kiss" her once every 3 months or so nowadays, but I know I'll never leave her.
PD: Sorry for my English, it's my second language.

Really... | Reviewer: Anonymous | 1/4/12

the song is about a man in love with a female displaying Borderline Personality Disorder traits. Perhaps a bit of narcissism. I've been there. Don't EVER go there. Those type of people can't resist controlling and contorting you until you are a shell of your former self, hence the line "will she still believe it when he is dead?"

WAR IS OVER | Reviewer: Rachel | 12/5/11

"you are simple minded fucks. go kill yourself. good, one less dumb fuck on this planet, it feels a bit lighter, i can breath better. FUCK YOU."

Harsh, girl. Too each his own! Is it not really up to personal interpretation? I don't think any of us have personally talked with John Lennon about the meaning of this song and I sure don't think he would appreciate the hostility generated over it here. Also, in Rolling Stone Lennon said: "in a way, trying to say something or other about Christianity". Give peace a chance, brothers and sisters.

RIP John Lennon, nearly 21 years ago

girl | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/7/11

The inhale sound produced during the chorus has nothing to do with pot. If you clench your teeth and inhale sharply, as the Beatles do in video, one realizes that the sound is actually meant to express the frustration/anger/confusion that is felt about the girl.

girl | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/7/11

I completely agree with the comment below. I couldn't say it any better. I love the Boss but I've been toyed by her long enough. The only way I can forget her is to ostracize myself, and from tonight on that is what I will do. I hope I am able this time around.

girl | Reviewer: someone | 10/11/11

This song is NOT about weed. Seriously, it's a wise and sad song about a girl that never gives you a 100% of her attention, what is making you so crazy about her and makes it so hard to leave her, because you don't actually feel that she is yours. She is beautiful and unique, yet she doesn't really love you, just the idea of you. She's very confident of herself, and aware of how you feel about her, and that's why she feel so comfortable to play with you and humiliate you. And you are like her puppy. THAT'S what the song is about.

THE LAW OF RELATIVENESS | Reviewer: Anonymous | 9/25/11

Is there any body interested in such a tragedy of a man dieing, disregarding his own welfare, trying to please a girl with looks of an Angel. The author's cry from the soul of a man in a world where nobody seems to care, a world where material and selfishness is the norm; yet, this young man's desire to faithfully take care of this girl... a loud message that love is totally unconditionally; you love because you want to, not because you'll be loved back. gabe59