As a metaphor? | Reviewer: UmbraPercussion | 10/31/12

There's people saying 'oh it's about a woman' and theres people saying 'no, it's about acid'.
Now, perhaps I'm looking into this too much, but maybe you're both right.
What if he's referring to the drug as a woman? About how it 'teased him' and 'he tried to please her' ; perhaps a nod towards addiction?
'One way ticket' could refer to the way that a habit can lead to ruin and 'it took me so long to find out' could be the self denial of a habit, until you're so far gone that you finally realise, or the realisation that the 'woman' is using you.

Also 'taking the easy way out' could be referring to the stressful routine they went through and the 'easy way out' was to augment themselves with narcotics.

Just an idea. Who knows? Maybe it's about drugs. Maybe it's about women.
Either way, that's the beauty of music; it means different things to different people.

hahahaha this site sucks | Reviewer: BEN | 4/11/12

did anybody else besides me notice that who ever wrote this put George martin? his name is George Harrison ya wanker. and yes this song IS about a woman who "sleeps around" i mean really, listen to the real song... with all the lyrics and it makes complete sense.
"Tried to please her, she only played one night stands" now does that sound like tripping acid?

lyrics | Reviewer: John | 5/1/10

John Lennon said: "Day trippers are people who go on a day trip, right? Usually on a ferryboat or something. But [the song] was kind of . . . you're just a weekend hippie. Get it?"

The line recorded as "she's a big teaser" WAS originally written as "she's a prick teaser." These are the same Beatles that loved slipping dirty jokes in past George Martin, for instance in "Girl" they got a big kick out of singing "tit tit tit tit."

Let's slow this down so people can understand... haha!

The song is about a girl and girl only. It talks about a girl (aka prick teaser) who "she took me half the way there." "She only plays one night stands." and sunday driver is someone who drives annoying slow for a leisurely sunday drive... hence she wanted to go slow and wouldn't take him all the way. It took him so long to find out cause he thought she'd finally put out but never did.

Lennon's quote: All We Are Saying: The Last Major Interview with John Lennon and Yoko Ono. Pg 177

proof from McCartney it was originally prick teaser:Paul McCartney: Many Years From Now. New York: Henry Holt & Company. pg 209-210

Look who's wrong... | Reviewer: James | 2/3/10

Whoever said this song was not about Acid; well, you're wrong. In 2004, Paul McCartney did an interview with the Daily Mirror newspaper where he explained that drugs influenced many of The Beatles' songs. He singled Day Tripper out as being about acid (LSD), but also said that people often overestimate the influence of drugs on their music.

Wrong wrong wrong | Reviewer: Anonymous | 12/8/09

This song is not about paul and acid tripping you clod. Day tripper is a type of ticket sold for the tube system in london. She was a day tripper refers to a girl taking a one way trip into town and not returning that day, implying she was sleeping around,

lol @ acid trip, stupid american kids

song meaning | Reviewer: Anonymous | 9/10/09

Day Tripper is about Paul being hesitant to trip on acid but finally did. he heard you'll never be the same afterwards. hence, "She was a day tripper, one way ticket, yeah!
It took me so.... long to find out, and I found out". google it

----teaser, one more time | Reviewer: pwneumann | 9/7/09

Probably the foremost authority on the Beatles is Philip Norman, author of Shout: The Beatles and Their Generation and, in 2008, 'John Lennon The Life'. He states in JL(p.427)that the words are "'big teaser' deliberately sung to sound like 'prick teaser'". There were many sexual inuendos in that piece, they knew George Martin wouldn't let them get away with the latter lyrics but sang something like "brick teaser". The Beatles were no longer innocents after their Hamburg days. See Norman's account in "John Lennon".

dodgy lyrics | Reviewer: Anon | 1/26/09

The Beatles did not have the lyrics "She's a prick teaser" in this song. Anyone who thinks they did clearly has no idea about a) The Beatles b) language

Any reputable lyric sheet will show the line "she's a real teaser".

a really on time group, starmaker song with solid sound class | Reviewer: dentynes60@yahoo.com | 11/28/08

The Beatles were truly on time for reafirming love between as god would have it a man & a women.Heart felt and induring lyrics for this age.Clean cut and cut to the chase meaning was the fab four.George's intricate sound and most tastefull Guitar licks were just the tip of excellence!

Another Singer | Reviewer: Mike L. | 6/24/07

Back in the 60s when she was still living , the movie actress , Mae West , sang one of the Beatles songs as a rock singer . I think that song was " Day Tripper " ; not sure .

ckeck this out | Reviewer: Anonymous | 6/21/07

check the song out from jimi hendrix in the bbc sessions album. Jimi rocks

sweet | Reviewer: Anonymous | 6/15/07

thanks i have been trying to learn these so now i can sing with my guitar