Ha | Reviewer: Hamilton Man | 10/17/10

It took me a couple minutes, but I managed to find the message about the satanic stuff, and what I have to say is, "wow". For two reasons, first this person must be satanic to know about it, and second I, along with any other true "The Beatles" fan, know that the message underneath ALL of their lyrics is "Love" in some way or another. Why are people trying to twist for their jollies? Grow up, didn't your mother ever tell "if ya ain't got 'nothin nice to say...don't say 'nothin."? Go enjoy your "satanism" on a satanist form.

Christ you know it aint easy | Reviewer: Christoffer | 10/14/10

Blackbird is a great song - like most Beetles songs it grabs you and you may not know why. I believe it to be their embedded love that just comes through. Some say you had to ba a Beetles fan or a Stones fan. I like some of the Stones work, but found much of their music unsettling & think it was due to the lack of love in their music that sometimes turned me off. Just my opinion you see, I'm just sayin...

Ignorance isnt always blissful | Reviewer: betina | 9/26/10

I love the Beatles. they are amazing. Who ever decided to publish that comment about how they're satanic then they are just plain stupid for wasting their time to look for the song and explain how satanic the song is. They are one of the most iconic band in world history, and just because of that they deserve respect for their songs and opinions. Long live the Beatles

Think Before You Stink | Reviewer: Dove | 9/17/10

I believe that this song is one of the most beautiful songs of all time. Not in the "rock out" sense, but in the calm, pure aspects. My father used to sing this song to me as a child, and it's still one of my fondest memories. How can the Beatles be satanist when more than 3/4 of their songs are harmless (the other quarter accounting for those songs published with the heart and emotion of the times; which could get very oppresive)? It just doesn't compute. I ask you this, all the critics and anti-Beatles people who come here just to flame...why? Why are you deriding a song with no evil or similarly objectionable content? Just because the people who wrote it aren't your favorite band, or did drugs (some of which were thought relatively harmless at the time)? Let me ask you this; do YOU like it when people with no real understanding of your favorite song come and say dead nasty things about it without considering its true value? The sane answer would be "no" (unless you're semi-masochistic as well). I guess what the whole point of this is...if you don't like the style, or the people who wrote it (this includes their actions), or the content (which would be dead ludicrous unless you're racist), then don't comment. Constructive criticism aside, negative comments are just destructive. I ask you to please reconsider your views and put your differences aside, THEN come back, listen again and submit at least a partially intelligent comment coming from a relatively unbiased person (assuming that you set aside your differences as asked). Thank you for your time.

HEY ANONYMOUS USER | Reviewer: Anonymous | 9/11/10

ummm this is directed to that ignorant shmuck that said Hotel California was about a Satanist Church heres the real history of the song use your resources better next time so you dont look so stupid

The song's lyrics describe the title establishment as a luxury resort where "you can check out anytime you like, but you can never leave." On the surface, the song tells the tale of a weary traveler who becomes trapped in a nightmarish luxury hotel that at first appeared inviting and tempting. The song is an allegory about hedonism and self-destruction in the Southern California music industry of the late 1970s; Don Henley called it "our interpretation of the high life in Los Angeles"and later reiterated "it's basically a song about the dark underbelly of the American dream and about excess in America, which is something we knew a lot about."[7] In 2008, Don Felder described the origins of the lyrics:

"Don Henley and Glenn wrote most of the words. All of us kind of drove into LA at night. Nobody was from California, and if you drive into LA at night... you can just see this glow on the horizon of lights, and the images that start running through your head of Hollywood and all the dreams that you have, and so it was kind of about that... what we started writing the song about. Coming into LA... and from that Life In The Fast Lane came out of it, and Wasted Time and a bunch of other songs.":[8]

The abstract nature of the lyrics has led listeners to their own interpretations over the years. In the 1980s, some Christian evangelists alleged that "Hotel California" referred to a San Francisco hotel purchased by Anton LaVey and converted into the Church of Satan.Other rumors suggested that the Hotel California was the Camarillo State Mental Hospital.THESE CLAIMS HAVE BEEN CONSISTENTLY DENIED BY THE BAND.

The term "colitas" in the first stanza of the song is a Spanish term, in mexican slang, for "little tails" and a reference to the buds of the Cannabis plant.

In a 2009 interview, Plain Dealer music critic John Soeder asked Don Henley this about the lyrics:

On "Hotel California," you sing: "So I called up the captain / 'Please bring me my wine' / He said, 'We haven't had that spirit here since 1969.'" I realize I'm probably not the first to bring this to your attention, but wine isn't a spirit. Wine is fermented; spirits are distilled. Do you regret that lyric?

Henley responded,

"Thanks for the tutorial and, no, you're not the first to bring this to my attention—and you're not the first to completely misinterpret the lyric and miss the metaphor. Believe me, I've consumed enough alcoholic beverages in my time to know how they are made and what the proper nomenclature is. But that line in the song has little or nothing to do with alcoholic beverages. It's a sociopolitical statement. My only regret would be having to explain it in detail to you, which would defeat the purpose of using literary devices in songwriting and lower the discussion to some silly and irrelevant argument about chemical processes."


from Paul McCartney himself | Reviewer: Anonymous | 8/18/10

This is song about two minorities(blacks and women) that finally get some justice in America/western world at that time(in the sixties). Note that the English slang for "Chicks" is "birds". The Beatles were far from dark.

no satanic | Reviewer: neat | 8/1/10

they were no satanist. they used to take drugs like LSD, maybe weed and shrooms, which gives you joy in life. they tried to show the light of this world. I think it means that this world suck, its dark, corrupted but if you dont look at those things, if you notice the light, you can enjoy your life no matter what happens around you.

If the Beatles were ever evil we made them that way | Reviewer: Anonymous | 7/31/10

Songwriters: Lennon, John Winston; McCartney, Paul James
sang by: Paul James McCartney

To single out the Beatles as evil is evil itself.
When the Beatles first came to America and were told the now famous
Shea stadium concert would be on a Sunday, they were shocked!
They never heard of a rock concert on Sunday.

John complained the loudest, when he stated:
"Nobody will come, all the kids will be in church, it's as if people think the Beatles are more important than Jesus Christ?"

The American press always looking for sensationalism took this commit out of context, and printed John Lennon claims "the Beatles are more important than Jesus Christ"!

Every since then John and the Beatles were dragged through the mud by every false religion that jumped on the anti-Beatles band wagon.

I've heard a lot of so called religious people say one band or another was evil, funny thing is they all liked "Hotel California" by the Eagles, a song that openly describes the first church of satin, that opened in a hotel in California in 1969.

If your reading this then you have a computer check it out for yourself
Anything else is a lie! ~DÆ~





my Opinion | Reviewer: i<3u | 6/7/10

I believe that the Beatles were not at all satanic- see those lyrics?? U see ANYTHING evil or devilish or what-the-crap-ou-accuse-them-of ? now, i didnt think so. thus, i dont think u hav a right to call the Beatles (praise them 4ever!!!!) satanic. ok?? thank u. oh btw... dont come and look at their lyrics and then spread slander about them... 8)

third verse is missing | Reviewer: Anonymous | 5/14/10

i did a cover of this song... but this version of the lyrics is missing the third verse:(

"Blackbird singing in the dead of night
Take this broken heart and learn to love
All your life
You were only waiting for an angel from above"

^^^^my fave verse, shame its not here but oh well

Thoughts and things... | Reviewer: Anonymous | 4/5/10

Great song. Elliott Smith does a great cover. Religion is supposed to be something that gives people hope and unites us human beings. Instead, people use it to bicker and fight about who's imaginary city is waiting for us. Here's the skivvy...there is no city, no after party, no nothing. Yes, there may be a God(creator), but the idea that there's a place for us all to meet up after we die is just a lie perpetuated by people who can't live for the moment, and can't be good people without some promise of reward. Sometimes when things are over, they're just over.

Actual meaning of the song | Reviewer: Anonymous | 4/4/10

I saw Paul McCartney in concert last night, and he sang this song. He said that the song was actually written about the Brown vs. Board of Education decision and the ramifications of that in Arkansas.

my opinion | Reviewer: Anonymous | 3/27/10

honestly i dont believe that the beatles were satanist, although in this world there are satanic or sinful actions. One of them are drugs, like psychedelics, members of the beatles took them. to enhance their creativity, and writing. because they were under the influence, to the extreme-ist of the christian religion, certain perspectives may appear satanic, but the beatles themselve, the people arent. dont hate on christian and religious folk, we only mean more love than the next person btw

my opinion | Reviewer: Anonymous | 3/27/10

honestly i dont believe that the beatles were satanist, although in this world there are satanic or sinful actions. One of them are drugs, like psychedelics, members of the beatles took them. to enhance their creativity, and writing. because they were under the influence, to the extreme-ist of the christian religion, certain perspectives may appear satanic, but the beatles themselve, the people arent.

Irony | Reviewer: Common Sense | 3/10/10

It's ironic that the people on here who claim to be so religious are so full of hate. It's hypocritical. If you hate the beatles so much then why look up their lyrics? Stop spreading hatred!!! You're doing the work of the devil by investing your time in slander.