Reviews for Blackbird Lyrics

Performed by The Beatles

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10   Next 10 Pages Current page No. 2/ 11
Add Your New Review About The Song

:\ | Reviewer: mikey miller | 5/1/11

Well id like to dedicate this song to a girl who stole my heart then after two years i started geting careless and started lying to her..she has (quote) "-99 trust for you" (me) and i know she loves this song, and Casey if u read this..just please fly without me and sing in the dead of night<3 i love you

Blackbird encounter | Reviewer: Layla | 4/26/11

so this song was so beautiful and inspiring, I just had to do it for my chorus audition. Right before the audition, a blackbird flew overhead, landing on a tree. I went over to see it, and it didn't fly away. We just stared at each other until I had to go to my next class. I beleive this is a sign.(:

Blackbird <3 | Reviewer: Ashley | 4/23/11

I met a boy, a few months ago.

We found eachother completely by fate. I gave him my picture, and he took my heart - and gave me his in return.

For the last few months, he and I have always tried to find a song. The perfect little song, that was just for us. Something that fit.

I'm that little blackbird. And he is my home.

It's the perfect little song to remind him how much he means to me. This little blackbird -is- gonna fly. 3,811 km.

Meaning | Reviewer: Anonymous | 4/2/11

This song is beautiful. Back in the times of the Beatles, "bird" was a slang for woman, so the song is about a black woman in the times of the Civil Rights movement, and how she's "waiting for the moment to be free" and how she's waiting to "fly" and be free.

Strength | Reviewer: Hannah | 3/28/11

Recently at my middle school, we have suffered a great loss in one of our health/physical education teachers. I, as an 8th grade student, was confused and in pain. When one of my friends shared this song with me. This beautiful song, has helped me get through, what seemed like a never ending pain. Thank-you...You're forever in my thoughts and prayers Mrs. D.

Please Read | Reviewer: Anonymous | 3/17/11

I grew up in an abusive household for my entire life and never new anything different. Now I'm in my first year of college, doubling my courseload and got a job, beating out hundreds of people older and more experienced. This song is comforting and encouraging at the same time. The line about "taking my broken wings" and flying. And the "all your life, you were only waiting for this moment to arrive/to be free" is so profound for me. It applies to everyone at a crossroad point in their life. AMAZING AMAZING AMAZING.

I love it because it's one of those songs that doesn't necessarily have one meaning. It can mean a lot of different things for a lot of different people. That is what makes it so timeless. Maybe this is totally cheesy, maybe I'm PMSing and over emotional, but I don't care! This song reminds us why music is so good and so important. It hits us at our core, articulates our emotions before we can.

songs that make you think. | Reviewer: roadqueen | 3/15/11

Like any good song, Blackbird stands the test of time. Although McCartney wrote it about a blackwomens struggle. I heard it tonight and related it to the struggles a dear friend fights with drug abuse. Simply it is about hope and the ablitiy to overcome obsticles. To comment on the idea the Beetles are santanic....I would say to the person who thinks that....LOOK AT YOUR REFLECTION.

Really now? | Reviewer: H. Locke | 1/11/11

I quote, "'Blackbird" was really about the struggle over civil rights: I had in mind a black women, rather than a bird. Those were the days of the civil rights movement, which all if us cared passionately about, so this was really a song from me to a black women, experiencing these problems back in the states: 'Let me encourage you to keep trying, to keep your faith, there is hope.'"
- Paul McCartney, RS Magazine Beatle Top 100 Greatest Songs

Well... | Reviewer: Nicole | 1/8/11

The only reason this is seen as satanic is because of Helter Skelter, or Charles Manson. He interpreted this as the rise of afraican americans against "the man." He had that interpreted that way, but others have another. Interpretation is about how you feel when you hear the song, so it's what you take from it. :) Charles Manson was crazy anyway. Hahaha... I'd ignore the satanic and look deeper.

really? | Reviewer: Rinku | 1/1/11

This song is beautiful and means everything to me, it really sings to me and brings back memories from my childhood, the first time i heard this song i was a baby and my mother sang it to me to get me back to sleep. I will always love this song.

blackbird and hotel | Reviewer: Anonymous | 12/6/10

blackbird is a song about freedom. hotel California is referencing an insane asylum. colitas is a psychotropic plant that used to be given to schizophrenics. the song is referencing vincent van gogh taking the plant. you see, one of the side effects of the medicine is that you see colors differently.
research, van gogh "yellow flowers", or some such name. ps we all see things just a little differently even if we think we see the same thing. homunculus that we all are. peace

The spirit of 1969 in Hotel California | Reviewer: Anonymous | 11/22/10

I remember hearing about this small controversy. In another interview, he mentions that wine represented drinking for pleasure and without excess. This also represents the 'spirit' of drinking. In the lyrics, he states how in Calfornia they had loss this spitit, this way of seeing wine and made it just another booze.

To go back to Blackbird. The lyrics are good but little is said. The guitar is simply amazing to this day...innovative for the time.

glanost.. | Reviewer: Kurt | 11/22/10

"When will you understand that the satanic vision of freedom is bringing hell on earth? Poor naive humans..."

What the fuck do you think you are, some sort of righteous being? hate to break it to you buddy, but the last i checked you were probably human too, and are definitely more naive than most.

You are not doing any good spreading your hateful bullshit.

And even if it was true that The Beatles were a bunch of "Satanists" the way i see it they were a hell of a lot better people than most.

and trust me, when it comes down to choosing between Stick up your ass catholics, Christians, what ever the fuck you call yourselves now a days, and the Beatles?

So what if the Beatles were satanic, what if there are evil secret messages in their songs, isn't "loving your enemies" one of the most important things that "jesus" ever taught? Seriously, people like you need to stop making people of faith look bad.


Don't you hear it? | Reviewer: jbodden6977 | 10/29/10

I chose this song for a friends memorial service - a love song?Not. A satanic song - NOT!
You have waited ~ to be free, take these broken wings and learn to fly.
Most of us fear death, yes that is a survival thing , but living in unrelenting agony can be 'worse than death' - and sometimes for some that is the final grace we get of life - getting out of it.
Can I get an amen?

does the blavkbird fly on? | Reviewer: Kimberly Griswold | 10/27/10

great song. It kind of sings to me, as i'm sure it does to all of you who have commented on it. To me, it speaks to me & how i'm feeling. When i first heard this song, "wow." went through my head. This song will forever be with me. I wish there were more bands like The Beatles still around to this day. Oh the '60s, gotta love that time (:


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10   Next 10 Pages Current page No. 2/ 11